WolfGANG Session

SPHERE Festival

2022-09-23 20:00 2022-09-23 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: WolfGANG Session

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30538

In-person event

Wolfgang invites you to take another walk on the wild side with this Session, featuring stellar NACO musicians in an intimate evening of exciting music about the Earth at Club SAW. Musicians: Desiree Abbey, Cello Paul Casey, viola Karen Donnelly, trumpet Steven Dyer, trombone Joanna G'froerer, flute Chris Lee, tuba Jessica Linnebach, violin David Marks, viola Stephanie Morin, Flute Rachel Mercer, cello Marc-André Riberdy, cello Steven van Gulik, trumpet Mintje van...

Read more

Club SAW,67 Nicholas Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, September 23, 2022
8 PM EDT
Music Classical music Chamber music Festival events
  • ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR Spectra for violin, viola, and cello
  • BRIAN NABORS Zephyr for 2 Flutes and String Quartet
  • KRISTINE TJØGERSEN Spiracle for brass quintet
  • R. Murray Schafer String Quartet No. 2, "Waves"
  • In-person event
  • ≈ 90 minutes · With intermission

Wolfgang invites you to take another walk on the wild side with this Session, featuring stellar NACO musicians in an intimate evening of exciting music about the Earth at Club SAW.

Musicians:

  • Desiree Abbey, Cello
  • Paul Casey, viola
  • Karen Donnelly, trumpet
  • Steven Dyer, trombone
  • Joanna G'froerer, flute
  • Chris Lee, tuba
  • Jessica Linnebach, violin
  • David Marks, viola
  • Stephanie Morin, Flute
  • Rachel Mercer, cello
  • Marc-André Riberdy, cello
  • Steven van Gulik, trumpet
  • Mintje van Lier, violin
  • Lawrence Vine, horn
  • Emily Westell, Violin

Anna Thorvaldsdóttir’s Spectra is an ecosystem of musical materials that are carried and passed from performer to performer, with sounds growing in and out of each other and being transformed in the process. Like the symbiotic flow of energy between species and elements in nature, Spectra is mysterious and irresistible.

Composer Brian Raphael Nabors likes to juxtapose the romantic with the barbarous, and his Zephyr for two flutes and string quartet delivers all that and more. The word “zephyr” means “gentle wind,” but don’t be fooled: Zephyr is full of lyricism, yes, but it is also “quite the feisty piece.”

A spiracle is an external breathing hole found on a wide range of insects, spiders, dolphins, and whales. While that might not be an obvious theme for an orchestral piece, Norwegian composer Kristine Tjørgersen likes to “give something to the audience, to bring them to a different place they didn’t think about before, so they can be surprised.” Her Spiracle for brass quintet opens space for all kinds of strange and beautiful musical impulses.

R. Murray Schafer, the late, great Canadian “composer, writer, and acoustic ecologist” (cbc.ca), was a ground breaker who popularized the concept of “soundscape.” His Waves is a mysterious yet grounding work inspired by “sea time”—the six to eleven seconds that almost always elapse between waves, whether they are gentle murmurs of calm, or wild, forceful seas.

***This concert is presented as part of the NAC Orchestra’s SPHERE Festival which will take place on September 22-25, 2022, and launches the Orchestra’s year-long exploration of “listening to the Earth” through the intersections of art, creativity, and science.

Menu

Session WolfGANG

Festival SPHÈRE

2022-09-23 20:00 2022-09-23 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Session WolfGANG

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30538

Événement en personne

Wolfgang vous invite, à faire ressortir votre côté aventureux pour cette prochaine session intime de musique mettant en avant la Terre au Club SAW Musiciens: Desiree Abbey, violoncelle Paul Casey, alto Karen Donnelly, trompette Steven Dyer, trombone Joanna G'froerer, flute Chris Lee, tuba Jessica Linnebach, violon David Marks, alto Stephanie Morin, flute  Rachel Mercer, violoncelle Marc-André Riberdy, violoncelle Steven van Gulik,...

Read more

Club SAW ,67 rue Nicholas,Ottawa
vendredi 23 septembre 2022
20 h HAE
Cet événement est passé
Musique Musique classique Musique de chambre Festival
  • ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR Spectra pour violon, alto, violoncelle
  • BRIAN NABORS Zephyr pour 2 Flutes et Quartet à Cordes
  • KRISTINE TJØGERSEN Spiracle pour quintette de cuivres
  • R. Murray Schafer Quatuor à cordes No. 2, "Waves"
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 90 minutes · Avec entracte

Wolfgang vous invite, à faire ressortir votre côté aventureux pour cette prochaine session intime de musique mettant en avant la Terre au Club SAW

Musiciens:

  • Desiree Abbey, violoncelle
  • Paul Casey, alto
  • Karen Donnelly, trompette
  • Steven Dyer, trombone
  • Joanna G'froerer, flute
  • Chris Lee, tuba
  • Jessica Linnebach, violon
  • David Marks, alto
  • Stephanie Morin, flute 
  • Rachel Mercer, violoncelle
  • Marc-André Riberdy, violoncelle
  • Steven van Gulik, trompette
  • Mintje van Lier, violon
  • Lawrence Vine, cor
  • Emily Westell, violon

Spectra d’Anna Thorvaldsdóttir est un écosystème d’éléments musicaux qui passent d’un musicien à l’autre. Les sons évoluent et interagissent entre eux, se transformant tout au long du processus. Comme le flux symbiotique d’énergie entre la faune et la nature, Spectra est une œuvre mystérieuse et irrésistible.

Le compositeur Brian Raphael Nabors aime la juxtaposition du romantique et du barbare; son Zephyr pour deux flûtes et quatuor à cordes joue sur ce contraste, et bien plus. Le mot « zéphyr » désigne un « vent doux », mais ne vous y trompez pas! Oui, Zephyr est une œuvre emplie de lyrisme, mais elle ne manque pas de fougue!

En anglais, le mot « spiracle » fait référence aux orifices respiratoires externes d’une grande variété d’espèces, comme les insectes, les araignées, les dauphins et les baleines. Ce n’est pas le thème auquel on pense d’emblée pour une œuvre orchestrale, mais la compositrice norvégienne Kristine Tjøgersen aime « offrir quelque chose au public, l’emporter là où il n’a jamais songé à aller, pour le surprendre. » Son œuvre Spiracle pour quintette de cuivres est une porte ouverte sur tout un monde d’élans musicaux à la fois curieux et merveilleux.

Le regretté R. Murray Schafer, excellent compositeur, écrivain et écologiste acoustique (cbc.ca) canadien, était un visionnaire qui a popularisé le concept du « paysage sonore ». Waves est une composition à la fois mystérieuse et terre à terre, inspirée par le « temps marin » – ces six à onze secondes qui s’écoulent presque toujours entre les vagues, qu’elles soient habitées par le calme, les remous ou la turbulence de l’onde.


***Ce concert est présenté dans le cadre du Festival SPHERE de l'Orchestre du CNA, qui aura lieu du 22 au 25 septembre 2022.

Menu