Dancing the Land

Pacha

Daina Ashbee and Gabriel Nieto
  • Nudity
  • Partial nudity
  • Mature themes
  • Disturbing content
  • Graphic violence
  • Sexual content
  • Sexual violence
  • Strong language
  • Flashing lights
  • Loud noises
  • Gunshots

Gabriel is inspired after his trip to South America reconnecting with his ancestors of Indigenous blood and finding his personal healing and a great encounter with Mother Earth in the South American countries in the Amazonian places of Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador and Brazil, in which Gabriel visualizes the importance of the origin of time, space on earth and the animal being that is very organic, where spiritual energy can be transferred from the roots of trees to all parts of the world.

Living that ancestral vision between nature and the human being, Gabriel creates through movements in small pendulums he touches the earth, providing a force where it is a way of giving thanks to that time and space that are found, as the interpreters do in the film.

generating bonds of transformation through the observation of the breath and the dance of feet making a conductive thread of energy

where naked bodies are simply forms that are part of the ecosystem imagining as roots that sprout through growth in that dimension that are transformed and generating life, Gabriel, together with the collaboration of Daina, choreographically creates this sub-realistic concept, as a form of gratitude to each special animal or plant to offer and celebrate life on earth and return again to the deepest roots, begun to transform and de-transform as a group of organic hybrids of nature where the energies have always been and never die. If not, they mutate to continue generating a new organic and healing cycle.

And reflecting that importance of caring for and valuing Mother Earth as all native cultural identities have done since their origins.

That is why one of the reasons that Gabriel gives the name of Pacha to this film in which the meaning in the Quechua and Aymara languages is earth world-cosmos, Space, time, in the South American indigenous cultures of the Andes.


Credits

Created by: Gabriel Nieto 
Choreography: Gabriel Nieto and Daina Ashbee
Film Director and Editor: Nicolas VanAchter
Creative Advisor: Daina Ashbee
Performers: Daina Ashbee, Gabriel Nieto, Irene Martinez, Angelica Morga, Bhakti 
Photographer on set: Stéphanie Paillet

Territory: Belgian lands at the Boitsfort racecourse in the municipality of Uccle

Menu

• Nudité
  • Nudité partielle
  • Thèmes pouvant ne pas convenir aux enfants
  • Contenu dérangeant
  • Violence graphique
  • Scènes sexuellement suggestives
  • Violence sexuelle
  • Langage grossier
  • Lumières clignotantes
  • Bruits forts
  • Coups de feu

Parti en Amérique du Sud à la recherche de ses racines autochtones, Gabriel Nieto espérait trouver de l’apaisement auprès de ses ancêtres. Son périple au cœur de l’Amazonie le mène au Pérou, en Bolivie, en Équateur et au Brésil, et à la rencontre de la Terre mère. Il prend conscience de l’importance du temps, de l’immensité de la Terre et de la dimension organique du règne animal et végétal, lorsque l’énergie spirituelle se diffuse par les racines des arbres pour alimenter l’ensemble du monde.

Avec cette vision ancestrale d’interdépendance, Gabriel Nieto commence l’apprivoisement par des petits mouvements de balancier qui lui donne la force de remercier la Terre de cet espace-temps qu’elle lui offre. Entre les interprètes, des liens se créent par l’observation de la respiration de l’autre, et un étrange ballet de pieds s’exécute, jusqu’à produire un courant d’énergie.

Les corps nus, simples formes se fondant dans le paysage, sont des racines prêtes à s’étendre et à donner la vie. Gabriel Nieto s’est associé à Daina Ashbee pour retranscrire, par la danse, ce concept surréaliste qui honore la faune et la flore et célèbre la présence de vie sur terre, avant de retourner dans les profondeurs souterraines. La métamorphose reprend comme un groupe d’hybrides organiques, dans cette nature où les énergies sont inépuisables. En cas d’échec, une mutation se produit pour donner naissance à un nouveau cycle de vie et de guérison. 

Il s’agit là d’une réflexion sur l’importance de prendre soin de notre planète, de la protéger, comme l’ont toujours fait les peuples autochtones.

Le choix du titre est lui aussi symbolique. En langues aymara et quechua, Pacha représente à la fois la terre, le monde, le cosmos, l’espace de vie et le temps pour les cultures autochtones des Andes.

 


Crédits

Création : Gabriel Nieto 
Chorégraphie : Gabriel Nieto and Daina Ashbee
Réalisation et montage : Nicolas VanAchter
Conseils créatifs : Daina Ashbee
Interprétation : Daina Ashbee, Gabriel Nieto, Irene Martinez, Angelica Morga, Bhakti 
Photographe de plateau : Stéphanie Paillet

Territoire : Territoire belge, hippodrome de Boitsfort (municipalité d’Uccle)

Menu