April 8, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
The Transformations Project

TRANSFORMATIONS: Mothers in Pandemic

By Seemab Zahra and Janice Jo Lee / MT Space

This is a Cine Poem written and recorded by Seemab Zahra and Janice Jo Lee as a final report for the Arts Exchange collaboration by the MT Space. The main themes of the Cine Poem are; to elaborate the role of mothers in Pandemic, how they are taking care of their families and also trying to survive.

Seemab Zahra is a multidisciplinary artist working in photography, poetry, and writing. Janice Jo Lee, aka Sing Hey, is a contemporary folk artist of Korean ancestry. She is a singer-songwriter, spoken word poet, actor and playwright from Kitchener.

With gratitude and appreciation, MT Space acknowledges that we live, learn, and benefit within the boundaries of the Haldimand Tract, which includes six miles on each side of the Grand River. This is the traditional territory of the Attawandaron (Neutral Confederacy), Anishinaabeg (Ojibway, Mississauga, Chippewa, and Algonquin), and Haudenosaunee Confederacy (Six Nations including the Mohawk, Cayuga, Onondaga, Seneca, Oneida, and Tuscarora Nations). We honour that these Nations of people have been living on, working on, and caring for this place from time immemorial and continue to do so today.

Commissioned by MT Space.  

English.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.
Le projet Transformations

TRANSFORMATIONS: Mothers in Pandemic

De Seemab Zahra and Janice Jo Lee / MT Space
  Vidéo en anglais

Voici un ciné-poème écrit et tourné par Seemab Zahra et Janice Jo Lee comme rapport final pour la collaboration Arts Exchange de MT Space. Ce ciné-poème aborde l’élaboration du rôle des mères dans la pandémie, et comment elles prennent soin de leur famille tout en essayant de survivre elles-mêmes.

Seemab Zahra est une artiste multidisciplinaire qui s'adonne à la photographie, la poésie et l'écriture. Janice Jo Lee, alias Sing Hey, est une artiste folk contemporaine de descendance coréenne. Elle est une autrice-compositrice-interprète, poète de spoken word, comédienne et dramaturge de Kitchener.

C'est avec gratitude et appréciation que MT Space reconnaît que nous habitons, apprenons et grandissons dans les frontières du traité de Haldimand, qui comprend six miles de chaque côté de la Grand River. Il s'agit du territoire traditionnel des Attawandaron (Confédération neutre), Anishinaabee (Ojibwés, Mississauga, Chippewa, et Algonquins), et de la Confédération haudenosaunee (Six Nations, dont les Mohawks, Cayuga, Onondaga, Seneca, Oneida et Tuscarora). Nous soulignons le fait que ces Nations habitent, travaillent et entretiennent ces lieux depuis les temps immémoriaux, et continuent de le faire à ce jour.

Une commande de MT Space

En anglais.

Menu