NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31

Canada's National Arts Centre Orchestra UK Tour

Follow the Tour Oct 22~31 2014

CANADA’S NATIONAL ARTS CENTRE ORCHESTRA, led by its renowned Music Director Pinchas Zukerman, toured the United Kingdom in the fall of 2014 to mark the 100th anniversary of the First World War, demonstrating the power of music as a force for healing and remembrance.

The tour celebrated the strong ties between Canada and the U.K., and commemorated the sacrifices of Canadians during the Great War, an event often portrayed as a pivotal moment in Canadian history when Canada came of age as a nation.

In addition to performances around the U.K. there was a robust education program with activities linking school-aged children in Canada and the U.K. using music to underline themes of remembrance and reconciliation.

The concert repertoire included works by esteemed Canadian composers Malcolm Forsyth and John Estacio.

Over the National Arts Centre’s 45-year history, touring, both domestically and internationally, has been one way we have lived up to the NAC’s national mandate. Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra is a cultural ambassador for Canada, bringing sublime music to audiences and also touching the lives of thousands of young people through outreach activities.

The NAC’s strength lies in performance, creation and learning, and during the National Arts Centre Orchestra’s UK Tour, we are showcasing the unique aspects of all three: delivering outstanding performances; spotlighting some of Canada’s most compelling composers and compositions; and offering unique education experiences for young artists and audiences.

With the 2014 UK Tour, Maestro Pinchas Zukerman and the musicians of the National Arts Centre Orchestra are communicating the strong cultural ties between Canada and the United Kingdom, and commemorating the sacrifices of Canadians during the First World War. Canada came of age as a nation during that terrible conflict and it is fitting that in their role as ambassadors, our musicians are demonstrating the power of music as a force for healing and remembrance.

We thank you for joining us on this journey.

Peter A. Herrndorf, O.C.
President & CEO, National Arts Centre

“This tour celebrates the deep and abiding friendship between Canadians and the people of the United Kingdom as well as the common values we share – freedom, justice, human dignity and democracy. It was for these things that Canadians fought alongside our British cousins 100 years ago. Through your music, people on both sides of the Atlantic will be reminded of the sacrifice our forebears made on our behalf.” The Right Honourable Stephen Harper, P.C., M.P., Prime Minister of Canada
“I know that, for many Canadians, involvement in that war is seen as part of Canada’s coming of age. It was also one of the most powerful manifestations of the extraordinary bonds of history, kin, friendship and shared values between Canada and the U.K., bonds which remain as strong as ever.” The Right Honourable Sajid Javid, M.P., Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, United Kingdom Government
Menu

Tous les spectacles et événements sont annulés jusqu’au lundi 27 avril 2020

Tournée de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts du Canada au Royaume-Uni

Suivez la Tournée 22~31 oct 2014

L'ORCHESTRE DU CENTRE NATIONAL DES ARTS, sous la baguette de son réputé directeur musical Pinchas Zukerman, effectuera une tournée au Royaume-Uni à l’automne 2014 pour souligner le 100e anniversaire du déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale, et montrer le pouvoir qu’a la musique de guérir et d’honorer la mémoire du passé.

Cette tournée est l’occasion de mettre à l’honneur les liens étroits qu’entretiennent le Canada et le Royaume-Uni, et de commémorer les sacrifices consentis par les Canadiens durant la Grande Guerre – un chapitre de l’histoire souvent décrit comme un événement charnière de l’émergence du Canada comme nation.

Outre des concerts grand public dans différentes villes britanniques, la tournée comportera un imposant volet d’activités éducatives sur les thèmes du souvenir et de la réconciliation, reliant des élèves du Canada et du Royaume-Uni.

Les concerts mettront notamment au programme des œuvres de deux illustres compositeurs canadiens : Malcolm Forsyth et John Estacio.

Les tournées au pays et à l’étranger sont l’un des moyens par lesquels le Centre national des Arts du Canada a su s’acquitter de son mandat national tout au long de ses 45 années d’histoire. À titre d’ambassadeur culturel du Canada, l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts offre la grande musique en partage à ses auditoires et touche des milliers de jeunes par ses activités de rayonnement.

Le CNA repose sur trois pierres angulaires : la diffusion, la création et la transmission des savoirs. La présente tournée de notre Orchestre au R.-U. est l’occasion de mettre en valeur chacun de ces fondements en livrant des prestations exceptionnelles, en braquant les feux sur quelques-uns des plus grands compositeurs canadiens et sur des oeuvres canadiennes parmi les plus passionnantes, et en proposant des expériences éducatives uniques à des jeunes artistes et des jeunes publics.

Pour le maestro Pinchas Zukerman et les musiciens de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, cette tournée est aussi une façon de montrer les solides liens culturels qui unissent le Canada et le Royaume-Uni, et de souligner les sacrifices consentis par les Canadiens durant la Première Guerre mondiale, ce terrible conflit qui a vu émerger le Canada comme nation. En bons ambassadeurs de notre pays, nos musiciens font la preuve du pouvoir qu’a la musique de guérir et d’honorer la mémoire du passé.

Merci de nous accompagner dans ce retour sur notre histoire.

Peter A. Herrndorf, O.C.
Président et chef de la direction, Centre national des Arts du Canada

“Cette tournée constitue une célébration de l’amitié profonde et indéfectible qui unit les Canadiens et la population du Royaume-Uni, de même que des valeurs communes que nous partageons – la liberté, la justice, la dignité humaine et la démocratie. Ce sont ces valeurs qui ont poussé les Canadiens à combattre aux côtés de nos cousins britanniques il y a 100 ans. Grâce à votre musique, les gens des deux côtés de l’Atlantique se rappelleront les sacrifices consentis pour nous par nos ancêtres. Le très honorable Stephen Harper, C.P., député, Premier ministre du Canada
“Je sais que pour beaucoup de Canadiens, la participation de leur pays à ce conflit a marqué l’émergence du Canada comme nation. Cette guerre a aussi donné lieu à l’une des plus vibrantes manifestations des extraordinaires liens historiques de proximité et d’amitié que partagent le Canada et le Royaume-Uni, ainsi que des valeurs communes à nos deux pays – liens et valeurs qui sont aujourd’hui plus forts que jamais.” Le très honorable Sajid Javid, député, Secrétaire d’État à la culture, aux médias et aux sports, Gouvernement du Royaume-Uni
Menu