November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Canada’s NAC Orchestra at Royal Festival Hall, South Bank Centre

This event has passed
Music

Look out London! Two sensational orchestras – Britain’s Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and Canada’s NAC Orchestra – combine with Maestro Pinchas Zukerman, mezzo-soprano Patricia Bardon and the London Philharmonic Choir to create a powerful evening of gorgeous music!

Pinchas Zukerman is a force of nature who is one of the great violinists of our time – arguably, of all time. To hear him live in London is a musical experience you won’t want to miss – especially as he combines the power and precision of his NAC Orchestra, of which he has been Music Director for the past 16 years – and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, of which he is Principal Guest Conductor. His insight into the strengths of each ensemble have resulted in a program that, for one night only, will take the audience to the height of discovery and epic beauty.

The concert begins with Bach’s “Erbarme Dich” – a spiritual gem sung by mezzo-soprano Patricia Bardon, with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Then, the late Canadian composer Malcolm Forsyth’s creation “A Ballad of Canada” features the NAC Orchestra’s warm sound and exceptional musicality. The London Philharmonic Choir brings beautiful and moving depth to the choral contribution, including the John McCrae poem “In Flanders Fields”. After intermission, the power of all of these musicians combine in a performance of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9 – the Ode to Joy. Join the U.K. Tour in London for this extraordinary concert night, and follow the tour online as it unfolds, at nacotour.ca!

- - - - - -

Pre-concert choir performance, Song of the Poets (6:45 pm): 

A 25-minute pre-concert performance by the Reverie Choir prior to the NAC Orchestra’s evening concert at the Royal Festival Hall, Southbank Centre. The NAC is the lead commissioner of a powerful tribute to the soldiers of the First World War called “Song of the Poets” by Canadian composer Abigail Richardson that will be featured by wonderful youth and community choirs in all tour cities as part of the NAC Orchestra’s pre-concert activities.

Artists

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août

Orchestre du CNA du Canada à Royal Festival Hall, South Bank Centre

Cet événement est passé
Musique

Attention Londres! Deux orchestres sensationnels – le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra de Grande-Bretagne et l’Orchestre du CNA du Canada – combinent leurs effectifs en compagnie du maestro Pinchas Zukerman, de la mezzo-soprano Patricia Bardon et du London Philharmonic Choir pour produire une fabuleuse soirée de grande musique!

Véritable force de la nature, Pinchas Zukerman est l’un des grands violonistes de notre temps – peut-être même de tous les temps. L’entendre en concert à Londres est une expérience musicale à ne pas manquer – surtout lorsqu’il combine la puissance incisive de son Orchestre du CNA, dont il assure la direction musicale depuis 16 ans, et celle du Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, dont il est le premier chef invité. Sa connaissance intime des forces des deux ensembles a produit un programme qui, pour un soir seulement, transportera l’auditoire vers les cimes de la découverte et de la beauté épique.

Le concert s’amorce avec « Erbarme Dich » de Bach – un joyau spirituel interprété par la mezzo-soprano Patricia Bardon avec le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Les sons chaleureux et l’extraordinaire musicalité de l’Orchestre du CNA sont subséquemment mis en valeur dans A Ballad of Canada, une création du regretté compositeur canadien Malcolm Forsyth. Le London Philharmonic Choir confère une beauté et une profondeur émouvantes à la partie chorale de l’œuvre qui comprend In Flanders Fields, le célèbre poème de John McCrae. Après l’entracte, tous ces musiciens mettent leurs talents en commun pour interpréter la Symphonie no 9 de Beethoven – avec l’Ode à la joie. Joignez-vous à la Tournée au R.-U. à Londres pour ce fabuleux concert, et suivez la tournée en ligne à mesure qu’elle se déroule à l’adresse tourneeocna.ca !

- - - - - - 

Prestation chorale d’avant-concert : The Song of the Poets (18h45) :

Prestation de 25 minutes donnée par le Reverie Choir avant le concert en soirée de l’Orchestre du CNA au Royal Festival Hall du Southbank Centre. Le CNA rend hommage aux soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale en se faisant le principal investisseur dans la commande d’une composition, intitulée Song of the Poets, à la canadienne Abigail Richardson. L’œuvre sera interprétée par d’excellents chœurs communautaires et de jeunes dans toutes les villes de la Tournée dans le cadre des activités d’avant-concert de l’Orchestre du CNA. 

Artistes

Menu