October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
The Transformations Project

TRANSFORMATIONS: Poder Existir

By Mala Theatre Collective / Nightwood Theatre

Sofia shaves her head as an act of liberation. Liz helps her document.

What do we strive do when we acknowledge the land? We believe that we are trying to answer “where do I come from?” and “how did I get here?" and “who made it possible for me to live, love, and create where I am?”

 “I am from Tkaronto - the place where the trees stand in the water. I arrived here by the heart of my mother, who herself was born on the unceded territories of the səli̓lwətaɁɬ təməxʷ, Skwxwú7mesh Úxwumixw, and the šxʷməθkʷəy̓əmaɁɬ təməxʷ. And by the will of my father, who boarded a boat to cross the Pacific at 5 years old, leaving behind his homeland in Hoiping County, Guangdong, China. And I am forever grateful to the Hode-no-sau-nee-ga, the Wendake-Nionwentsïo, the ᐊᓂᔑᓈᐯᐗᑭ, and the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation. And in that gratitude, I acknowledge the work I must do to decolonize myself and to be accountable for my time on this land.” - Liz Der

 “I come from Monterrey, Nuevo León, México. A hot desert city which geography is described as a plain interrupted by hills. This city by the foothill of the Sierra Madre Oriental was inhabited by semi-nomadic hunter-gatherer peoples now known as: Alazapas, Coahuiltecos, Huachichiles, and the Borrados. Although mostly unrecorded, I’d like to acknowledge the traditional caretakers of the land I was born in. As a settler in this land, I’m now grateful for the possibilities the question: ‘Where are you from’ has offered me, for I do not know if I would have learned this if someone hadn’t asked. I am also deeply grateful to live, love and create on this land, traditionally of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, the Anishnabeg, the Haudenosaunee Confederacy and the Wendat peoples.” - Sofía Rodríguez

Commissioned by Nightwood Theatre. By Mala Theatre Collective: Liz Der + Sofía Rodríguez.

English with English Subtitles y Subtítulos en Español.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.
Le projet Transformations

TRANSFORMATIONS: Poder Existir

De Mala Theatre Collective / Nightwood Theatre

  Partagez vos idées pour améliorer le CNA. Commencer le sondage

  Vidéo en anglais

Sofia se rase la tête comme geste de libération. Liz l’aide à documenter le tout. 

Que cherchons-nous à accomplir lorsque nous effectuons une reconnaissance du territoire? Nous croyons que nous cherchons à répondre aux questions « D’où viens-je? », « Comment suis-je arrivé ici? » et « Qu’est-ce qui m’a permis de vivre, d’aimer et de créer là où je suis? »

 « Je suis de Tkaronto - là où les arbres se dressent dans l’eau. Je suis arrivée ici par le cœur de ma mère, elle-même née sur les territoires non cédés des səli̓lwətaɁɬ təməxʷ, Skwxwú7mesh Úxwumixw, et šxʷməθkʷəy̓əmaɁɬ təməxʷ. Et par la volonté de mon père, monté à bord d’un bateau à l’âge de 5 ans pour traverser le Pacifique, laissant derrière lui sa terre natale du comté de Hoiping, à Guangdong, en Chine. Et je suis éternellement reconnaissante envers les Hode-no-sau-nee-ga, les Wendake-Nionwentsïo, les ᐊᓂᔑᓈᐯᐗᑭ, et les Mississaugas de la Première Nation de Credit. Et dans cette gratitude, je reconnais le travail que je dois faire pour me décoloniser et être responsable de mon temps sur cette terre. » - Liz Der

 « Je viens de Monterrey, à Nuevo León au Mexique. Une ville chaude et désertique dont la géographie se résume à une plaine, interrompue par des collines. Cette ville aux pieds de la Sierra Madre orientale était habitée par des peuples de chasseurs-cueilleurs semi-nomades aujourd’hui connus sous le nom de Alazapas, Coahuiltecos, Huachichiles, et Borrados. Bien que la plupart n’aient pas été documentés, je tiens à reconnaître les gardiens traditionnels des terres où je suis née. Comme colonisatrice sur ces terres, je suis maintenant reconnaissante pour les possibilités que m’offre la question “D’où viens-tu?”, puisque j’ignore si je l’aurais appris sans que quelqu’un me pose la question. Je suis également très reconnaissante de vivre, d’aimer et de créer sur ces terres traditionnelles des Mississaugas de la Première Nation de Credit, des Anishnaabe, de la Confédération Haudenosaunee et des Wendats. » - Sofía Rodríguez

Une commande de Nightwood Theatre. De Mala Theatre Collective : Liz Der et Sofía Rodríguez.

En anglais avec sous-titres en anglais et en espagnol.

Menu