WolfGANG Session

SPHERE Festival

2022-09-23 20:00 2022-09-23 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: WolfGANG Session

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30538

In-person event

Wolfgang invites you to take another walk on the wild side with this Session, featuring stellar NACO musicians in an intimate evening of exciting music about the Earth at Club SAW. Musicians: Desiree Abbey, Cello Paul Casey, viola Karen Donnelly, trumpet Steven Dyer, trombone Joanna G'froerer, flute Chris Lee, tuba Jessica Linnebach, violin David Marks, viola Stephanie Morin, Flute Rachel Mercer, cello Marc-André Riberdy, cello Steven van Gulik, trumpet Mintje van...

Read more

Club SAW,67 Nicholas Street,Ottawa,Canada
Friday, September 23, 2022
8 PM EST

≈ 90 minutes · With intermission

Program

Last updated: September 21, 2022

ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR Spectra for violin, viola, and cello
BRIAN NABORS Zephyr for two flutes and string quartet
KRISTINE TJØGERSEN Spiracle for brass quintet
SCHAFER String Quartet No. 2, “Waves”

Program Notes

Tonight’s Wolfgang Session, part of this season’s SPHERE Festival, is a walk on the wild side featuring contemporary works inspired by natural phenomena. In each of the four works on this program, composers creatively employ techniques that require the performing musicians to go beyond the traditional ways of playing their instruments. This is the music of nature like you’ve never heard it before!

Repertoire

ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR

Spectra for violin, viola, and cello

“One of the most distinctive voices in contemporary music” (NPR), Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdóttir is known for her highly atmospheric and texturally imaginative works. As her biography describes, her music is written as an “ecosystem of sounds”, where materials continuously grow in and out of each other. Much of it is fundamentally inspired by nature and its various qualities, particularly structural ones, like proportion and flow. 

A commission by the NJORD New Nordic Music Biennale in Copenhagen, Thorvaldsdóttir’s string trio Spectra was composed in 2017. It consists of, in her words, “six short movements that are performed in a seamless flow from one movement to the next.” “Atmospheric indications,” which include phrases like “with curiosity”, “with determination”, and “with lyricism and calm”, she notes, “are written in bold italic letters at the start of each movement.”

“My music is written as an ecosystem of materials that are carried from one performer—or performers—to the next throughout the process of the work,” she further explains. In Spectra, these materials include the use of a wide array of extended techniques to create special effects, including producing quarter tones, harmonics, glissandos, tremolos, changes in bow pressure, playing near the bridge of the instrument, and varied types of vibrato. Her guidance for performers of the piece can also apply to listeners’ experience of it: “As you play a phrase, harmony, texture, or a lyrical line, it is being delivered to you, passed on from another performer for you to carry on until it is delivered to another. All materials continuously grow in and out of each other, growing and transforming throughout the process.”

BRIAN NABORS

Zephyr for 2 Flutes and String Quartet

I. Lively
II. Reflective
III. Lively

The music of American composer Brian Raphael Nabors has recently been garnering much attention for its eclectic blend of jazz, funk, R & B, and gospel styles, with the modern techniques of contemporary classical music. Nabors credits his “charming southern upbringing” as formative to the core principles that inspire his music, which include spirituality, and reflections on life, nature, and the human condition.

He composed Zephyr in 2020 for the New Downbeat new music ensemble. About the piece, he says:

​The word “zephyr” comes from the Greek language meaning “gentle wind” or “wind from the west.” Although there are many examples of gentle lyricism throughout, it is quite the fiery piece, with many other stark effects of wind and colour making their appearance. As always, I find it most fun to juxtapose the romantic with the barbarous!

Two outer movements marked “Lively” bookend a “Reflective” centre. To create the “stark effects of wind”, Nabors has the two flute players use various extended techniques, for example, air beatboxing—essentially, “talking” into the flute, resulting in a percussive, breathy series of sounds. Another is jet whistles, which are very loud glissandos produced by blowing a high, fast-pressure air stream through the flute. In the first part of the second movement, the string quartet plays slow-moving chords composed of ethereal harmonics, against which the flutes intone “pops” of sound using slap tongue and blow pitchless, steady streams of air through their instruments. As contrast to these “windy” sections in each movement, there are dynamic episodes of counterpoint—between the two flutes and between the flutes and string quartet—that evoke layers of air flow.

KRISTINE TJØGERSEN

Spiracle for brass quintet

The compositional practice of Norwegian composer Kristine Tjøgersen is, according to her biography, “characterized by curiosity, imagination, humour, and precision. Through her work she creates unexpected and absurd auditory situations through playing with tradition, often resulting in a particular strangeness. Her work opens up perceptions of the world as complex, alive, and ever changing and not heading towards a final climax.”

Spiracle for brass quintet was composed in 2017. In the score, Tjøgersen describes the underlying inspiration for the piece:

Spiracles are breathing openings found on the surface of insects, spiders, certain cartilaginous fish such as particular species of sharks, and stingrays. Sharks and rays have a spiracle behind each eye. When the shark is not moving, the spiracle helps the shark to breathe. Spiracles aid fish in breathing even when they are lying on the ocean bottom or when they are buried in the sand. Insects have spiracles, which allow air to move into their tracheal system. Since insects do not have lungs, they use spiracles to exchange oxygen and carbon dioxide with the outside air. The blowhole of the whale is also sometimes called a spiracle in older texts. Whales use their blowholes to take in the air and dispel carbon dioxide when they surface.

As if to evoke the sound of spiracles in action, Tjøgersen has the musicians use a myriad of creative playing techniques to generate unusual sounds from their instruments. These include air sounds, air sounds with pronounced letters, air tones with flutter, slap tongue, tongue tremolo to sound like a helicopter, singing and playing at the same time, playing without the mouthpiece, and using the instrument the “wrong way”. Requiring playing of great subtlety and finesse, the piece progresses with essentially alternating sections of pitch-less sounds shaped by clear rhythmic patterns, which are, at times, infused with shifting “wah wah” tones. About a third of the way through, second trumpet and trombone intone a melodic phrase, which Tjøgersen notes is a quote from the song “In Bloom” by Nirvana. Spiracle closes with a reflective series of chords in the trumpets, horn, and tuba, and the trombone responding with singing glissandos.

R. Murray Schafer

String Quartet No. 2, "Waves"

During the late 1960s and 1970s, Canadian composer R. Murray Schafer established an educational and research group called the World Soundscape Project at Vancouver’s Simon Fraser University. Borne out of his deep concern about the harmful effects of technological sound on humans, i.e, noise pollution, particularly in urban environments, the project initiated the field of acoustic ecology—the study of the relationship between humans and their environment as mediated through sound. In 1976, Schafer completed his first work to integrate his soundscape research with his creative endeavours as a composer: his second string quartet, “Waves”.

In his program note to the piece, he describes how his analysis of ocean waves on the Atlantic and Pacific coasts of Canada shaped the composition:

The recurrent pattern of waves is always asymmetrical, but we have noted that the duration from crest to crest usually falls between 6 and 11 seconds. Few ocean waves are of longer or shorter duration than this. It is this wave motion that gives the quartet its rhythm and structure. The listener will hear the dynamic undulations of waves in this piece, and as it develops several types of wave motion are combined. I have sought to give the quartet a liquid quality in which everything is constantly dissolving and flowing into everything else. That is to say, the material of the work is not fixed, but is perpetually changing, and even though certain motivic figures are used repeatedly, they undergo continual dynamic, rhythmic, and tempo variation.

To enhance the fluidity of the music, Schafer allows the musicians some artistic freedom to execute their parts, as indicated by a timeline underneath the score that suggests when the musical motifs are to be played. Overall, the piece might be described as a meditation on the many sounds of water—from calm, soothing burbles to droplet sprays to the surging, pounding waves. In his 1977 landmark book The Tuning of the World in which he summarized his ideas and theories about soundscape, Schafer considered water to be “the fundamental of the original soundscape and the sound which above all gives us the most delight in its myriad transformations.” He noted that “the mind must be slowed to catch these millions of transformations of the water, on sand, on shale, against driftwood, against the seawall.”

Schafer’s work in soundscape also influenced his interest in the spatial distribution of musicians during live performance to create certain effects. Near the quartet’s conclusion, he instructs the first violinist, then second violinist, then violist to get up and slowly leave the stage in different directions “as if in a trance”, taking their murmuring figures into the distance. In the last moments, the cellist is given the optional instruction to pick up a spyglass and, “in a very deliberate and controlled manner”, look to where the other musicians have gone and pan slowly across the audience. After this action, the cellist plays the final chord, and fades out gradually on an E-flat note.

 

Program notes by Hannah Chan-Hartley, PhD

Menu

Session WolfGANG

Festival SPHÈRE

2022-09-23 20:00 2022-09-23 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Session WolfGANG

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30538

Événement en personne

Wolfgang vous invite, à faire ressortir votre côté aventureux pour cette prochaine session intime de musique mettant en avant la Terre au Club SAW Musiciens: Desiree Abbey, violoncelle Paul Casey, alto Karen Donnelly, trompette Steven Dyer, trombone Joanna G'froerer, flute Chris Lee, tuba Jessica Linnebach, violon David Marks, alto Stephanie Morin, flute  Rachel Mercer, violoncelle Marc-André Riberdy, violoncelle Steven van Gulik,...

Read more

Club SAW ,67 rue Nicholas,Ottawa
vendredi 23 septembre 2022
20 h HAE

≈ 90 minutes · Avec entracte

Programme

Dernière mise à jour: 21 septembre 2022

ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR Spectra pour violon, alto et violoncelle
BRIAN NABORS Zephyr pour deux flûtes et quatuor à cordes
KRISTINE TJØGERSEN Spiracle pour quintette de cuivres
SCHAFER Quatuor à cordes no 2, « Waves »

Notes de programme

La session WolfGANG de ce soir, présentée dans le cadre du festival SPHÈRE, est une incursion en-dehors des sentiers battus avec des œuvres contemporaines inspirées de phénomènes naturels. Chacune des quatre pièces au programme a recours à des techniques de composition créatives, qui obligent les instrumentistes à aller au-delà de la manière traditionnelle de jouer de leurs instruments. C’est la musique de la nature comme vous ne l’avez jamais entendue auparavant!

Répertoire

ANNA THORVALDSDÓTTIR

Spectra pour violon, alto, violoncelle

La compositrice islandaise Anna Thorvaldsdóttir, « l’une des voix les plus distinctives de la musique contemporaine » (NPR), est connue pour ses œuvres à l’atmosphère forte, inventives et richement étoffées. Comme on peut le lire dans sa biographie, sa musique est écrite comme un « écosystème de sons » où les matériaux s’augmentent continuellement les uns des autres. Son œuvre s’inspire en grande partie des éléments fondamentaux de la nature et de ses qualités intrinsèques, notamment structurelles, comme la proportion et le flux. 

Fruit d’une commande du festival NJORD – la biennale de la nouvelle musique nordique à Copenhague – le trio à cordes Spectra d’Anna Thorvaldsdóttir a été composé en 2017. Il s’articule, comme elle le dit elle-même, en « six courts mouvements qui s’enchaînent dans un flux continu d’un mouvement à l’autre ». Des « indications d’ambiance », sous forme d’expressions comme « avec curiosité », « avec détermination » et « avec calme et lyrisme », souligne-t-elle, « sont inscrites en caractères gras et italiques au début de chaque mouvement ».

« Ma musique est écrite comme un écosystème de matériaux qui sont transmis d’un ou plusieurs instruments à un autre tout au long de l’œuvre », explique-t-elle. Dans Spectra, ces matériaux comprennent l’utilisation d’un large éventail de techniques très poussées pour créer des effets spéciaux, dont la production de quarts de ton, d’harmoniques, de glissandos, de trémolos, ainsi que des changements dans la pression de l’archet, le jeu près du chevalet de l’instrument, et divers types de vibrato. Ses instructions aux interprètes peuvent également s’appliquer à l’écoute de l’œuvre : « Lorsque vous jouez une phrase, une harmonie, une texture ou une ligne lyrique, elle vous est livrée, transmise par un autre instrument pour que vous la prolongiez jusqu’à ce qu’elle soit relayée à un instrument tiers. Tous les matériaux s’augmentent continuellement les uns des autres, croissant et se transformant tout au long du processus. »

BRIAN NABORS

Zephyr pour 2 Flutes et Quartet à Cordes

I. Animé
II. Méditatif
III. Animé

La musique du compositeur américain Brian Raphael Nabors s’est signalée avec éclat, récemment, pour son mélange éclectique de styles jazz, funk, rhythm and blues et gospel avec les techniques modernes de la musique classique contemporaine. Il attribue à sa « gracieuse éducation du sud » la formation des principes fondamentaux qui inspirent sa musique, notamment la spiritualité et les réflexions sur la vie, la nature et la condition humaine.

Il a composé Zephyr en 2020 pour l’ensemble de musique nouvelle New Downbeat. Il décrit la pièce en ces termes :

Le mot « zéphyr » vient de la langue grecque et signifie « vent doux » ou « vent d’ouest ». Bien qu’on y entende de nombreux exemples de moments lyriques tout en douceur, c’est un morceau plutôt fougueux, dans lequel apparaissent beaucoup d’autres saisissants effets de vent et de couleur. Comme toujours, je prends beaucoup de plaisir à juxtaposer le romantisme et la barbarie!

Deux mouvements extérieurs portant l’indication « animé » encadrent un mouvement central « méditatif ». Pour créer les « saisissants effets de vent », le compositeur demande aux deux flûtistes d’utiliser diverses techniques poussées, par exemple l’air beatboxing, qui consiste essentiellement à « parler » dans la flûte pour produire une série de sons percussifs et voilés. Une autre technique employée est le jet whistle, une sorte de glissando à fort volume produit en soufflant un jet d’air à haute pression dans la flûte Dans la première partie du deuxième mouvement, le quatuor à cordes joue des accords lents composés d’harmoniques éthérés, contre lesquels les flûtes font éclater des « bulles » sonores, à l’aide de claquements de langue et en insufflant des colonnes d’air stables et sans hauteur dans leurs instruments. Contrastant avec ces sections « venteuses » dans chaque mouvement, on trouve des épisodes dynamiques de contrepoint – entre les deux flûtes, ainsi qu’entre les flûtes et le quatuor à cordes – qui évoquent une circulation d’air par couches.

KRISTINE TJØGERSEN

Spiracle pour quintette de cuivres

La démarche créatrice de la compositrice norvégienne Kristine Tjøgersen se distingue, selon sa biographie, « par la curiosité, l’imagination, l’humour et la précision. Dans son œuvre, elle crée des moments auditifs inattendus et absurdes en jouant avec la tradition, ce qui produit souvent un sentiment d’étrangeté tout à fait singulier. Elle engendre des perspectives sur un monde complexe, vivant, en perpétuel changement, qui ne se dirige pas vers un point culminant final. »

Spiracle pour quintette de cuivres a été composé en 2017. Dans la partition, la compositrice évoque en ces termes ce qui l’a inspirée pour cette pièce :

Les spiracles sont des ouvertures respiratoires que l’on trouve à la surface des insectes, des araignées, et de certains poissons cartilagineux dont quelques espèces de requins et de raies. Les requins et les raies ont un spiracle derrière chaque œil. Quand le requin ne bouge pas, le spiracle l’aide à respirer. Les spiracles permettent aux poissons de respirer même lorsqu’ils sont couchés au fond de l’océan ou enfouis dans le sable. Les insectes ont aussi des spiracles, qui permettent à l’air de circuler dans leur système trachéal. Comme les insectes n’ont pas de poumons, ils utilisent les spiracles pour échanger de l’oxygène et du dioxyde de carbone avec l’air extérieur. L’évent de la baleine est parfois appelé spiracle dans les textes anciens. Les baleines utilisent leur évent pour aspirer l’air et évacuer le dioxyde de carbone lorsqu’elles font surface.

Comme pour évoquer le son des spiracles en action, la compositrice demande aux interprètes d’utiliser une myriade de techniques de jeu créatives pour générer des sons inusités à partir de leurs instruments. Parmi ces techniques, citons le bruissement d’air, le bruissement d’air sur des lettres prononcées, les sons éoliens pulsés, les claquements de langue, les tremolos avec la langue pour évoquer le son d’un hélicoptère, de même que le fait de chanter et jouer simultanément, de jouer sans anche, et d’utiliser l’instrument « à l’envers ». Exigeant un jeu extrêmement subtil et raffiné, la pièce progresse avec des sections essentiellement alternées de sons indéterminés, façonnés par des motifs rythmiques clairs qui sont, par moments, infusés de sonorités « wah-wah » toujours changeantes. À environ un tiers du morceau, la deuxième trompette et le trombone entonnent une phrase mélodique qui, signale la compositrice, est une citation de la chanson « In Bloom » de Nirvana. Spiracle se conclut par une série d’accords méditatifs des trompettes, du cor et du tuba, auxquels le trombone répond par des glissandos chantants.

Quatuor à cordes No. 2, "Waves"

À la fin des années 1960 et dans les années 1970, le compositeur canadien R. Murray Schafer a créé un groupe d’éducation et de recherche appelé World Soundscape Project (« projet mondial d’environnement sonore ») à l’Université Simon Fraser de Vancouver. Né de ses profondes préoccupations à l’égard des effets nocifs du son technologique sur les humains, c’est-à-dire de la pollution sonore, en particulier dans les environnements urbains, le projet a donné naissance à une nouvelle discipline, l’écologie acoustique – l’étude de la relation entre les humains et leur environnement telle qu’elle est médiatisée par le son. En 1976, Schafer a achevé la première de ses œuvres intégrant ses recherches sur les environnements sonores à sa démarche créatrice de compositeur : son deuxième quatuor à cordes, « Waves ».

Dans la note de programme de la pièce, il explique comment son analyse des vagues océaniques sur les côtes atlantique et pacifique du Canada a façonné la composition :

Le motif récurrent des vagues est toujours asymétrique, mais nous avons remarqué que l’intervalle de temps entre deux crêtes se situe généralement entre six et onze secondes. Rares sont les vagues océaniques qui ont une durée plus longue ou plus courte que celle-ci. C’est ce mouvement de vague qui donne au quatuor son rythme et sa structure. L’auditoire entendra les ondulations dynamiques des vagues dans cette pièce, et à mesure qu’elle se déploie, plusieurs types de mouvements de vagues y sont associés. J’ai cherché à donner au quatuor un caractère liquide, où tout se dissout et s’écoule constamment dans tout le reste. C’est donc dire que le matériau de l’œuvre n’est pas fixe, mais en perpétuel changement, et même si certaines figures motiviques sont utilisées de manière répétée, elles subissent de continuelles variations dynamiques, rythmiques et de tempo.

Pour ajouter à la fluidité de la musique, Schafer laisse aux musiciens une certaine liberté artistique dans l’exécution de leurs parties, comme l’indique une ligne de temps sous la partition qui suggère le moment où les motifs musicaux doivent être joués. Dans l’ensemble, la pièce peut être dépeinte comme une méditation sur les nombreuses sonorités de l’eau – du calme et apaisant gazouillis aux vagues déferlantes, en passant par la pulvérisation de gouttelettes. Dans son ouvrage de 1977 intitulé Le Paysage sonore, qui a fait date et dans lequel il résume ses idées et ses théories sur l’environnement sonore, il estime que l’eau est « la base du paysage sonore original et le son qui, par-dessus tout, nous procure le plus de plaisir dans ses myriades de transformations ». Il souligne aussi que « l’esprit doit être ralenti pour saisir ces millions de transformations de l’eau, sur le sable, sur le schiste, contre le bois flotté, contre la digue. »

Le travail de Schafer sur le paysage sonore a également influencé son intérêt pour la distribution spatiale des instruments, pendant les prestations en direct, en vue de créer certains effets. Vers la fin du quatuor, il demande au premier violon, puis au second violon et à l’alto, de se lever et de quitter lentement la scène dans différentes directions « comme en transe », emportant leurs silhouettes murmurantes dans le lointain. Dans les derniers instants, le violoncelle reçoit l’instruction facultative de prendre une lorgnette et, « d’une manière très délibérée et contrôlée », de regarder où sont partis les autres instruments et de faire un panoramique lent à travers le public. Après cette action, le violoncelle joue l’accord final avant de s’éteindre progressivement sur une note de mi bémol.

 

Notes de programme par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais)

Menu