Shin Sugino

Margaret Atwood

Canadian author

In 2007, Canada's National Arts Centre and Britain's Royal Shakespeare Company co-produced a play by celebrated Canadian Author, Margaret Atwood. It was the first time the two organizations had ever collaborated.

With a cast drawn from both nations, The Penelopiad received rave reviews when it premiered on both sides of the Atlantic. It has since been staged many times in the UK and North America, and – accomplishing another goal of its creator – The Penelopiad is often performed by students in high school and university drama programs. 

"I don’t think it would have become a full-length play without the NAC," Atwood said. "Their support was instrumental." 

When asked why the arts matter, she responded, "The arts are at the core of our nature. Dragonflies can get along fine without Shakespeare. But there is no human culture that does not narrate, make music, or manipulate the visual. The arts are inseparable from who we are as people."

Together nine visionary Canadian women known as the Penelope Circle, provided critical financial support for this production inspiring a renewed commitment at the NAC to the creation of Canadian works.


Menu

Shin Sugino

Margaret Atwood

Auteure canadienne

En 2007, le Centre national des Arts et la Royal Shakespeare Company de Grande-Bretagne ont coproduit une pièce de la réputée auteure dramatique canadienne Margaret Atwood. Il s’agissait d’une première collaboration entre les deux organisations.

Avec une distribution qui réunissait des comédiens des deux pays, The Penelopiad a reçu les plus grands éloges lorsqu’elle fut présentée en première tant au Canada qu’en Grande-Bretagne. Depuis, la pièce a fait l’objet de plusieurs productions tant au Royaume-Uni qu’en Amérique du Nord et, conformément au désir de l’auteure, The Penelopiad est fréquemment montée par les étudiants en art dramatique des écoles secondaires et des universités. 

« Sans le soutien du CNA, a mentionné Mme Atwood, la pièce n’aurait pas pu faire l’objet d’une pièce intégrale. La participation du CNA fut déterminante. » 

Lorsqu’on lui demande quelle est la place des arts dans la société, elle répond : « les arts sont au cœur même de la nature humaine. Les libellules peuvent très bien se passer de Shakespeare. Mais l’être humain a besoin de raconter des histoires, de faire de la musique et de créer avec ses mains. Les arts font partie intégrante de l’identité humaine. »

Un groupe de neuf Canadiennes visionnaires connu sous le nom Penelope Circle a fourni une aide financière essentielle pour cette production et ainsi incité le CNA à poursuivre son engagement à soutenir la création d’œuvres canadiennes.


Menu