November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
The Transformations Project

TRANSFORMATIONS: sixty seven moo(n)s

By Alyssa Martin and Brayden Cairns
Video 13 / 24

sixty seven moo(n)s brings artists Brayden Cairns and Alyssa Martin to rural Ontario to push their dreams through an energetic colander. The resulting refraction hopes to inspire us all to see the details in Brayden, ourselves, our friends and our fellow beings as a means to joyfully and curiously investigate our realities as we all wiggle on under the comforting glow of summer’s Jupiter.

Created and recorded on the Traditional Territories of the Mississauga and Anishinabek Nations near Madoc, Ontario. We’re extraordinarily grateful to have had the opportunity to work and play here and we thank all the generations of people who have taken care of this land for thousands of years.

As we continue to learn about how to contribute as better, less violent, more aware individuals, we’re trying to dismantle the structures that many of our settler ancestors have installed while we practice our work in an anti-colonial, more compassionate manner. In our dance-specific realm, this includes examining the ways in which eurocentric traditions have seeped into our working methods, acknowledging the ways in which these traditions may make certain individuals feel excluded and making shifts necessary to provide a safe environment for anyone who engages with our work.

We honour the original caretakers of this land and we honour the many Indigenous people who live across Turtle Island today. We will work together and continue along our lifelong journeys to do our part to better preserve the land in conjunction with our communities.

Commissioned by Canadian Stage. Music by Austin Anonsen and Alyssa Martin.

English.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 30 juin 2021.
Le projet Transformations

TRANSFORMATIONS: sixty seven moo(n)s

D'Alyssa Martin et Brayden Cairns / Canadian Stage
  Vidéo en anglais

sixty seven moo(n)s transporte les artistes Brayden Cairns et Alyssa Martin en Ontario rural afin qu’ils puissent pousser leurs rêves dans une passoire énergétique. La réfraction qui en découle nous inspire à voir tous les détails de Brayden, de nous-mêmes, de nos amis et de notre entourage comme des moyens pour explorer nos réalités avec joie et curiosité alors que nous avançons sous la lueur réconfortante de Jupiter l’été.  

Créé et enregistré sur les terres traditionnelles des Mississaugas et des Anishinaabe près de Madoc, en Ontario. Nous sommes extraordinairement reconnaissants d’avoir la chance de travailler et de jouer ici, et nous remercions les générations de personnes qui s’occupent de ces terres depuis des milliers d’années.

Alors que nous continuons d’apprendre comment contribuer en tant qu’individus meilleurs, moins violents et plus conscients, nous tentons de démanteler les structures que plusieurs de nos ancêtres colonisateurs ont mises en place tout en pratiquant notre travail de façon anticoloniale, avec compassion. Dans le milieu de la danse, cela veut dire examiner les moyens par lesquels les traditions eurocentriques se sont infiltrées dans nos méthodes de travail, reconnaître comment ces traditions peuvent créer un sentiment d’exclusion chez certaines personnes et apporter les ajustements nécessaires pour offrir un environnement sûr à quiconque interagit avec notre travail.

Nous rendons hommage aux gardiens originaux de ces terres, ainsi qu’aux nombreux peuples autochtones qui habitent l’île de la Tortue aujourd’hui. Nous travaillerons et cheminerons ensemble afin de mieux protéger la terre avec nos communautés.  

Une commande de Canadian Stage. Musique par Austin Anonsen et Alyssa Martin.

En anglais.

Menu