All NAC performances and events cancelled until Monday April 27, 2020

Canada's National Arts Centre Orchestra UK Tour

Follow the Tour Oct 22~31 2014

Music as a force for healing and reconciliation

As we commemorated the centennial of the First World War, Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra was pleased to partner with many organizations in the U.K. to bring to life the theme of this tour through over 50 education and engagement events. We connected with music lovers of all ages, including former servicemen and women, through creation projects, chamber and choir performances, workshops and masterclasses.

Inspiring creativity in youth

ConneXXions 2014

LONDON ~ OTTAWA

ConneXXions 2014

Royal College of Music, October 28, 2014

Youth orchestras in London and Ottawa connected via high definition video conference for a WWI-themed creative musical exchange. Students had been exploring the music of the Great War and had created their own compositions which they performed live for each other as part of this project. Featuring Dame Evelyn GlennieIn partnership with the Royal College of Music and the Royal Philharmonic’s First World War “Behind the Lines” program.

Watch the video: 2014 ConneXXions webcast

BRISTOL

“Soundtrack” creation project

In this intergenerational project, eight young composers will be mentored as they create new works inspired by the musical memories and experiences of veterans. Each piece will reflect six months of dialogue and discovery between an elderly person and their “soundtrack” composer. Led by Bristol musician Jonathan James in partnership with St. Monica Trust, with composer John Estacio.

Watch the video: Soundtrack: a music creation project

GLASGOW

“Inspire Day” creation project

Riverside Museum, October 24, 2014

Over 100 elementary school students spent an afternoon with members of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and the NAC Orchestra to learn more about the First World War. In this creative workshop, students heard live music inspired by WWI and responded by drawing and playing musical instruments. In partnership with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra at the Riverside Museum

Watch the video: Inspire Day creation project

“I am delighted to be supporting the education and outreach work of Canada’s NAC Orchestra on their UK tour, encouraging the making and the loving of music. Live music is the perfect bridge between different cultures and backgrounds for people of all ages. It’s vital that young people be inspired to learn, to dream, to be part of a team and to have fun, while they’re at it.” Dasha Shenkman, Education Partner

Workshops & masterclasses

Strive for the best
  • NOTTINGHAM

    Strive for the best, keys to success

    Nottingham Royal Concert Hall, October 25, 2014, 13:00 GMT

    NAC Orchestra musicians led this practical workshop with young musicians and teaching artists at the Royal Concert Hall. Young high school students who play strings, brass, winds, and percussion instruments were invited to take part in instrumental clinics on technique and ask questions of the musicians. 

  • GLASGOW

    Big Noise Scotland

    NAC Orchestra members led string, brass and wind sectional rehearsals with students from two Sistema Scotland orchestras: Big Noise Raploch and Big Noise Govanhill. NAC Orchestra musicians provided technical instruction and worked with the students on pieces the youth orchestras will be performing in the near future.

    Watch the video: Big Noise Scotland: music making that fosters confidence and pride

Pinchas Zukerman teaches students
  • LONDON

    Masterclass with Pinchas Zukerman

    October 28th, 2014

    Pinchas Zukerman led a public violin/viola masterclass with three extraordinary young artists at The Royal College of Music in London. One of these young artists participated in the NAC’s Summer Music Institute this past June, and played in the orchestra as part of the UK Tour’s London concert

  • GLASGOW ~ LONDON ~ BRISTOL

    Other masterclasses and workshops

    Three NAC Orchestra musicians provided instruction to selected students or ensembles in masterclasses in Glasgow, London and Bristol.

    NAC Award composer John Estacio led a one-hour composition workshop with young composers at the Nottingham Royal Concert Hall, and offered a composition lecture to students in Glasgow.

“The work of Maestro Zukerman and the Orchestra, both on- and off-stage, will go far in strengthening these bonds. We are delighted that this tour involves school children and young musicians in special performances, masterclasses, composition workshops and cultural exchanges. The Honourable Hilary M. Weston, C.M., O.Ont
Mr. M. Galen Weston, O.C., O.Ont, Chairman and president, The W. Garfield Weston Foundation

Lectures & readings

Margaret MacMillan: The Great War and Canada

SALISBURY

Margaret MacMillan: The Great War and Canada

October 29, 2014

Professor Margaret MacMillan, O.C., one of Canada’s finest scholars and authors, gave a lecture on the relationship between Britain and Canada in the years leading up to 1919 – the year many scholars regard as the moment Canada came of age as a nation. Ms. MacMillan’s most recent bestseller is The War that Ended Peace: The Road to 1914

Listen to Margaret MacMillan's lecture

SALISBURY

Winnie the Pooh: Reading for families

October 29, 2014, 10:30, 11:00, 11:30, 12:00 GMT

Families were invited to attend special readings of the Winnie the Pooh stories by the staff of the Education Department at Salisbury Cathedral. Visitors learned about the famous Canadian bear that inspired the stories and its strong connection with the Salisbury Plain in Wiltshire.

{page_title_en}

EDINBURGH ~ NOTTINGHAM ~ BRISTOL

Composer lectures

Prior to most NAC Orchestra evening concerts, Canadian composer John Estacio spoke to the audience about his work Brio: Toccata and Fantasy for Orchestra among the rest of the evening’s repertoire. Mr. Estacio also engaged the audience in a question and answer format.

Watch the video: A new world premiere by composer John Estacio


Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Tournée de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada au Royaume-Uni

Suivez la Tournée 22~31 oct 2014

La musique : force de guérison et de réconciliation

L’Orchestre du CNA est heureux de s’associer à de nombreuses communautés et organisations artistiques du R.-U. pour présenter au-delà de 50 activités éducatives et de médiation culturelle axées sur le thème de la tournée. Par des projets de création, des prestations de musique de chambre et d’ensembles vocaux, des ateliers et des classes de maître, nous allons à la rencontre de mélomanes de tous âges, dont des anciens combattants.

Stimuler la créativité des jeunes

ConneXXions 2014

LONDRES ~ OTTAWA

ConneXXions 2014

Royal College of Music, 28 octobre 2014

Des orchestres de jeunes de Londres et d’Ottawa seront reliés par vidéoconférence à haute résolution pour un échange créatif musical sur le thème de la Grande Guerre : ils exécuteront les uns pour les autres en temps réel leurs propres compositions créées dans le cadre de ce projet. Avec Dame Evelyn GlennieEn collaboration avec le Royal College of Music et le programme Behind the Lines du Royal Philharmonic Orchestra commémorant la Première Guerre mondiale.

» En webdiffusion le 28 octobre

BRISTOL

Projet de création d’une « bande-son »

Ce projet intergénérationnel permettra à huit jeunes compositeurs d’obtenir un encadrement pour créer de nouvelles pièces inspirées de souvenirs musicaux d’anciens combattants, fruits d’un dialogue de six mois entre une personne âgée et chacun des jeunes compositeurs participants. En partenariat avec le St. Monica Trust, avec le musicien Jonathan James et le compositeur John Estacio.

GLASGOW

Projet de création : « Journée inspirante »

Musée Riverside, 24 octobre 2014

Plus de 100 élèves du primaire passeront un après-midi avec des membres du Royal Scottish National Orchestra et de l’Orchestre du CNA pour en apprendre plus long sur la Première Guerre mondiale. Dans cet atelier créatif, les élèves assisteront à des prestations musicales inspirées de la Grande Guerre, et seront invités à y réagir en dessinant et en jouant d’un instrument. En partenariat avec le Royal Scottish National Orchestra au Riverside Museum

« Je suis ravie de soutenir le volet éducation et médiation culturelle de la Tournée de l’Orchestre du CNA du Canada au R.-U., et de contribuer ainsi à cultiver la pratique et l’amour de la musique. Il n’y a rien de tel que le spectacle de la musique pour jeter des ponts entre des gens de toutes cultures, de tous horizons et de tous âges. Il est capital d’encourager les jeunes à apprendre, à rêver et à s’amuser avec d’autres jeunes. » Dasha Shenkman, partenaire en éducation

Classes de maître et ateliers

Strive for the best
  • NOTTINGHAM

    Viser le sommet, la clé du succès

    Royal Concert Hall, 25 octobre 2014, 13:00 GMT

    Des membres de l’Orchestre du CNA dirigent un atelier pour jeunes musiciens et enseignants de musique dans le cadre d’un partenariat spécial avec le Royal Concert Hall. L’atelier s’adresse à des étudiants du secondaire qui jouent un instrument à cordes, à vent ou à percussion, ou un instrument de cuivre. 

  • GLASGOW

    Big Noise – Écosse

    Des membres de l’Orchestre du CNA dirigeront des répétition par section de cordes, de cuivres et de bois regroupant les élèves de deux orchestres du programme Sistema Écosse : Big Noise Raploch et Big Noise Govanhill. Les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA offriront de l’encadrement technique et travailleront avec les élèves sur des pièces que leurs orchestres respectifs joueront prochainement.

Pinchas Zukerman teaches students
  • LONDRES

    Classe de maître avec Pinchas Zukerman

    Pinchas Zukerman dirigera une classe de maître publique de violon/alto avec trois jeunes artistes exceptionnels du Royal College of Music de Londres – dont un a pris part, en juin dernier, à l’Institut estival de musique du CNA, et se joindra à l’Orchestre pour le concert de Londres de la tournée.

  • GLASGOW ~ LONDRES ~ BRISTOL

    Autres classes de maître et ateliers

    Trois musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA vont enseigner à des élèves et des ensembles sélectionnés dans des classes de maître à Glasgow, Londres et Bristol. 

    John Estacio, compositeur lauréat du CNA, dirigera un atelier de composition d’une heure regroupant jusqu’à cinq jeunes compositeurs au Royal Concert Hall de Nottingham, et prononcera une conférence sur la composition devant des étudiants à Glasgow.

« Le travail du maestro Pinchas Zukerman et de l’Orchestre, sur scène et dans des activités diverses, contribuera grandement à resserrer ces liens. Nous nous réjouissons de la dimension éducative de la tournée, qui permettra de toucher des élèves et des jeunes musiciens à travers des prestations spéciales, des classes de maître, des ateliers de composition et des échanges culturels. » L’honorable Hilary M. Weston, C.M., O.Ont
W. Galen Weston, O.C., O.Ont, Président du conseil d’administration et président, The W. Garfield Weston Foundation

Conférences et lectures

Conférence publique sur la Grande Guerre et le Canada avec Margaret MacMillan

SALISBURY

Conférence publique sur la Grande Guerre et le Canada avec Margaret MacMillan

29 octobre 2014

Dans cette conférence publique, la professeure Margaret MacMillan, O.C., l’une des plus brillantes érudites et auteures du Canada, intervient sur les rapports entre la Grande-Bretagne et le Canada au cours des années précédant 1919 – l’année que beaucoup d’historiens considèrent comme le moment où le Canada a atteint le statut de nation – et sur la matière de son plus récent best-seller, Vers la Grande Guerre, comment l’Europe a renoncé à la paix.

SALISBURY

Lecture de Winnie l’Ourson pour toute la famille

29 octobre 2014, 10h30, 11h00, 11h30, 12h00 GMT

Les familles sont invitées à assister à une lecture spéciale d’une collection d’histoires de Winnie l’Ourson d’A. A. Milne, donnée à la cathédrale de Salisbury par le Département de l’éducation. Apprenez-en plus sur le célèbre ourson canadien qui a inspiré tant d’histoires et sur les liens étroits qu’il partage avec les plaines de Salisbury à Wiltshire.

{page_title_fr}

ÉDIMBOURG ~ NOTTINGHAM ~ BRISTOL

Conférence d’avant-concert

En prélude à la plupart des concerts de la tournée, le compositeur canadien John Estacio s’adressera à l’auditoire pour présenter sa pièce Brio : Toccate et fantaisie pour orchestre, qui figure au programme du concert. Le public aura l’occasion de poser des questions à M. Estacio.


Menu