Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
Wolfgang Session

WolfGANG Sessions

NACO at the Fourth

2022-06-04 20:00 2022-06-04 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: WolfGANG Sessions

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30029

In-person event

NACO Spring Offer: Bring a friend to a NACO concert in the 2021-2022 season and receive 50% off both of your tickets – that’s two seats for the price of one! Offer valid until May 31 2022 and only for select NACO performances. Discount available on regular priced tickets only and cannot be combined with other offers. Wolfgang invites you to take another walk on the wild side with the next NACO at the Fourth: WolfGANG Sessions, featuring stellar NAC musicians in an intimate...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, June 4, 2022
8 PM EDT
Wolfgang Session
Music Classical music
  • ANDREW STANILAND Allusions for oboe and clarinet
  • SIMON BOURGET Élegie and Toccata from Trio pour cor, violoncelle et piano, Op. 7
  • Jacob ter Veldhuis The Garden of Love for oboe and soundtrack
  • Kelly-Marie Murphy Glacial Ablations*
  • REENA ESMAIL Tuttarana for brass quintet
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

World Premiere

NACO Spring Offer: Bring a friend to a NACO concert in the 2021-2022 season and receive 50% off both of your tickets – that’s two seats for the price of one! Offer valid until May 31 2022 and only for select NACO performances. Discount available on regular priced tickets only and cannot be combined with other offers.

Wolfgang invites you to take another walk on the wild side with the next NACO at the Fourth: WolfGANG Sessions, featuring stellar NAC musicians in an intimate evening of musical surprises! 

Allusions for oboe and clarinet by composer Andrew Staniland is a co-commission by Chamberfest, the NAC and Sean Rice (clarinet) and Anna Petersen (oboe). Andrew is a long-time friend of the NAC Orchestra, known for his many other works performed in WolfGANG Sessions over the years, and for his JUNO-nominated Phi, Caelestis from Encount3rs.

Hailing from Dieppe, New Brunswick, Simon Bourget has been composing since he was 11, inspired by Mahler, Shostakovich, and Prokofiev. His Élégie was commissioned by Ottawa Chamberfest, and from that work, Simon drew the inspiration to compose the rest of his Trio Op. 7. 

Jacob ter Veldhuis is a Dutch avant-garde classical composer, also known as Jacob TV. His The Garden of Love for oboe and soundtrack is a cheeky work based on a poem by William Blake. The “soundtrack” is a playful mix of spoken word, bird song, harpsichord, and more, with the oboe soloist dancing in, out, and on top of the mix. 

From Ottawa-based composer Kelly-Marie Murphy comes the world premiere of Glacial Ablations for oboe and piano, a new work written expressly for NACO’s principal oboe, Charles “Chip” Hamann. 

Indian-American composer Reena Esmail’s Tuttarana for brass quintet is the third movement of a larger work called “khirkiyaan.” Originally written for performance by a women’s choir, Tuttarana is like lightning in a bottle, flushed with energy and drive to the last chord.  

Wolfgang Session
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa
Wolfgang Session

Les sessions WolfGANG

L'OCNA à la Quatrième

2022-06-04 20:00 2022-06-04 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Les sessions WolfGANG

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30029

Événement en personne

Offre printanière de l'OCNA: Invitez un ami à un concert de la saison 2021-2022 de l’OCNA et recevez une réduction de 50 % sur vos deux billets – c'est deux places pour le prix d’une! Offre valable jusqu’au 31 mai 2022 – uniquement pour certains spectacles de la saison de l’OCNA. La réduction est valable uniquement sur les billets à prix courant et ne peut être combinée avec d'autres offres....

Read more

Quatrième Salle,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 4 juin 2022
20 h HAE
Wolfgang Session
Musique Musique classique
  • ANDREW STANILAND Allusions pour hautbois et clarinette
  • SIMON BOURGET Élégie et Toccata du Trio pour cor, violoncelle et piano, op. 7
  • Jacob ter Veldhuis The Garden of Love pour hautbois et trame sonore
  • Kelly-Marie Murphy Glacial Ablations*
  • REENA ESMAIL Tuttarana pour quintette de cuivres
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Première mondiale

Offre printanière de l'OCNA: Invitez un ami à un concert de la saison 2021-2022 de l’OCNA et recevez une réduction de 50 % sur vos deux billets – c'est deux places pour le prix d’une! Offre valable jusqu’au 31 mai 2022 – uniquement pour certains spectacles de la saison de l’OCNA. La réduction est valable uniquement sur les billets à prix courant et ne peut être combinée avec d'autres offres.

Wolfgang vous invite à faire ressortir votre côté aventureux pour le prochain événement de l’Orchestre du CNA à la Quatrième : les Sessions WolfGANG, qui mettent en vedette des musiciens exceptionnels du CNA le temps d’une soirée intime remplie de surprises musicales!

Commande conjointe du Chamberfest Ottawa, du CNA, le clarinettiste Sean Rice et la hautboïste Anna Petersen, Allusions pour hautbois et clarinette a été composée par Andrew Staniland. Andrew est un collaborateur de longue date de l’Orchestre du CNA : on le connaît pour ses nombreuses participations aux sessions WolfGANG au fil des ans, et pour sa pièce Phi, Caelestis (Rencontr3s), finaliste aux prix JUNO.

Originaire de Dieppe, au Nouveau-Brunswick, Simon Bourget est deuxième cor de l’Orchestre Métropolitain. Influencé par Mahler, Chostakovitch et Prokofiev, il compose depuis qu’il a 11 ans. Son Élégie, commandée par Chamberfest Ottawa, a été son point de départ pour la composition de son Trio, op. 7.

Jacob ter Veldhuis est un compositeur néerlandais de musique classique avant-gardiste aussi connu sous le nom de Jacob TV. Son œuvre comique The Garden of Love pour hautbois et trame sonore est inspirée d’un poème de William Blake. La « trame sonore » est un heureux mélange de paroles, de chant d’oiseaux, de clavecin et de percussions, entre autres éléments musicaux; le hautboïste soliste s’y intègre et suit le rythme de l’œuvre.

Découvrez en avant-première Glacial Ablations for oboe and piano, la nouvelle œuvre de la compositrice ottavienne Kelly-Marie Murphy, écrite spécialement pour Charles « Chip » Hammann, hautbois solo de l’Orchestre du CNA.

Tuttarana pour quintette de cuivres,de la compositrice indo-américaine Reena Esmail, est le troisième mouvement d’une œuvre intitulée « Khirkiyaan ». Composée à l’origine pour un chœur de femmes, Tuttarana est un véritable tour de force, qui déborde de fougue et d’énergie jusqu’au dernier accord.

Wolfgang Session
Menu