Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet

The Handmaid's Tale

2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
Dance Ballet with Orchestra
Lila York’s choreography has a life and quality of movement that holds your eye and your attention. The Handmaids’ footwork and body lines make such striking pictures, there are few choreographers whose ballets stand out in the same way for me. What I love about this most though is that anyone can enjoy this production! Jessica Storoschuk, An Historian About Town
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 2 hours · With intermission

In recognition and thanks for invaluable donor support, the NAC Orchestra and NAC Dance grant insider access to donors to audit a working rehearsal in Southam Hall. Often, an artist or member of the artistic team gives insights into the creative process and invites questions from donors. Seating is limited.

Featuring the NAC Orchestra

A bold retelling of Canadian author Margaret Atwood’s award-winning novel The Handmaid’s Tale brought to life as a contemporary ballet by choreographer Lila York. A dystopian tale set in a futuristic society that erases human rights—particularly women’s rights— the work tells the story of Offred, the “scarlet handmaid” (concubine) of the Commander, master of a hierarchical and theocratic dictatorship.

This darkly romantic, edgy dance drama —performed on pointe —is a tour de force by the Royal Winnipeg Ballet. Everything about this ballet is entrancing: the dancers’ extraordinary athleticism, impressive costumes by Liz Vandal, ingenious sets, and the stirring music of James McMillan and Arvo Pärt amongst others. Atwood’s penetrating message, more timely and relevant than ever, shines through in York’s finely honed world.

Returning to Southam Hall after its enthusiastic reception in 2015, this ambitious production is stronger than ever, reworked and refined. A powerful emotional experience!

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

  • The Handmaid's Tale Based on the novel by Margaret Atwood
  • Author Margaret Atwood
  • Choreographer Lila York
  • Music James McMillan, Arvo Pärt, and others
  • Costume Design Liz Vandal
  • Scenic Design Clifton Taylor
  • Associate Scenic Design Anshuman Bhatia
  • Conception des éclairages Clifton Taylor & Anshuman Bhatia
Menu

Royal Winnipeg Ballet du Canada

The Handmaid's Tale (La Servante écarlate)

2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
2018 The Handmaid’s Tale © Daniel Crump
Danse Ballet avec orchestre
La vitalité et la qualité du mouvement de la chorégraphie de Lila York nous gardent captifs. Dans The Handmaid’s Tale, les jeux de jambes et le tracé des corps produisent des images saisissantes. Il y a peu de chorégraphes qui m’impressionnent autant. Mais ce que je préfère, c’est que cette production peut plaire à tout le monde!  Jessica Storoschuk, An Historian About Town
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 2 heures · Avec entracte

En guise de reconnaissance et de remerciement pour leur précieux soutien, l’Orchestre du CNA et Danse CNA offrent aux donateurs un accès privilégié à une répétition dans la Salle Southam. Souvent, un artiste ou un membre de l’équipe artistique donne un aperçu du processus créatif et répond aux questions des donateurs. Les places sont limitées.

Avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Une relecture audacieuse du grand roman de l’autrice canadienne Margaret Atwood The Handmaid’s Tale (La Servante écarlate) par la chorégraphe new-yorkaise Lila York, sous forme d’un ballet contemporain sur pointes. Récit dystopique qui prend place dans une société future qui efface les droits de la personne — particulièrement, des femmes —, l’œuvre raconte l’histoire d’Offred, la « servante écarlate » (concubine) du Commandant, maître d’une dictature hiérarchique et théocratique.

Ce drame dansé, sombre et à fleur de peau, est un véritable tour de force du Royal Winnipeg Ballet. Tout de ce ballet captive : l’athlétisme exceptionnel des danseurs, les costumes impressionnants, l’ingénieux décor protéiforme, la musique puissante (jouée par l’Orchestre du CNA). Le message pénétrant d’Atwood, plus actuel et pertinent que jamais, jaillit brillamment dans l’univers ciselé de York.

De nouveau à la salle Southam après son accueil chaleureux en 2015, cette production ambitieuse est de retour en force, retravaillée et améliorée. Émotions fortes garanties!

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte

Menu