Marion Newman

The Eternal Earth

SPHERE Festival - NACO Live

2022-09-22 20:00 2022-09-22 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: The Eternal Earth

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30521

In-person event

The NAC Orchestra honours the Earth and the perseverance of life against increasingly difficult odds by performing works from three very different composers.   To hear German-British composer Max Richter’s Recomposed Four Seasons is to be swept up in the passionate urgency of nature, its mysteries and joys and the delicate persistence of the seasons on our planet. In this remarkable work, Vivaldi has spoken and Richter has answered with ferocious love for the...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, September 22, 2022
8 PM EDT
Marion Newman
Mari Samuelsen
Music Classical music Festival events
“ In this remarkable work, Vivaldi has spoken and Richter has answered with ferocious love for the robust but increasingly precarious nature of life on Earth”
  • OUTI TARKIAINEN selections from The Earth, Spring’s Daughter
  • MAX RICHTER Recomposed Four Seasons
  • Alexina Louie The Eternal Earth
  • In-person event

The NAC Orchestra honours the Earth and the perseverance of life against increasingly difficult odds by performing works from three very different composers.  

To hear German-British composer Max Richter’s Recomposed Four Seasons is to be swept up in the passionate urgency of nature, its mysteries and joys and the delicate persistence of the seasons on our planet. In this remarkable work, Vivaldi has spoken and Richter has answered with ferocious love for the robust but increasingly precarious nature of life on Earth. A passionate champion of contemporary work, Norwegian violinist Mari Samuelsen makes her Canadian debut in this performance. 

In the festival’s opening concert, Indigenous mezzo-soprano Marion Newman makes her return to Southam Hall to perform selections from Outi Tarkiainen’s The Earth, Spring’s Daughter, a song cycle for mezzo and orchestra based on Sami poetry. Outi Tarkiainen is a Finnish composer of “rare moral conviction and geographical attachment” (gramophone.co.uk).
Her captivating work, The Earth, Spring’s Daughter, is set in the language of the Sámi people, the reindeer-herding communities of northern Norway, Sweden, and Finland—and the last remaining Indigenous people in Europe. Like the Earth itself, “the music unfolds in layers and cycles, to be born again and again,” says Tarkiainen. The work hints at what the Earth might have to tell us if we will listen
The performance of the Epilogue is accompanied by the showing of the film Kasvojen vaihdos (Change of Faces) by filmmaker and visual artist Elina Oikari. Inspired by Sámi poetry, the video, which merges super 8 mm film and archive material, can be seen as a kinetic meditation about Arctic lifeways and landscapes.

The Eternal Earth, by JUNO Award-winning composer and great friend of the NAC Orchestra Alexina Louie, closes the program. Commissioned by Sir Andrew Davis for the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, The Eternal Earth embraces the pure sounds of nature, from the lion’s roar to the seagull’s cry. 

 

* (Supported by: Tiina and Antti Herlin Foundation & The Arts Promotion Centre Finland)

This concert is presented as part of the NAC Orchestra’s SPHERE Festival which will take place on September 22-25, 2022

video: The Four Seasons Recomposed - Max Richter
The Four Seasons Recomposed - Max Richter
Marion Newman
Mari Samuelsen
Menu

Marion Newman

The Eternal Earth

Festival SPHÈRE - L’OCNA en direct

2022-09-22 20:00 2022-09-22 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : The Eternal Earth

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30521

Événement en personne

L’Orchestre du CNA rend hommage à la Terre et à la persistance de la vie envers et contre tout en produisant les œuvres de deux compositrices et d’un compositeur très différents. Les Quatre saisons recomposées par le Germano-Britannique Max Richter nous entraînent dans l’urgence passionnée de la nature, dans ses mystères et ses joies et dans la délicate persistance des saisons sur notre...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 22 septembre 2022
20 h HAE
Cet événement est passé
Marion Newman
Mari Samuelsen
Musique Musique classique Festival
«Dans cette œuvre remarquable, Vivaldi parle et Max Richter lui répond avec un amour féroce pour la vie sur Terre, résiliente mais de plus en plus précaire»
  • OUTI TARKIAINEN selections from The Earth, Spring’s Daughter
  • MAX RICHTER Les Quatre saisons recomposées
  • Alexina Louie The Eternal Earth
  • Événement en personne

L’Orchestre du CNA rend hommage à la Terre et à la persistance de la vie envers et contre tout en produisant les œuvres de deux compositrices et d’un compositeur très différents.

Les Quatre saisons recomposées par le Germano-Britannique Max Richter nous entraînent dans l’urgence passionnée de la nature, dans ses mystères et ses joies et dans la délicate persistance des saisons sur notre planète. Dans cette œuvre remarquable, Vivaldi parle et Max Richter lui répond avec un amour féroce pour la vie sur Terre, résiliente mais de plus en plus précaire. Fougueuse porte-étendard des œuvres modernes, la violoniste norvégienne Mari Samuelsen se produit pour la première fois au Canada.

À l’occasion du concert d’ouverture du festival, la mezzo-soprano autochtone Marion Newman revient à la Salle Southam pour interpréter des sélections de The Earth, Spring’s Daughter, un cycle de mélodies de Outi Tarkiainen pour mezzo et orchestre inspiré de la poésie samie. Outi Tarkiainen est une compositrice finlandaise aux « convictions morales et à l’attachement géographique rares » (gramophone.co.uk).
Son œuvre captivante, The Earth, Spring’s Daughter, est chantée dans la langue parlée par le peuple sami, le dernier peuple autochtone en Europe, dont les communautés élèvent des rennes dans le nord de la Norvège, de la Suède et de la Finlande. Comme la Terre elle-même, « la musique se déploie par couches et par cycles et se renouvelle encore et encore », explique la compositrice. Son œuvre est un clin d’œil à ce que la Terre aurait à nous dire si nous l’écoutions.
​Également au programme : Change of Faces, un court métrage expérimental sur film 8 mm d'Elina Oikari, inspiré de la poésie sami, qui peut être vu comme une forme de méditation cinétique sur les paysages de l'Arctique.*

C’est The Eternal Earth qui clôture le programme, une œuvre d’Alexina Louie, compositrice primée aux JUNO et grande amie de l’Orchestre du CNA. Commandée par Sir Andrew Davis de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, The Eternal Earth s’inspire des sons bruts de la nature, du rugissement du lion au cri de la mouette.

*(Soutenu par : la Fondation Tiina et Antti Herlin et le Centre de promotion des arts de Finlande)

Ce concert est présenté dans le cadre du Festival SPHERE de l’Orchestre du CNA, qui aura lieu du 22 au 25 septembre 2022.

video: Les Quatre Saisons Recomposées - Max Richter
Les Quatre Saisons Recomposées - Max Richter
Marion Newman
Mari Samuelsen
Menu