September 27, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

SMUDGE: [definition] "A practice used by many Indigenous people involving the burning of medicine plants and immersing ourselves in the smoke. It is used to cleanse, bring good energy, dispel the negative, connect with our ancestors and the Earth."

Two generations, the past and future. The strength of tradition, the isolation of the contemporary world. Joined by blood, joined by Earth. Can this connection overcome the emptiness?

- - -

Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo is Kanienkeha:ka (Mohawk) of mixed heritage originally from Kahnawake, now living in Montreal. Barbara is currently the Artistic Director and Choreographer of A’nó:wara Dance Theatre. An award-winning choreographer and dancer for over 25 years, she specializes in creating works that highlight Indigenous themes/stories/perspectives by often combining powwow, Haudenosaunee dance, and mainstream contemporary styles to create a fusion of dance that speaks to many different populations and tastes. She has studied in many forms of dance and graduated with a BFA in theatre from Concordia University and from the Native Theatre School.

She takes great pride in regularly sharing her culture and has performed across Canada and internationally. Some of her most recent work was performed at the Banff Centre, the Montreal Olympic Stadium, the National Arts Centre, the Confederation Centre for the Arts PEI, Harbourfront Centre, Place des Arts, Prismatic Festival Halifax, and Festival Quartiers Danses. She was one of only eight dancers in North America invited to perform at Gathering of Nations (New Mexico), the world’s largest powwow, in its first-ever hoop dance competition 2015.

Barbara also works with various organizations, including La Danse sur les routes du Quebec and Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance, to educate, help create safe spaces, and support Indigenous artists across Canada. Her goals are to inspire others, encourage cultural pride, uplift the spirit, and increase education and communication.

Kanien'keha:ka territory of Tiohtià:ke (also known as Montreal)


Credits

Choreographer and dancer: Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo
Director: Pepper O'Bomsawin
Music: "New Women Song" by Cris Derksen featuring Jennifer Kreisberg
Dancer and additional choreography: Emily Kahente Diabo "Gdazzle"
Director of photography and promo photo: François Léger Savard
Editor and colorist: Eric Morel

Coproduction of Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo, Pepper O'Bomsawin, and Festival Quartiers Danses

Additional support from A'no:wara Dance Theatre, Conseil des arts et lettres du Quebec, Musee McCord

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.

SMUDGE – Purification par la fumée [définition] : « Pratique utilisée par de nombreux peuples autochtones qui consiste à brûler des plantes médicinales et à s’immerger dans la fumée produite. Ce rituel purifie l’espace, convoque une énergie positive et disperse l’énergie négative tout en nous rapprochant de la Terre et de nos ancêtres. »

Deux générations, un passé et un avenir. La force de la tradition, l’isolement dans le monde actuel. Tous unis par le sang, unis par la Terre. Ce lien peut-il vaincre cette désolation?  

- - -

Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo est une Kanienkeha:ka (Mohawk) d’héritage mixte originaire de Kahnawake, vivant maintenant à Montréal. Barbara est présentement directrice artistique et chorégraphe de l’A'nó:wara Dance Theatre. Chorégraphe et danseuse primée depuis plus de 25 ans, elle se spécialise dans la création d’œuvres qui mettent en valeur des thèmes, des histoires et des perspectives autochtones en combinant souvent le pow-wow, la danse Haudenosaunee et les styles contemporains courants pour créer une fusion de danse qui s’adresse à de nombreuses populations et à des goûts différents. Elle a étudié de nombreuses formes de danse et a obtenu un BFA en théâtre de l’Université Concordia et du Native Theatre School.

Produite partout au Canada et à l’étranger, elle est très fière de partager régulièrement sa culture. Certaines de ses œuvres les plus récentes ont été présentées au Banff Centre, au Stade olympique de Montréal, au Centre national des Arts, au Confederation Centre for the Arts PEI, au Harbourfront Centre, à la Place des Arts, au Prismatic Festival Halifax et au Festival Quartiers Danses. Elle a fait partie des huit seuls danseurs sélectionnés en Amérique du Nord pour se produire au Gathering of Nations (Nouveau-Mexique), le plus grand pow-wow du monde, lors de sa toute première compétition de danse du cerceau 2015.

Barbara travaille également avec diverses organisations, dont La Danse sur les routes du Québec et Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance, pour éduquer, aider à créer des espaces sûrs et soutenir les artistes indigènes à travers le Canada. Ses objectifs sont d’inspirer les autres, d’encourager la fierté culturelle, d’élever l’esprit et d’accroître l’éducation et la communication.

Territoire Kanien'keha:ka de Tiohtià:ke (aussi appelé Montréal)


Crédits

Chorégraphe et interprète : Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo
Directrice : Pepper O'Bomsawin
Musique : « New Women Song » par Cris Derksen avec Jennifer Kreisberg
Danse et chorégraphie supplémentaire : Emily Kahente Diabo "Gdazzle"
Directeur de la photographie et photo de promotion : François Léger Savard
Montage et coloriste : Eric Morel

Une coproduction de Barbara Kaneratonni Diabo, Pepper O'Bomsawin, et Festival Quartiers Danses

Soutien supplémentaire de A'no:wara Dance Theatre, Conseil des arts et lettres du Quebec, Musee McCord

Menu