October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
The Transformations Project

TRANSFORMATIONS: What Would It Take?

By Dian Marie Bridge, Mekdes Teshome, Sedina Fiati & Geninne Bridge / Nightwood Theatre
Subtitles available in English

Using the poem, What Would It Take by Dian Marie Bridge, a collage of interviews with creators' mothers, spoken text and an ASL interpretation provide an artistic meditation as a response to the past and future.

Find the text HERE.

Our project was filmed in various locations, including Tkaronto and Ottawa. Both places are in the Dish With One Spoon territory, a treaty between the Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabe peoples to peaceably share the land. The land is the dish and we all have spoons, with a responsibility to leave the dish intact for the next generations.

Toronto, Tkaronto (a Mohawk word meaning where the trees stand tall in the water) has always been a meeting place for many nations due to the lake and many rivers that run through it. The Haundensaunee, Anishinaabe, Huron Wendat peoples as well as many nations, recorded and unrecorded have all and continue to inhabit and take care of this land. The Mississaugas of the Credit River are the current caretakers of this land.

Ottawa is the traditional unceded territory of the Algonquin Anishinaabe People. The Algonquin peoples have lived on this land since time immemorial.

Commissioned by Nightwood Theatre.

Creator, Director, Poem: Dian Marie Bridge
Creator: Mekdes Teshome
Creator: Sedina Fiati
Editor: Geninne Bridge
Onscreen Performers: Dian Marie Briddge, Mekdes Teshome, Natasha Courage Bacchus
Videographers: Shawn Descarie, Gennine Tatum Bridge
Audio Performers: Sedina Fiati, Brenda Anderson, Teshaye Teshome, Mechaela R. Alfonso
ASL Interpretation support: Marcia Adolphe Martins

English & ASL.

Menu

Le projet Transformations

TRANSFORMATIONS: What Would It Take?

De Dian Marie Bridge, Mekdes Teshome, Sedina Fiati & Geninne Bridge / Nightwood Theatre
  Vidéo en anglais Avec sous-titres en anglais

À l’aide du poème What Would It Take de Dian Marie Bridge, d’un collage d’entretiens avec les mères des créatrices, d’un texte parlé et d’une interprétation en ASL, cette méditation artistique est une réponse au passé et à l’avenir.

Lisez le texte ici. (texte en anglais)

Notre projet a été filmé dans divers endroits, notamment à Tkaronto et à Ottawa. Ces deux endroits se trouvent sur le territoire du « Bol à une seule cuillère », un traité conclu entre les Haudenosaunee et les Anishinaabe pour le partage pacifique de la terre. La terre est le bol et nous avons tous une cuillère, avec la responsabilité de laisser le bol intact pour les prochaines générations.  

Toronto, Tkaronto (mot mohawk qui signifie « là où les arbres se dressent dans l’eau ») a toujours été un lieu de rencontre pour de nombreuses nations en raison du lac et des nombreuses rivières qui le traversent. Les Haundensaunee, les Anishinabe, les Hurons et les Wendats, ainsi que de nombreuses nations, enregistrées ou non, ont tous habité et continuent d’habiter cette terre et d’en prendre soin. Les Mississaugas de la rivière Credit sont les gardiens actuels de ce territoire.

Ottawa est le territoire traditionnel non cédé du peuple algonquin Anishinaabe. Les Algonquins vivent sur ce territoire depuis des temps immémoriaux.

Une commande de Nightwood Theatre.

Création, réalisation, poème : Dian Marie Bridge
Création : Mekdes Teshome
Création : Sedina Fiati
Montage : Geninne Bridge
Interprètes à l’écran : Dian Marie Bridge, Mekdes Teshome, Natasha Courage Bacchus
Vidéastes : Shawn Descarie, Gennine Tatum Bridge
Interprètes audio : Sedina Fiati, Brenda Anderson, Teshaye Teshome, Mechaela R. Alfonso
Appui à l’interprétation ASL : Marcia Adolphe Martins

En anglais et en ASL.

Menu