The Eternal Earth

SPHERE Festival - NACO Live

2022-09-22 20:00 2022-09-22 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: The Eternal Earth

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30521

In-person event

The NAC Orchestra honours the Earth and the perseverance of life against increasingly difficult odds by performing works from three very different composers.   To hear German-British composer Max Richter’s Recomposed Four Seasons is to be swept up in the passionate urgency of nature, its mysteries and joys and the delicate persistence of the seasons on our planet. In this remarkable work, Vivaldi has spoken and Richter has answered with ferocious love for the...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, September 22, 2022
8 PM EDT

Program

Last updated: September 20, 2022

OUTI TARKIAINEN Selections from The Earth, Spring’s Daughter
MAX RICHTER The New Four Seasons (Vivaldi Recomposed)
ALEXINA LOUIE The Eternal Earth

Program Notes

Tonight’s NACO concert, the first of the SPHERE Festival, is a musical exploration of the relationship between humans and the place we call home: Earth. In each their own way, the works on this program celebrates the miraculous power of our planet to bring forth and sustain life. They also consider the natural cycles that govern life on Earth—birth, development, transformation, death, renewal—the “seasons” of life, as well as the seasons in nature. In doing so, these pieces bring to our attention our impact—individual and collective—on the progress of those cycles, and how they change because of it.

The concert opens and closes with pieces by Finnish composer Outi Tarkiainen and Canadian composer Alexina Louie. Both draw inspiration from creation myths and cyclic perspectives on life, while also evoking the longing and anger over lost ways of life and animal species through colonization and environmental change. At the centre, we’ll hear Max Richter’s “recomposed” Four Seasons, in which the British composer “recycles”, if you will, Antonio Vivaldi’s four violin concertos from the early 18th century, to create a new hybrid work.

Repertoire

OUTI TARKIAINEN

selections from The Earth, Spring’s Daughter

I. Prologa / Prologue – No. 1: Eanan, giđa nieida / The Earth, spring’s daughter 
II. No. 7: Mun sárggun dáid govaid / I inscribe these images – Epiloga / Epilogue

Outi Tarkiainen’s song cycle The Earth, Spring’s Daughter for mezzo soprano and orchestra was composed in 2014–2015. A joint commission by the three northernmost professional orchestras in Europe—Lapland Chamber Orchestra, Norbotten Chamber Orchestra, and the Arctic Philharmonic—it’s the first song cycle to use texts by Sámi poets. Tonight, you’ll hear the first and the seventh (final) songs, framed by the prologue and epilogue that bookend the cycle.

Tarkiainen describes the thematic concept of her work as follows:

Eanan, giđa nieida (in English, The Earth, Spring’s Daughter) is a mythical epos illustrating the core experiences of the North from the history to our times. The text is a vast collage of Sámi poetry—the Sámi people being the only indigenous people in the Europe. The strong mutual bond between the generations and the Sámi culture’s cyclical perception of time are present also in the structure of the work: the music unfolds in layers and cycles, to be born again and again.

As Juha Torvinen has shown in his in-depth analysis, the piece has a cyclic structure that links the Prologue and Epilogue as a frame, then the songs in related pairs working inward—first and seventh, second and sixth, etc. The Prologue opens the cycle, as Tarkiainen outlines, “in the metaphorical realm of the gods in which Spring gives birth to a daughter, Earth. The earth is wide open and deserted, and eternal time ascends and descends.” Against a backdrop of vibraphone and crotales over sustained notes in the strings, the text is spoken. Following the line “suddenly they both squatted,” the English horn intones a motif representing Earth, after which the text declares her born. Later, solo violin plays an upward reaching motif—this is Longing, which, accompanied by the Earth motif, is a musical evocation of a longing for the Earth itself.

Out of the Prologue, the first song emerges, in which it “presents the work’s main themes and textures, and they slowly orbit, each on its own path, forever following one another—just as in Sámi culture’s cyclical perception of time.” Alongside the Longing and Earth motifs, a third one, Eternity, appears three times played by vibraphone and celesta, thus underscoring the final lines of the text.

From here, we cut to the final song, which, Tarkiainen says, “finally draws a picture that has and is everything—and from which there is no return. The hauntingly beautiful song can nevertheless still be heard as if from behind a curtain….” It begins introspectively, then picks up pace and intensity, reaching a thunderous climax on “and I resound”. The composer describes the moment like the collapse of reality into a wormhole, in which the music becomes a mass of sound and noise. It then recedes into silence on whispered repetitions of the words “in boađe”.

Rain-stick sounds lead into the Epilogue, which brings back the Prologue’s text but this time, it’s sung, not spoken, and is extended. In the music, the foundation of sustained tones returns; however, the Earth and Longing motifs are absent, and have been replaced by the melody of Suuvivirsi, a Finnish hymn praising spring and summer. It’s initially embedded in the accompaniment to the vocal line, first played by solo cello, then solo violin, underlining the text about Spring giving birth to Earth, then covering it with snow. Torvinen notes that while the hymn’s inclusion points to the importance of intergenerational knowledge (the text now includes a grandmother), it also stands in tension to it possibly representing Christianity’s colonization of the Sámi peoples. At the close, the celesta intones the hymn’s opening phrase—a conclusion that is both ambivalent and provocative in meaning.

The performance of the Epilogue is accompanied by the showing of the film Kasvojen vaihdos (Change of Faces) by filmmaker and visual artist Elina Oikari. Inspired by Sámi poetry, the video, which merges super 8 mm film and archive material, can be seen as a kinetic meditation about Arctic lifeways and landscapes.

Texts and Translations

Texts by Rauni Maaga Lukari and Nils-Aslak Valkeapää.
English translations by Kaija Anttonen, Ralph Salisbury, and Harald Gaski.

Eanan, giđa nieida

Prologa

Soai vácciiga buohtalaga
eadni ja nieida
vuostebiggii mii sojahalai sieđggaid
loktii muohttaga ja sudno helmmiid
Guoldu sázai ratti
Ii lean šat velojaš jurddašit geasi ja cizážiid
Fáhkkestaga goappašagat nolliheaigga
ja riegádahtiiga rabasnjálmmat nieidamánáid

I

Eanan, giđa nieida
  loktana, luoitá
       jápma, riegáda
oavddolaš eallima máihli

Ja dát luotkko gođus gos biegga johtá
áiggiid gihppu, loažža giesastuvvon oktii

iige áigi leat, eai geažit, eai
ja áigi lea, agálaččat, álo, lea

VII

mun sárggun dáid govaid
geađgái gárrái
                                       áigái
iežan govat
mu eará hámit

ja soapmásin jáhkán
ahte mun dat lean
                                       dáid govaid
ja mus nu olu hámit

ja dál, dál de iežan sárggun
                                  ollisin, easka
                                                         čavddisin
ja mun čuojan go dat čuojaha mu
               ja jávkkan bosastaga mielde
                        áiggi ábii'e

ja dan govas
in boađe ruoktot
šahten

Epiloga

Soai vácciiga buohtalaga
eadni ja nieida
vuostebiggii mii sojahalai sieđggaid
loktii muohttaga ja sudno helmmiid
Guoldu sázai ratti
Ii lean šat velojaš jurddašit geasi ja cizážiid
Fáhkkestaga goappašagat nolliheaigga
ja riegádahtiiga rabasnjálmmat nieidamánáid
maid soai govččaigga muohttagiin
vai njuoraguovttos bivašeaigga
Ieža soai velledeigga báldii
ja lávlugođiiga geassesálmma
Go soai leaigga vuosttas vearssa gergehan
iđii miehtebiekkas eatni eadni
velledii sutno njuoratguokta gaskii
ja čuovvolii sálmma

The Earth, Spring’s Daughter

Prologue

They walked side by side,
mother and daughter,
against a wind that made junipers bend
and the snow and their hemlines rise
wind lashing their chests
One could no longer think of summer and birds
Suddenly they both squatted
and gave birth to gaping baby girls

I

The Earth, spring's daughter
   rises, falls
        is born, dies
a wonder life's sap

And this airy fabric in which the wind wends,
a bundle of times, loosely wound together

and time does not exist, no end, none
and time is, eternal, always, is

VII

I inscribe these images
on the stone on the drum
                                   in time
my images
my other shapes

and sometimes I believe
that this is me
                        these images
and so many shapes of me

and now, now I draw myself
                                   whole, finally
                                                         complete
and I resound when it plays within me
and I disappear with the gusts of wind
to the sea of time

and from this image
I will not return
again

Epilogue

They walked side by side,
mother and daughter,
against a wind that made junipers bend
and the snow and their hemlines rise
wind lashing their chests
One could no longer think of summer and birds
Suddenly they both squatted
and gave birth to gaping baby girls
whom they covered with snow
so they would not freeze
Then they lay down by the newborns
and began a summer hymn
As they were through with the first verse
the mother's mother appeared from upwind
she lay down between the babies
and joined the singing

 

Film: Kasvojen vaihdos (Change of Faces)

Written & directed by: Elina Oikari
Cinematographer & film editor: Elina Oikari
Color grading: Sarrah Wilkman, Grade One Oy
Performers: Edith Båhl, Inka-Maaria
Supported by: Tiina and Antti Herlin Foundation & The Arts Promotion Centre Finland

MAX RICHTER

Recomposed Four Seasons

I. Spring 0
II. Spring 1
III. Spring 2 –
IV. Spring 3
V. Summer 1 –
VI. Summer 2
VII. Summer 3
VIII. Autumn 1
IX. Autumn 2
X. Autumn 3
XI. Winter 1
XII. Winter 2
XIII. Winter 3

Max Richter created The New Four Seasons in 2012 for Deutsche Grammophon’s Recomposed recording series, for which contemporary artists are invited to reinterpret classical works. Recorded by Daniel Hope and the Konzerthaus Kammerorchester in Berlin, it became hugely successful, topping classical charts; it has also appeared on the soundtracks of TV shows and films, even fashion shows. A new re-recording with period instruments featuring soloist Elena Urioste and musicians of the Chineke Orchestra was released earlier this year.

In a recent article for The Guardian (June 10, 2022), Richter mentioned that while he fell in love with Vivaldi’s Four Seasons when he listened to it as a child, he later hated it for its ubiquitous presence, and ceased to hear it as music. “You hear it in the supermarket regularly, you’re confronted with it in adverts or hear it as muzak when on hold. Slowly you begin to blank it out.” He eventually felt he needed “to resolve the love/hate relationship I had with the work—call it an exorcism—and reclaim Vivaldi’s original as a musical object rather than a sonic irritant. The best way to do that, I decided, would be to take a voyage through Vivaldi’s landscape and to make new discoveries there.”

In his process of re-composition, Richter observed that “As I looked into [Vivaldi’s] score I saw there was a natural meeting point between his Baroque language and my own. Vivaldi’s work is very pattern-based, and he generates his effects by juxtaposing contrasting kinds of material. That’s very much the way post-minimal music and electronic dance music operates, and I found plenty of touch points that enabled me to dive into his material in a natural, sculptural, and architectural way.” The New Four Seasons opens with, in Richter’s words, "a dubby cloud which I’ve called ‘Spring 0’. It functions as a sort of prelude, setting up an electronic, ambient space for the first ‘Spring’ movement to step into.” After that, his score employs only a quarter of Vivaldi’s material, which he manipulates with techniques such as looping, overdubbing, and subtle metrical and rhythmic shifts, often layering them on to slow-moving ostinato backdrops. Some movements are also inscribed with references to contemporary genres and styles of music. “Summer 1” is "heavy music for the orchestra,” he says. “It’s relentless pulsed music, which is a quality that contemporary dance music has; and perhaps I was also thinking about John Bonham’s [of Led Zeppelin] drumming.” For “Autumn 2”, he feels the harpsichord part should be played “very regularly, rather like a ticking clock […] because that style connects to various pop records from the 1970s where the harpsichord or Clavinet was featured, including various Beach Boys albums and the Beatles’ Abbey Road.”

The overall effect of Richter’s new hybrid work is that aspects of the seasons described in the sonnets (believed to be written by Vivaldi) and evoked in the original concertos are intensified, becoming more sonically vivid and expressive. For example, there’s a certain dance-vibe joy to “Spring 1” and “Spring 3”, and a fresh edge to the furious storm in “Summer 3”. The slow movements, like “Summer 2” and “Autumn 2” are more elegiac in mood, full of longing, whereas “Winter 2” acquires a strikingly stark beauty reinterpreted as a lone violin wandering freely in a frozen landscape of sustained strings.

Alexina Louie

The Eternal Earth

I. Summoning the Earth Spirit
II. To the Ends of the Earth
III. The Radiant Universe

The Eternal Earth is “at once my plea for the continuation of life on earth and a celebration of the joys of the universe,” Alexina Louie says of her orchestral piece from 1986. Commissioned by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, it’s a virtuosic work for large ensemble, which exhibits her distinctive blend of Eastern and Western musical influences. Of the former, this includes the expansion of the orchestra’s instrumentation to incorporate Chinese tom toms, a bender gong, a large button gong, and tam tams. Indeed, the work requires a massive assemblage of percussion instruments as well as some extended playing techniques to evoke the mystical power of the Earth and the universe.

From the start, we feel the full power of this huge orchestra, in a movement that Louie has said should sound “teeth-shattering”. As she describes it:

Vigorous fanfare-like motifs and thunderous percussion effects including lion’s roar, gongs, tam-tams, and Chinese toms-toms characterize the first movement, which calls forth the dragon spirit from the bowels of the earth. It is this spirit that Kakuzō Okakura in his book The Awakening of Japan calls “the spirit of change, therefore of life itself.”

The atmospheric second movement, “To the Ends of the Earth”, “is a tranquil, lyrical cradle song for our world with tender solo passages for cello, piccolo, harp, and celeste,” Louie explains. “It is meant as a song of solace for the distant, disappearing corners of the world and with them, the ways of life and species of nature that are being lost to us forever. Included in this movement are some exotic instrumental effects: the rubbing of water-filled crystal wine glasses, a shimmering glissando effect on the timpani, and a particular “seagull” glissando performed by the cello section at the end of the movement.”

The final movement is “an affirmation of life and a joyful celebration of the oneness of heaven and earth.” After a recall of the first movement’s opening fanfare motif, “The Radiant Universe” becomes a lively, energetic dance, featuring the various instrumental groups (strings, woodwinds, brass) alternately moving together through rapidly shifting harmonies. To close, a final ascent through the strings and woodwinds culminates with ecstatic full-orchestra chords that resolve thrillingly to a resounding consonance.

 

Program notes by Hannah Chan-Hartley, PhD

NAC Orchestra

First Violins
Yosuke Kawasaki (concertmaster)
Jessica Linnebach (associate concertmaster)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistant concertmaster)
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Marjolaine Lambert
Manuela Milani
Emily Westell
*Zhengdong Liang
*Erica Miller
*Martine Dubé
*Heather Schnarr
*Oleg Chelpanov
*John Corban

Second violins
Mintje van Lier (principal)
Winston Webber (assistant principal)
Frédéric Moisan
Carissa Klopoushak
Mark Friedman
Karoly Sziladi
Leah Roseman
**Edvard Skerjanc
*Emily Kruspe
*Renée London
*Andréa Armijo Fortin
*Marc Djokic

Violas
Jethro Marks (principal / solo)
David Goldblatt (assistant principal)
David Marks (associate principal)
Paul Casey
David Thies-Thompson
*Christoph Chung
*Alexander Moroz

Cellos
Rachel Mercer (principal)
Julia MacLaine (assistant principal)
Marc-André Riberdy
Timothy McCoy
Leah Wyber
*Desiree Abbey
*Karen Kang

Double basses
*Joel Quarrington (guest principal)
**Hilda Cowie
Max Cardilli
Vincent Gendron
Marjolaine Fournier
*Travis Harrison

Flutes
Joanna G'froerer (principal)
Stephanie Morin
*Kaili Maimets

Oboes
Charles Hamann (principal)
Anna Petersen
*Melissa Scott

English Horn
Anna Petersen

Clarinets
Kimball Sykes (principal)
Sean Rice
*Juan Olivares

Bassoons

Darren Hicks (principal)
Vincent Parizeau
*Ben Glossop

Horns
Lawrence Vine (principal)
Julie Fauteux (associate principal)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron

Trumpets
Karen Donnelly (principal)
Steven van Gulik
*Paul Jeffrey

Trombones
**Donald Renshaw (principal)
*Steve Dyer (guest principal)
Colin Traquair

Bass Trombone
*Zachary Bond

Tubas
Chris Lee (principal)

Timpani
*Jonathan Rance

Percussion
Jonathan Wade
*Dan Morphy
*Louis Pino
*Tim Francom

Harp
*Angela Schwarzkopf

Harpsichord
* Thomas Annand

Piano
* Olga Gross

Principal Librarian
Nancy Elbeck

Assistant Librarian
Corey Rempel

Personnel Manager
Meiko Lydall

Assistant Personnel Manager
Laurie Shannon
 

*Additional musicians
**On Leave/En congé

Menu

The Eternal Earth

Festival SPHÈRE - L’OCNA en direct

2022-09-22 20:00 2022-09-22 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : The Eternal Earth

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30521

Événement en personne

L’Orchestre du CNA rend hommage à la Terre et à la persistance de la vie envers et contre tout en produisant les œuvres de deux compositrices et d’un compositeur très différents. Les Quatre saisons recomposées par le Germano-Britannique Max Richter nous entraînent dans l’urgence passionnée de la nature, dans ses mystères et ses joies et dans la délicate persistance des saisons sur notre...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 22 septembre 2022
20 h HAE

Programme

Dernière mise à jour: 20 septembre 2022

OUTI TARKIAINEN Extraits de La Terre, fille du printemps
MAX RICHTER The New Four Seasons
ALEXINA LOUIE The Eternal Earth

Notes de programme

Le concert de l’OCNA de ce soir, qui inaugure le festival SPHÈRE, est une exploration musicale de la relation entre les humains et notre domicile commun : la Terre. Chacune à sa façon, les œuvres au programme célèbrent le pouvoir miraculeux de notre planète à faire naître et à maintenir la vie. Elles se penchent aussi sur les cycles naturels qui régissent la vie sur Terre – naissance, croissance, transformation, mort, renouveau – les « saisons » de la vie autant que celles de la nature. Ainsi, ces pièces attirent notre attention sur notre impact – individuel et collectif – sur le déroulement de ces cycles, et sur la façon dont ils changent en conséquence de nos actes.

Le concert s’ouvre et se conclut sur des pièces de la compositrice finlandaise Outi Tarkiainen et de la compositrice canadienne Alexina Louie, respectivement. Toutes deux s’inspirent des mythes de la création et des perspectives cycliques de la vie, tout en évoquant la nostalgie et la colère liées à la perte de modes de vie et d’espèces animales, imputable à la colonisation et aux changements environnementaux. Entre les deux, on entendra la « recomposition » par Max Richter des Quatre saisons d’Antonio Vivaldi, dans laquelle le compositeur britannique « recycle », en quelque sorte, la série de quatre concertos pour violon créée au début du XVIIIe siècle, pour en tirer une nouvelle œuvre hybride.

Répertoire

OUTI TARKIAINEN

selections from The Earth, Spring’s Daughter

I. Prologa / Prologue – no 1: Eanan, giđa nieida / La Terre, fille du printemp
II. no 7 : Mun sárggun dáid govaid / J’inscris ces images – Epiloga / Épilogue

Le cycle de chansons orchestrales La Terre, fille du printemps d’Outi Tarkiainen, pour mezzo-soprano et orchestre, a été composé en 2014-2015. Fruit d’une commande conjointe des trois orchestres professionnels les plus septentrionaux d’Europe – l’Orchestre de chambre de Laponie, l’Orchestre de chambre de Norbotten et l’Orchestre philharmonique de l’Arctique – ce cycle de chansons est le premier à utiliser des textes de poètes samis. Ce soir, on entendra la première et la septième (et dernière) chanson, encadrées par le prologue et l’épilogue qui forment les deux extrémités du cycle.

Outi Tarkiainen décrit comme suit le concept thématique de son œuvre :

Eanan, giđa nieida (en français, La Terre, fille du printemps) est une épopée mythique illustrant les expériences qui sont au cœur de la vie dans le Nord, d’hier à aujourd’hui. Le texte est un vaste collage de poésie samie – les Samis constituant le seul peuple autochtone d’Europe. Le puissant lien mutuel entre les générations et la perception cyclique du temps de la culture samie sont également présents dans la structure de l’œuvre : la musique se déploie par couches et par cycles, pour renaître sans cesse.

Comme l’a montré Juha Torvinen dans son analyse approfondie, la pièce suit une structure cyclique encadrée par le Prologue et l’Épilogue qui en constituent le liant, tandis que les chansons se déclinent par paires apparentées en allant vers l’intérieur – première et septième, deuxième et sixième, etc. Le Prologue ouvre le cycle, comme le souligne la compositrice, « dans le royaume métaphorique des dieux où le Printemps donne naissance à une fille, la Terre. La terre est grande ouverte et déserte, et le temps éternel monte et descend. » Sur un fond de vibraphone et de crotales avec des notes soutenues dans les cordes, le texte est parlé. Après la ligne « soudain elles se sont accroupies toutes deux », le cor anglais entonne un motif représentant la Terre, après quoi le texte proclame qu’elle est née. Plus tard, le violon solo joue un motif ascendant : c’est l’Espérance qui, accompagnée du motif de la Terre, devient une évocation musicale de l’espérance en la Terre elle-même.

Du Prologue émerge la première chanson, qui « présente les principaux thèmes et textures de l’œuvre, [lesquels] gravitent lentement, suivant leur propre chemin et se succédant éternellement – à l’image de la perception cyclique du temps dans la culture samie. » En plus des motifs de l’Espérance et de la Terre, un troisième, celui de l’Éternité, apparaît trois fois, joué par le vibraphone et le célesta, mettant en évidence les dernières lignes du texte.

De là, on passe à la chanson finale qui, selon la compositrice, « dessine enfin une image qui a tout et qui est tout – et dont on ne peut revenir. Cette chanson d’une beauté envoûtante peut néanmoins être entendue comme derrière un rideau... » Elle commence de manière introspective, puis gagne en rythme et en intensité pour atteindre un point culminant sur « et je résonne ». Mme Tarkiainen décrit ce passage comme l’effondrement du réel dans un vortex, dans lequel la musique devient une masse indistincte de sons et de bruits. Elle se retire ensuite dans le silence sur le murmure répété des mots « in boađe ».

Des sons de bâtons de pluie mènent à l’épilogue, qui reprend le texte du prologue, mais cette fois-ci chanté et non parlé, et allongé. Dans la musique, la base de notes soutenues revient, mais les motifs de la Terre et de l’Espérance disparaissent au profit de la mélodie de Suuvivirsi, un hymne finlandais qui rend hommage au printemps et à l’été. Cette mélodie est initialement intégrée à l’accompagnement de la ligne vocale, d’abord jouée par le violoncelle solo, puis par le violon solo, mettant en relief le texte sur le printemps qui donne naissance à la Terre, avant de la recouvrir de neige. Juha Torvinen fait remarquer que si l’inclusion de l’hymne souligne l’importance du savoir intergénérationnel (le texte inclut maintenant une grand-mère), il en émane aussi une tension qui pourrait évoquer la colonisation des Samis par la chrétienté. À la fin, le célesta entonne la phrase d’ouverture de l’hymne – une conclusion dont le sens est à la fois ambivalent et provocateur.

Textes et traductions

Textes de Rauni Maaga Lukari et Nils-Aslak Valkeapää.
Adaptations françaises de Pascale Cormier, d’après les traductions anglaises de Kaija Anttonen, Ralph Salisbury et Harald Gaski

Eanan, giđa nieida

 

Prologa

Soai vácciiga buohtalaga
eadni ja nieida
vuostebiggii mii sojahalai sieđggaid
loktii muohttaga ja sudno helmmiid
Guoldu sázai ratti
Ii lean šat velojaš jurddašit geasi ja cizážiid
Fáhkkestaga goappašagat nolliheaigga
ja riegádahtiiga rabasnjálmmat nieidamánáid

I

Eanan, giđa nieida
  loktana, luoitá
       jápma, riegáda
oavddolaš eallima máihli

Ja dát luotkko gođus gos biegga johtá
áiggiid gihppu, loažža giesastuvvon oktii

iige áigi leat, eai geažit, eai
ja áigi lea, agálaččat, álo, lea

VII

mun sárggun dáid govaid
geađgái gárrái
                                       áigái
iežan govat
mu eará hámit

ja soapmásin jáhkán
ahte mun dat lean
                                       dáid govaid
ja mus nu olu hámit

ja dál, dál de iežan sárggun
                                  ollisin, easka
                                                         čavddisin
ja mun čuojan go dat čuojaha mu
               ja jávkkan bosastaga mielde
                        áiggi ábii’e

ja dan govas
in boađe ruoktot
šahten

Epiloga

Soai vácciiga buohtalaga
eadni ja nieida
vuostebiggii mii sojahalai sieđggaid
loktii muohttaga ja sudno helmmiid
Guoldu sázai ratti
Ii lean šat velojaš jurddašit geasi ja cizážiid Fáhkkestaga goappašagat nolliheaigga
ja riegádahtiiga rabasnjálmmat nieidamánáid
maid soai govččaigga muohttagiin
vai njuoraguovttos bivašeaigga
Ieža soai velledeigga báldii
ja lávlugođiiga geassesálmma
Go soai leaigga vuosttas vearssa gergehan
iđii miehtebiekkas eatni eadni
velledii sutno njuoratguokta gaskii
ja čuovvolii sálmma

La Terre, fille du printemps

Prologue

Elles ont marché côte à côte,
mère et fille,
contre un vent qui faisait ployer les genévriers
et soulevait la neige et leurs ourlets
un vent qui leur fouettait la poitrine
on ne songeait plus à l’été ni aux oiseaux
soudain elles se sont accroupies toutes deux
et ont donné naissance à des petites filles qui criaient

I

La Terre, fille du printemps
   se lève, tombe
        naît, meurt
sève merveilleuse de la vie

Et ce tissu léger que le vent traverse,
un ballot de temps, tenu par des nœuds lâches

et le temps n’existe pas, n’a pas de fin, rien
et le temps est, éternel, toujours, existe

VII

J’inscris ces images
sur la pierre du tambour
                                   à temps
mes images
mes autres formes

et parfois je crois
que c’est moi
                        ces images
et tant de formes que je prends

et maintenant, maintenant je me dessine
                                   entièrement, enfin
                                                         achevée et
je résonne lorsque ça joue en moi
et je disparais avec le vent en rafales
sur la mer du temps

et de cette image
je ne reviendrai
plus

Épilogue

Elles ont marché côte à côte,
mère et fille,
contre un vent qui faisait ployer les genévriers
et soulevait la neige et leurs ourlets
un vent qui leur fouettait la poitrine
on ne songeait plus à l’été ni aux oiseaux
soudain elles se sont accroupies toutes deux
et ont donné naissance à des petites filles qui criaient
elles les ont couvertes de neige
pour qu’elles ne gèlent pas
Puis se sont allongées près des nouveau-nées
et ont entonné un hymne à l’été
Tandis qu’elles achevaient le premier couplet
la mère de la mère est apparue sous le vent
elle s’est allongée entre les bébés
et s’est jointe au chant

 

MAX RICHTER

Les Quatre saisons recomposées

I. Spring (« Printemps ») 0
II. Spring (« Printemps ») 1
III. Spring (« Printemps ») 2 –
IV. Spring (« Printemps ») 3
V. Summer (« Été ») 1 –
VI. Summer (« Été ») 2
VII. Summer (« Été ») 3
VIII. Autumn (« Automne ») 1
IX. Autumn (« Automne ») 2
X. Autumn (« Automne ») 3
XI. Winter (« Hiver ») 1
XII. Winter (« Hiver ») 2
XIII. Winter (« Hiver ») 3

Max Richter a créé The New Four Seasons en 2012 pour la série d’enregistrements Recomposed de Deutsche Grammophon, qui propose une réinterprétation des œuvres du répertoire classique par des artistes d’aujourd’hui. Enregistrée par Daniel Hope et le Konzerthaus Kammerorchester de Berlin, l’œuvre a connu un énorme succès, se classant en tête des palmarès classiques; elle est aussi apparue sur les bandes originales d’émissions de télévision et de films, et même de défilés de mode. Un nouvel enregistrement sur instruments d’époque, avec la soliste Elena Urioste et les instrumentistes du Chineke! Orchestra, a été lancé au début de l’année.

Dans un récent article paru dans The Guardian (10 juin 2022), Max Richter révélait que, bien qu’il se soit entiché des Quatre Saisons de Vivaldi lorsqu’il les a découvertes dans son enfance, il s’est mis à les détester, plus tard, pour leur omniprésence, et a cessé de les entendre comme de la musique. « On entend ça régulièrement au supermarché, on y est confronté dans les publicités ou on nous l’inflige comme de la muzak quand on nous place en attente. Petit à petit, on commence à l’occulter. » Il a fini par ressentir le besoin de « résoudre la relation d’amour‑haine que j’avais avec cette œuvre – appelez cela un exorcisme – et récupérer l’original de Vivaldi comme un objet musical plutôt qu’un irritant sonore. La meilleure façon d’y parvenir, ai-je décidé, serait de parcourir le paysage de Vivaldi et d’y faire de nouvelles découvertes. »

Dans sa démarche de réécriture, M. Richter a eu cette prise de conscience : « En examinant la partition [de Vivaldi], j’ai constaté qu’il existait un point de rencontre naturel entre son langage baroque et le mien. L’œuvre de Vivaldi est très axée sur les motifs, et il génère ses effets en juxtaposant des matériaux contrastés. C’est très proche de la façon dont fonctionnent la musique post-minimaliste et la musique de danse électronique, et j’ai trouvé de nombreux points communs qui m’ont permis de me plonger dans son matériau de façon naturelle, sculpturale et architecturale. » The New Four Seasons s’ouvre, explique le compositeur, sur « un nuage de dub que j’ai appelé ‘Spring 0’. Il fonctionne comme une sorte de prélude, mettant en place un espace électronique et ambiant dans lequel le premier mouvement ‘Spring’ (printemps) va s’engager. » Par la suite, sa partition n’utilise qu’un quart du matériau de Vivaldi, qu’il manipule à l’aide de techniques telles que les boucles, l’enregistrement fractionné (overdubbing), et de subtils changements de mesure et de rythme, souvent superposés à des fonds d’ostinato lents. Certains mouvements sont également marqués par des références à des genres et styles de musique contemporains. « ’Summer 1’ est une musique lourde pour orchestre », dit-il. « C’est une musique entraînée par une pulsion constante, une qualité qu’on retrouve dans la musique de danse contemporaine; et il se peut que j’aie aussi pensé au jeu de batterie de John Bonham [de Led Zeppelin]. » Pour « Autumn 2 », il estime que la partie de clavecin doit être jouée « très régulièrement, un peu comme le tic-tac d’une horloge [...] parce que ce style est lié à divers disques pop des années 1970 qui intégraient le clavecin ou le Clavinet, dont différents albums des Beach Boys et Abbey Road des Beatles. »

L’effet global de la nouvelle œuvre hybride de Max Richter est l’intensification des aspects des saisons décrits dans les sonnets (qu’on croit écrits par Vivaldi lui-même) et évoqués dans les concertos originaux, qui deviennent plus vivants et expressifs sur le plan sonore. Par exemple, il émane une certaine joie de la danse de « Spring 1 » et « Spring 3 », et une pointe de fraîcheur dans la violente tempête de « Summer 3 ». Les mouvements lents, comme « Summer 2 » et « Autumn 2 », sont d’humeur plus élégiaque, pleins de nostalgie, tandis que « Winter 2 » acquiert une sombre beauté saisissante, réinterprétée comme un violon solitaire qui erre librement dans un paysage glacé de cordes soutenues.

Alexina Louie

The Eternal Earth

I. Summoning the Earth Spirit (« Invocation de l’Esprit de la Terre »)
II. To the Ends of the Earth (« Aux confins de la Terre »)
III. The Radiant Universe (« Le radieux univers »)

The Eternal Earth est « à la fois mon plaidoyer pour la poursuite de la vie sur terre et une célébration des joies de l’univers », dit Alexina Louie de sa pièce orchestrale de 1986. Fruit d’une commande de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, cette œuvre virtuose pour grand ensemble arbore un mélange distinctif d’influences musicales orientales et occidentales. Les premières ont amené la compositrice à élargir la composition de l’orchestre pour y intégrer des tambours chinois, un gong suspendu, un grand gong à bosse, et des tam-tams. En effet, l’œuvre exige un assemblage massif d’instruments de percussion ainsi que des techniques de jeu étendues pour évoquer le pouvoir mystique de la Terre et de l’univers.

D’emblée, on ressent toute la puissance de cet immense orchestre, dans un mouvement dont la compositrice affirme qu’il doit « faire claquer des dents ». Elle le décrit comme suit :

De vigoureux motifs de fanfare et des effets de percussion tonitruants, dont le tambour à cordes, les gongs, les tam-tams et les tambours chinois, caractérisent le premier mouvement, qui appelle l’esprit du dragon à jaillir des entrailles de la terre. C’est cet esprit que Kakuzō Okakura, dans son ouvrage Le Réveil du Japon, appelle « l’esprit du changement, donc de la vie elle-même ».

L’atmosphérique deuxième mouvement, « To the Ends of the Earth », « est une berceuse calme et lyrique pour notre monde, avec de tendres passages solos pour violoncelle, piccolo, harpe et célesta », explique la compositrice. « Il est conçu comme un chant de consolation pour les endroits du monde isolés et en voie de disparition, et pour les modes de vie et les espèces qui, avec eux, nous échappent à jamais. Ce mouvement comprend quelques effets instrumentaux exotiques : le frottement de verres à vin en cristal remplis d’eau, un effet de glissando chatoyant sur les timbales, et un glissando particulier de ‘mouette’ exécuté par la section des violoncelles à la fin du mouvement. »

Le mouvement final est « une affirmation de la vie et une célébration joyeuse de l’harmonie du ciel et de la terre. » Après un rappel du motif de fanfare qui ouvrait le premier mouvement, « The Radiant Universe » devient une danse animée, énergique, mettant en évidence les différents groupes instrumentaux (cordes, vents, cuivres) qui se déplacent ensemble, alternativement, à travers des harmonies qui changent rapidement. Pour terminer, une montée finale des cordes et des instruments à vent culmine avec des accords extatiques de tout l’orchestre, qui se résolvent de façon saisissante en un ultime accord retentissant.

 

Notes de programme par Hannah Chan-Hartley (traduit de l’anglais)

L'Orchestre du CNA

Premiers violons
Yosuke Kawasaki (violon solo)
Jessica Linnebach (violon solo associée)
Noémi Racine Gaudreault (assistante violon solo)
Jeremy Mastrangelo
Marjolaine Lambert
Manuela Milani
Emily Westell
*Zhengdong Liang
*Erica Miller
*Martine Dubé
*Heather Schnarr
*Oleg Chelpanov
*John Corban

Seconds violons
Mintje van Lier (solo)
Winston Webber (assistant solo)
Frédéric Moisan
Carissa Klopoushak
Mark Friedman
Karoly Sziladi
Leah Roseman
**Edvard Skerjanc
*Emily Kruspe
*Renée London
*Andréa Armijo Fortin
*Marc Djokic

Altos
Jethro Marks (solo)
David Goldblatt (assistant solo)
David Marks (solo associé)
Paul Casey
David Thies-Thompson
*Christoph Chung
*Alexander Moroz

Violoncelles
Rachel Mercer (solo)
Julia MacLaine (assistante solo)
Marc-André Riberdy
Timothy McCoy
Leah Wyber
*Desiree Abbey
*Karen Kang

Contrebasses
*Joel Quarrington (solo invité)
**Hilda Cowie
Max Cardilli
Vincent Gendron
Marjolaine Fournier
*Travis Harrison

Flûtes
Joanna G'froerer (solo)
Stephanie Morin
*Kaili Maimets

Hautbois
Charles Hamann (solo)
Anna Petersen
*Melissa Scott

Cor Anglais
Anna Petersen

Clarinettes
Kimball Sykes (solo)
Sean Rice
*Juan Olivares

Bassons
Darren Hicks (solo)
Vincent Parizeau
*Ben Glossop

Cors
Lawrence Vine (solo)
Julie Fauteux (solo associée)
Elizabeth Simpson
Lauren Anker
Louis-Pierre Bergeron

Trompettes
Karen Donnelly (principal / solo)
Steven van Gulik
*Paul Jeffrey

Trombones
**Donald Renshaw (solo)
*Steve Dyer (solo invité)
Colin Traquair

Bass Trombone
*Zachary Bond

Tubas
Chris Lee (principal / solo)

Timbales
*Jonathan Rance

Percussion
Jonathan Wade
*Dan Morphy
*Louis Pino
*Tim Francom

Harpe
*Angela Schwarzkopf

Harpsichord
* Thomas Annand

Piano
* Olga Gross


Musicothécaire principale
Nancy Elbeck

Musicothécaire adjoint
Corey Rempel

Chef du personnel
Meiko Lydall

Chef adjointe du personnel
Laurie Shannon

*Musiciens surnuméraires
**En congé

Menu