Amanda del Valle in Doña Perón © Rachel Neville

Ballet Hispánico

Doña Perón

2022-10-14 20:00 2022-10-15 21:10 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Ballet Hispánico

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30547

In-person event

Ballet Hispánico, the largest Latinx cultural organization in the United States, makes its debut appearance at the NAC with their new work Doña Perón, created to mark the company’s 50th anniversary. This full-length contemporary ballet celebrates the life of one of the most captivating women of South American history. Choreographed by internationally renowned Annabelle Lopez Ochoa, Doña Perón is an explosive portrait of Eva "Evita" Perón whose...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
October 14 - 15, 2022
8:00 pm
Amanda del Valle in Doña Perón © Rachel Neville
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Christopher Ash
© Christopher Ash
© Christopher Ash
Dance Contemporary
“I want to give female dancers real roles, not always the nice roles. Women are complex and it's nice to show all of these facets. I'm very grateful that I can put this woman, Evita Perón, on stage as a female choreographer.” Annabelle Lopez Ochoa
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 70 minutes · No intermission

Ballet Hispánico, the largest Latinx cultural organization in the United States, makes its debut appearance at the NAC with their new work Doña Perón, created to mark the company’s 50th anniversary. This full-length contemporary ballet celebrates the life of one of the most captivating women of South American history.

Choreographed by internationally renowned Annabelle Lopez Ochoa, Doña Perón is an explosive portrait of Eva "Evita" Perón whose ambition and conflicting desires fed her life as an activist and feminist leader. Both loved and controversial, we follow the narrative of the iconic figure through her tragic and complex life in the public eye.

Ms. Ochoa, in collaboration with director Nancy Meckler, delves into the extremes of power and leadership at the forefront of Evita's life as she ascended the ranks of Argentinian society while concealing a shameful past within a poor family. This stunning new work set to music of the inimitable ballet composer Peter Salem, is an opportunity to experience the exquisite artistry of this extraordinary company.

Did you know?
Costume designer Mark Eric and Ballet Hispánico’s wardrobe department will have overseen the creation of over 80 magnificent costumes for the world premiere of Doña Perón, in April 2022, at New York City Center.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Oct 10
Oct 11
Oct 12
Oct 13
Oct 14
  • 8:00pm
Oct 15
  • 8:00pm
Oct 16
video: Doña Perón by Ballet Hispánico
Doña Perón by Ballet Hispánico
video: Doña Perón by Ballet Hispánico
Doña Perón by Ballet Hispánico
Amanda del Valle in Doña Perón © Rachel Neville
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Christopher Ash
© Christopher Ash
© Christopher Ash
  • Choreographer Annabelle Lopez Ochoa
  • Artistic collaborator Nancy Meckler
  • Music Peter Salem
  • Lighting, set, and video design Christopher Ash
  • Costume design Mark Eric
Menu

Amanda del Valle in Doña Perón © Rachel Neville

Ballet Hispánico

Doña Perón

2022-10-14 20:00 2022-10-15 21:10 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Ballet Hispánico

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30547

Événement en personne

La plus importante organisation culturelle latino-américaine aux États-Unis, le Ballet Hispánico, fait ses débuts au CNA avec sa nouvelle production Doña Perón, créée à l’occasion du 50e anniversaire de la compagnie. Ce ballet contemporain intégral célèbre la vie de l’une des femmes les plus captivantes de l’histoire sud-américaine. Chorégraphié par l’artiste de...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
14 - 15 octobre 2022
20 h 00
Amanda del Valle in Doña Perón © Rachel Neville
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Christopher Ash
© Christopher Ash
© Christopher Ash
Danse Contemporaine
«Je veux donner aux danseuses de vrais rôles, pas toujours de beaux rôles. Les femmes sont complexes et c’est bien de montrer toutes leurs facettes. En tant que femme chorégraphe, je suis très reconnaissante de pouvoir présenter Evita Perón sur scène.» Annabelle Lopez Ochoa
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 70 minutes · Sans entracte

La plus importante organisation culturelle latino-américaine aux États-Unis, le Ballet Hispánico, fait ses débuts au CNA avec sa nouvelle production Doña Perón, créée à l’occasion du 50e anniversaire de la compagnie. Ce ballet contemporain intégral célèbre la vie de l’une des femmes les plus captivantes de l’histoire sud-américaine.

Chorégraphié par l’artiste de renommée internationale Annabelle Lopez Ochoa, Doña Perón peint un portrait explosif d’Eva Perón, surnommée Evita, dont la vie de militante et de leader féministe a été marquée par son ambition et ses désirs contradictoires. Le spectacle nous entraîne dans l’histoire de cette figure emblématique, à la fois aimée et controversée, dont la vie publique fut tragique et complexe.

En collaboration avec la metteuse en scène Nancy Meckler, Annabelle Lopez Ochoa se plonge dans les extrêmes du pouvoir et du leadership qui occupent l’avant plan de la vie d’Evita alors que celle-ci gravit les échelons de la société argentine tout en dissimulant un passé dit honteux au sein d’une famille pauvre. Une nouvelle œuvre foudroyante, interprétée sur une musique de l’inimitable compositeur de ballet Peter Salem. Une fabuleuse occasion de découvrir toute l’amplitude du talent exquis de cette compagnie extraordinaire.

Le saviez-vous?
Le concepteur de costumes, Mark Eric, et l’atelier des costumes du Ballet Hispánico ont supervisé la création de plus de 80 magnifiques costumes pour la première de Doña Perón, en avril 2022 au New York City Center.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
oct 10
oct 11
oct 12
oct 13
oct 14
  • 20 h 00
oct 15
  • 20 h 00
oct 16
Amanda del Valle in Doña Perón © Rachel Neville
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Paula Lobo
© Christopher Ash
© Christopher Ash
© Christopher Ash
  • Chorégraphe Annabelle Lopez Ochoa
  • Collaboration Artistique Nancy Meckler
  • Musique Peter Salem
  • Éclairage, décor et conception vidéo  Christopher Ash
  • Costumes Mark Eric
Menu