WolfGANG Sessions

NACO at the Fourth

2022-06-04 20:00 2022-06-04 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: WolfGANG Sessions

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30029

In-person event

NACO Spring Offer: Bring a friend to a NACO concert in the 2021-2022 season and receive 50% off both of your tickets – that’s two seats for the price of one! Offer valid for a limited time and only for select NACO performances. Discount available on regular priced tickets only and cannot be combined with other offers. Wolfgang invites you to take another walk on the wild side with the next NACO at the Fourth: WolfGANG Sessions, featuring stellar NAC musicians in an intimate...

Read more

Fourth Stage,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Saturday, June 4, 2022
8 PM EDT

Program

Last updated: June 2, 2022

REENA ESMAIL Tuttarana for brass quintet
ANDREW STANILAND Allusions for oboe and clarinet
KELLY-MARIE MURPHY Glacial Ablations for oboe and piano
JACOB TER VELDHUIS Garden of Love for oboe and soundtrack
SIMON BOURGET Élégie and Toccata from Trio pour cor, violoncelle et piano, Op. 7

Repertoire

REENA ESMAIL

Tuttarana for brass quintet

Indian American composer Reena Esmail (b. 1983) works between the worlds of Indian and Western classical music and brings communities together through the creation of equitable musical spaces. She is the Los Angeles Master Chorale’s 2020–2023 Swan Family Artist-in-Residence, and Seattle Symphony’s 2020–2021 Composer-in-Residence. Her work has been commissioned by ensembles including the Kronos Quartet, Imani Winds, Chicago Sinfonietta, and The Elora Festival, among many others, with new work for Seattle Symphony, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, and Santa Fe Pro Musica in upcoming seasons. Esmail holds degrees in composition from The Juilliard School and Yale School of Music; her doctoral thesis, entitled Finding Common Ground: Uniting Practices in Hindustani and Western Art Musicians, explores the methods and challenges of the collaborative process between Hindustani musicians and Western composers. Currently based in Los Angeles, Esmail is Artistic Director of Shastra, a non-profit organization that promotes cross-cultural music connecting music traditions of India and the West.

Tutturana was originally a piece for women’s choir, composed in 2014, which Esmail then arranged for brass quintet, by commission of The Brass Project, as the final movement of a three-movement suite entitled Khirkiyaan. As she explains:

The title of this movement is a conglomeration of two words: the Italian word “tutti”, means “all” or “everyone”, and the term “tarana” designates a specific Hindustani (North Indian) musical form, whose closest Western counterpart is the “scat” in jazz. Made up of rhythmic syllables, a tarana is the singer’s chance to display agility and dexterity. While the brass version of this piece doesn’t have the actual syllables that the vocal version does, it does aim to showcase the brilliant virtuosity of the ensemble.

Andrew Staniland

Allusions for oboe and clarinet

I. introit
II. as one
III. precision vs accuracy
IV. as one, higher
V. accuracy vs precision
VI as one, lower

Described by the National Arts Centre as a “new music visionary”, composer Andrew Staniland (b. 1977) has established himself as one of Canada’s most important and innovative musical voices. His music is performed and broadcast internationally and has been described by Alex Ross in The New Yorker magazine as “alternately beautiful and terrifying”. Among his many awards and honours, he has been recognized by election to the Inaugural Cohort (2014) of the College of New Scholars, Artists, and Scientists of the Royal Society of Canada. Staniland was an Affiliate Composer to the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (2006–2009) and the National Arts Centre Orchestra (2002–2004). He is currently on faculty at Memorial University in St. John’s, Newfoundland, where he founded MEARL (Memorial ElectroAcoustic Research Lab).

Co-commissioned by Ottawa Chamberfest, NACO, clarinetist Sean Rice, and oboist Anna Petersen, Allusions (2021) is a collection of virtuosic movements for clarinet and oboe. As Staniland further describes:

It is written for and dedicated to my friends Sean Rice and Anna Petersen.

Introit features Sean’s penchant for circular breathing and overblowing on the bass clarinet, with Anna’s oboe highlighting tones and harmonics that are both present and imagined in the rich bass clarinet tones. 

As One is an angular and acrobatic piece that creates the illusion of a single unbroken line shared by two people, exploring the similarities and differences in timbre between the two instruments. In the melody, there is a veiled nod (or allusion) to the main theme in Phi Caelestis, my ballet score for NACO’s Encounters project (Sean and Anna both played on the premiere and subsequent JUNO-nominated recording).

Precision vs Accuracy is about rhythmic and textural counterpoint. It features a mercurial chromatic bass clarinet line that cycles over nine notes, complemented by a counterpoint of a rich, dark English horn melody moving steadily.

As One, Higher revisits the unison material in As One, this time in the higher reaches of the instruments. The longer melodies from As One reappear like shards and fragments.

Accuracy vs Precision retells the story of the third movement, but with a reversed complexity. The bass clarinet’s chromatic cycle is transformed into dark tonal arpeggios, while the oboe traces a slower, precise melodic line.

As One, Lower features the English horn and bass clarinet together. Here, all the musical material is brought back and developed into a virtuosic finale.

Kelly-Marie Murphy

Glacial Ablations

I. Crystalline Elements
II. Ice-Sizzle
III. Runoff

With music described as “breathtaking” (Kitchener-Waterloo Record), “imaginative and expressive” (The National Post), “a pulse-pounding barrage on the senses” (The Globe and Mail), and “Bartok on steroids” (Birmingham News), Kelly-Marie Murphy’s voice is well known on the Canadian music scene. She has created a number of memorable works for some of Canada’s leading performers and ensembles, including the Toronto, Winnipeg, and Vancouver Symphony Orchestras, The Gryphon Trio, James Campbell, Shauna Rolston, the Cecilia and Afiara String Quartets, and Judy Loman. Born in 1964 on a NATO base in Sardegna, Italy, Murphy studied composition at the University of Calgary and later received a PhD in composition at the University of Leeds in England. She is now based in Ottawa, from where she pursues a career as a freelance composer.

Murphy composed Glacial Ablations in 2022 for NACO Principal Oboe Charles “Chip” Hamann, who tonight, with pianist Frédéric Lacroix, performs the work’s world premiere. She describes the piece as follows:

Chip Hamann invited me to create a new piece for oboe and piano for a recital and recording project featuring a number of Canadian composers. The theme for the project was nature in Canada—things to do with our climate or landscapes. As my subject-matter, I chose glaciers, specifically, how we are losing our glacial ice and permafrost due to climate change.

For my piece, I chose three terms from the field of glaciology and tried to create music that responds to them. The title Glacial Ablations refers to the loss of ice and snow in a glacial system. The first movement, Crystalline Elements, is slow, and features not only delicate structures in the piano, but also space and drama, in which translucence and opaqueness mingle with the human response.

The second movement, Ice-Sizzle, is very fast, powerful, and urgent. The term refers to the sound glaciers can make, which is like carbonated water.  The final movement, Runoff, has to do with evaporation and deterioration of the glacier. It begins with cadenza-like moments in the oboe and piano and features upward moving lines. The runoff intensifies as the forces of moving water grow in ferocity and urgency.

Jacob ter Veldhuis

The Garden of Love for oboe and soundtrack

Dutch “avant pop” composer JacobTV (Jacob ter Veldhuis, b. 1951) started as a rock musician and studied composition and electronic music at the Groningen Conservatoire. He received the Composition Prize of the Netherlands in 1980 and became a full-time composer, who soon made a name for himself with melodious compositions. He’s been called by the press “the Jeff Koons of new music” and an “outlaw” in new music, whose work “makes many a hip-hop artist look sedate” (The Wall Street Journal). His music is packed with slick sounds and quirky news samples—“I pepper my music with sugar,” he says; other stylistic hallmarks include bright timbres, energy and drive, as well as quiet intensity.

Composed in March 2002 for oboist Bart Schneemann, Garden of Love is one of JacobTV’s “boombox” works, created for live solo instruments with a grooving soundtrack based on speech melody. The text sampled on this piece’s audio track is William Blake’s poem “The Garden of Love” from his 1794 collection Songs of Experience. Other sounds on the track include oboes, harpsichord, birdsongs the composer took from recordings or collected himself from the Dutch countryside, and various electronic sounds.

Garden of Love unfolds in three large sections and follows the poem’s text (provided below). It opens with an introduction featuring the oboe with birdsong and harpsichord samples, which then leads into the narration of the opening line of the poem, amidst staccato articulation, ostinatos, and syncopations. After relaxing briefly on the word “Love”, the material is further developed. The second section, beginning with “A chapel was built”, is characterized by sudden changes of articulation (clipped versus smooth) and grooving mixed meters. On “…Love, that so many sweet flowers bore”, the piece transitions into the third section, initially resting on sustained chords and bird song, followed by a pulsating episode. It melts on “gowns” and the final line, “binding with briars, my joys and desires,” is given a sensuous, lush setting, after which the oboe skips off with birdsong to the work’s conclusion.

THE GARDEN OF LOVE

I went to the Garden of Love.
and saw what I never had seen:

A chapel was built in the midst,
where I used to play on the green.

And the gates of this chapel were shut,
and ‘Thou shalt not’ writ over the door;
So I turn’d to the Garden of Love,
that so many sweet flowers bore.

And I saw it was filled with graves,
and tomb-stones where flowers should be:
And priests in black gowns, were walking their rounds,
and binding with briars, my joys and desires.

SIMON BOURGET

Élegie and Toccata from Trio pour cor, violoncelle et piano, Op. 7

Hailing from Dieppe, New Brunswick, French horn player and composer Simon Bourget has been second horn with Orchestre Métropolitan (OM) since 2017 and principal horn with Orchestre symphonique de l’Estuaire (Rimouski, Québec) since 2016. His career has led him to perform with many notable Canadian ensembles, including Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Opéra de Montréal, Les Violons du Roy, Sinfonia Nova Scotia, the Katcor horn quartet, and the baroque orchestra Ensemble Caprice, among many others. He holds degrees from the University of Moncton, McGill University, and Université de Montréal. Bourget began composing from a young age; among his recently completed works include a horn concerto for his OM colleague Louis-Philippe Marsolais, and a Trio for horn, cello, and piano—two movements of which you’ll hear tonight. Élégie was originally commissioned by Ottawa Chamberfest and was premiered in August 2021. The complete Trio will have its first performance in October 2022.

Bourget shares the following description for his Trio:

The Trio for Horn, Cello and Piano, known as the “Pathétique,” uses musical language inspired by the composers of the first half of the 20th century. Polytonality, dissonance, syncopated and uneven rhythms, sudden mood changes—these are all writing techniques of which I am particularly fond, and that open up an aestheticism that I like to describe as Machiavellian. As a professional musician by training, I’m drawn to an instrumental writing style that is as idiomatic as it is effective. It’s important to me that each part can be played with natural ease.

The first movement, Élégie, whose variable form has a plaintive tone, is in sonata form. The lyrical theme of the exposition is introduced by the cello, then reintroduced by the horn in the recapitulation. The development is more mysterious and uncertain, with a lighter theme. The end of this movement hints at a rather dream-like motif that will be picked up in the trio’s third and fourth movements.

The second movement, Toccata, is a free-form movement characterized by brilliant figures, virtuosity and rhythmic energy. The theme, which recurs quite often, becomes more and more impetuous, with an increasingly powerful sound due mainly to the nature of the horn.

Menu

Les sessions WolfGANG

L'OCNA à la Quatrième

2022-06-04 20:00 2022-06-04 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Les sessions WolfGANG

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30029

Événement en personne

Offre printanière de l'OCNA: Invitez un ami à un concert de la saison 2021-2022 de l’OCNA et recevez une réduction de 50 % sur vos deux billets – c'est deux places pour le prix d’une! Offre valable pour une durée limitée et uniquement pour certains spectacles de la saison de l’OCNA. La réduction est valable uniquement sur les billets à prix courant et ne peut être combinée avec d'autres...

Read more

Quatrième Salle ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
samedi 4 juin 2022
20 h HAE

Programme

Dernière mise à jour: 2 juin 2022

REENA ESMAIL Tuttarana pour quintette de cuivres
ANDREW STANILAND Allusions pour hautbois et clarinette
KELLY-MARIE MURPHY Glacial Ablations pour hautbois et piano
JACOB TER VELDHUIS Garden of Love pour hautbois et bande sonore
SIMON BOURGET Élégie et Toccata du Trio pour cor, violoncelle et piano, opus 7

Répertoire

REENA ESMAIL

Tuttarana pour quintette de cuivres

La compositrice indo-américaine Reena Esmail (née en 1983) navigue entre les mondes de la musique classique indienne et occidentale, et rapproche les communautés en créant des espaces musicaux équitables. Artiste en résidence Swan Family 2020-2023 de la Los Angeles Master Chorale, elle a aussi œuvré comme compositrice en résidence 2020-2021 de l’Orchestre symphonique de Seattle. De nombreux ensembles lui ont commandé des œuvres, dont le Kronos Quartet, Imani Winds, le Chicago Sinfonietta et le Festival d’Elora, pour ne citer qu’eux, et son carnet de commandes pour les prochaines saisons comporte de nouvelles compositions pour les orchestres symphoniques de Seattle et de Baltimore, de même que pour le Santa Fe Pro Musica. Elle est diplômée en composition de la Juilliard School et de la faculté de musique de Yale; sa thèse de doctorat, intitulée Finding Common Ground: Uniting Practices in Hindustani and Western Art Musicians, explore les méthodes et les défis du processus de collaboration entre les musiciens hindoustanis (du nord de l’Inde) et les compositeurs occidentaux. Actuellement basée à Los Angeles, elle est la directrice artistique de Shastra, une organisation à but non lucratif qui promeut la musique interculturelle en reliant les traditions musicales de l’Inde et de l’Occident.

Tutturana était à l'origine une pièce pour chœur de femmes, composée en 2014, que la compositrice a ensuite arrangée pour quintette de cuivres, sur une commande de l’ensemble The Brass Project, comme dernier mouvement d'une suite en trois mouvements intitulée Khirkiyaan. Comme elle l'explique elle-même :

Le titre de ce mouvement est forgé à partir de deux termes : l’italien tutti, qui signifie « tous » ou « tout le monde », et tarana, qui désigne une forme musicale spécifique de l’Hindoustan (nord de l'Inde) dont l'équivalent occidental le plus proche est le scat en jazz. Composé de syllabes rythmiques, un tarana est l'occasion pour l’interprète de démontrer l'agilité et la dextérité de sa voix. Bien que la version pour cuivres de cette pièce ne comporte pas les syllabes véritables de la version vocale, elle vise à mettre en valeur la brillante virtuosité de l'ensemble.

Andrew Staniland

Allusions pour hautbois et clarinette

I. introit
II. as one
III. precision vs accuracy
IV. as one, higher
V. accuracy vs precision
VI. as one, lower

Le Centre national des Arts voit en lui un « visionnaire de la nouvelle musique ». Le compositeur Andrew Staniland (né en 1977) s’est imposé comme l’une des voix les plus importantes et novatrices de la scène musicale du Canada. Sa musique, jouée et diffusée dans le monde entier, a été qualifiée par Alex Ross, dans le magazine The New Yorker, d’« alternativement belle et terrifiante ». Parmi ses nombreux prix et distinctions, soulignons qu’il a été élu au sein de la cohorte inaugurale (2014) du Collège de nouveaux chercheurs et créateurs en art et en science de la Société royale du Canada. Il a œuvré comme compositeur affilié de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto (2006-2009) et de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts (2002-2004). Il est actuellement membre du corps professoral de l’Université Memorial à St. John’s (Terre-Neuve), où il a fondé le MEARL (Memorial ElectroAcoustic Research Lab).

Fruit d’une commande conjointe du festival Chamberfest d’Ottawa, de l’OCNA, du clarinettiste Sean Rice et de la hautboïste Anna Petersen, Allusions (2021) est une collection de mouvements virtuoses pour clarinette et hautbois. Voici ce qu’en dit le compositeur :

[L’œuvre] est écrite pour mes amis Sean Rice et Anna Petersen, et leur est dédiée.

Introit met en relief le penchant de Sean pour la respiration circulaire et l’over-blowing, le hautbois d’Anna soulignant les tons et les harmoniques qui sont à la fois présentes et imaginées dans les riches tonalités de la clarinette basse. 

As One est une pièce angulaire et acrobatique qui crée l’illusion d’une seule ligne ininterrompue tracée par deux voix distinctes, explorant les similitudes et les différences de timbre entre les deux instruments. Dans la mélodie, il y a un clin d’œil voilé (ou une allusion) au thème principal de Phi, Caelestis, ma partition de ballet pour le projet RENCONTR3S de l’OCNA (Sean et Anna ont participé à la création de l’œuvre et à l’enregistrement subséquent, finaliste aux prix JUNO).

Precision vs Accuracy se penche sur le contrepoint rythmique et textural. Une ligne chromatique très vive de clarinette basse, qui s’étend sur neuf notes, est complétée par le contrepoint d’une mélodie riche et sombre de cor anglais qui bouge constamment.

As One, Higher reprend le matériau à l’unisson d’As One, cette fois dans le registre aigu des instruments. Les longues mélodies d’As One réapparaissent sous forme d’éclats et de fragments.

Accuracy vs Precision reprend le récit du troisième mouvement, mais avec une complexité inversée. Le cycle chromatique de la clarinette basse se métamorphose en arpèges de tons sombres, tandis que le hautbois trace une ligne mélodique plus lente et précise.

As One, Lower réunit le cor anglais et la clarinette basse. Ici, tout le matériau musical est repris et développé dans un finale virtuose.

Kelly-Marie Murphy

Glacial Ablations

I. Crystalline Elements
II. Ice-Sizzle
III. Runoff

On a dit de sa musique qu’elle était « à couper le souffle » (Kitchener-Waterloo Record) et on l’a dépeinte comme « imaginative et expressive » (The National Post), « un trépidant tir de barrage sur tous les sens » (The Globe and Mail), et « Bartók sous stéroïdes » (Birmingham News) : Kelly-Marie Murphy est une voix qui compte sur la scène musicale canadienne. On lui doit plusieurs œuvres mémorables pour des interprètes et des ensembles de premier plan au Canada, notamment les orchestres symphoniques de Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver, le Trio Gryphon, James Campbell, Shauna Rolston, les quatuors à cordes Cecilia et Afiara, et Judy Loman. Née en 1964 sur une base de l’OTAN en Sardaigne, en Italie, elle a étudié la composition à l’Université de Calgary, avant d’obtenir son doctorat en composition de l’Université de Leeds, en Angleterre. Elle est maintenant établie à Ottawa, où elle poursuit une carrière de compositrice indépendante.

Elle a composé Glacial Ablations en 2022 à l’intention de Charles « Chip» Hamann, hautbois solo de l’OCNA, qui en donne ce soir, aux côtés du pianiste Frédéric Lacroix, la création mondiale. Voici en quels termes elle décrit cette pièce :

Chip Hamann m’a invitée à créer une nouvelle pièce pour hautbois et piano, pour un projet de récital et d’enregistrement réunissant un certain nombre de compositrices et compositeurs du Canada. Ce projet avait pour thème « la nature au Canada » – sous l’angle du climat ou de nos paysages. Comme sujet, j’ai choisi les glaciers, plus précisément la façon dont nous perdons notre glace de glaciers et notre pergélisol en raison du changement climatique.

Pour ma pièce, j’ai choisi trois termes empruntés au domaine de la glaciologie et j’ai tâché de créer une musique qui y réponde. Le titre, Glacial Ablations (littéralement : « ablations glaciaires ») fait référence à la perte de glace et de neige dans un système glaciaire. Le premier mouvement, Crystalline Elements (« éléments cristallins »), est lent, et met en relief non seulement les structures délicates du piano, mais aussi l’espace et le drame, où la translucidité et l’opacité se mêlent à la réponse humaine.

Le deuxième mouvement, Ice-Sizzle (« pétillement de la glace ») est très rapide, tout en force et en urgence. Le terme fait référence au son que peuvent produire les glaciers, qui ressemble à celui de l’eau gazeuse. Le dernier mouvement, Runoff (« écoulement »), fait allusion à l’évaporation et à la détérioration du glacier. Il s’amorce sur des passages semblables à des cadences pour le hautbois et le piano, et comporte des lignes ascendantes. L’écoulement s’intensifie à mesure que les forces de l’eau en mouvement gagnent en fureur et en urgence.

Jacob ter Veldhuis

The Garden of Love pour hautbois et trame sonore

Après avoir débuté comme musicien de rock, le compositeur « avant pop » néerlandais JacobTV (Jacob ter Veldhuis, né en 1951) a étudié la composition et la musique électronique au Conservatoire de Groningue. Lauréat du prix de composition des Pays-Bas en 1980, il est devenu compositeur à plein temps et n’a pas tardé à se faire un nom avec ses compositions mélodieuses. La presse l’a qualifié de « Jeff Koons » et « hors-la-loi de la musique nouvelle », dont l’œuvre « ferait passer pour soporifiques de nombreux artistes de hip-hop » (The Wall Street Journal). Sa musique regorge de sons fluides et d’échantillons sonores excentriques tirés des actualités – « je pimente ma musique avec du sucre », affirme-t-il; les autres traits caractéristiques de son style sont ses timbres brillants, l’énergie et le dynamisme, et une intensité discrète.

Composée en mars 2002 à l’intention du hautboïste Bart Schneemann, Garden of Love est l’une des œuvres « avec boombox (‘radiocassette’) » de JacobTV, créée pour des instruments solos en direct avec une bande sonore entraînante basée sur une « mélodie parlée ». Le texte échantillonné sur la bande sonore de cette pièce est le poème « The Garden of Love » de William Blake, extrait de son recueil Songs of Experience (1794). Les autres sons échantillonnés comprennent des hautbois, un clavecin, des chants d’oiseaux que le compositeur a tirés d’enregistrements ou recueillis lui-même dans la campagne néerlandaise, ainsi que différentes sonorités électroniques.

Garden of Love s’articule en trois grandes sections et suit le texte du poème (reproduit ci-dessous). Il s’ouvre sur une introduction mettant en scène le hautbois avec des échantillons de chants d’oiseaux et de clavecin, débouchant ensuite sur l’énoncé du premier vers du poème, au milieu d’articulations staccato, d’ostinatos et de syncopes. Après une brève détente sur le mot Love, le matériau est développé davantage. La deuxième section, qui s’amorce sur « A chapel was built » (« On avait bâti une chapelle »), est caractérisée par des changements soudains d’articulation (saccadée ou fluide) et une mesure asymétrique entraînante. Sur « […] Love, that so many sweet flowers bore » (« […] l’Amour, porté par le doux parfum de tant de fleurs »), la pièce passe à la troisième section, qui repose initialement sur des accords soutenus et un chant d’oiseau, suivi d’un épisode palpitant. Cet épisode se dissipe sur « gowns » (« robes ») et le dernier vers, « binding with briars, my joys and desires » (« ligotaient avec des ronces mes joies et mes désirs ») reçoit un cadre sensuel et luxuriant, après quoi le hautbois s’envole avec le chant des oiseaux vers la conclusion de l’œuvre.

LE JARDIN DE L’AMOUR

Je suis allé au Jardin de l’Amour.

et j’y ai contemplé ce que je n’avais jamais vu :

On avait bâti une chapelle au milieu,
là où je jouais autrefois sur l’herbe.

Et les portes de cette chapelle étaient fermées,
et l’on avait écrit « Abstiens-toi » sur la porte;
Alors je me suis tourné vers le Jardin de l’Amour,
porté par le doux parfum de tant de fleurs.

Et j’ai vu qu’il était rempli de tombes,

et de pierres tombales là où auraient dû se trouver des fleurs :
Et des prêtres en robes noires faisaient leur ronde,
et ligotaient avec des ronces mes joies et mes désirs.

SIMON BOURGET

Élégie et Toccata du Trio pour cor, violoncelle et piano, op. 7

Originaire de Dieppe, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le corniste et compositeur Simon Bourget est deuxième cor de l’Orchestre Métropolitain (OM) depuis 2017 et cor solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de l’Estuaire (Rimouski, Québec) depuis 2016. Sa carrière l’a amené à se produire avec de nombreux ensembles canadiens de premier plan, dont l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l’Opéra de Montréal, Les Violons du Roy, Sinfonia Nova Scotia, le quatuor de cors Katcor, l’orchestre baroque Ensemble Caprice et plusieurs autres. Il est diplômé de l’Université de Moncton, de l’Université McGill et de l’Université de Montréal. Il a commencé à composer à un âge précoce; parmi les œuvres qu’il a récemment achevées, mentionnons un Concerto pour cor destiné à son collègue de l’OM, Louis-Philippe Marsolais, et un Trio pour cor, violoncelle et piano, dont nous entendrons deux mouvements ce soir. Commandée à l’origine par le Chamberfest d’Ottawa, Élégie a été créée en août 2021. L’intégrale du Trio sera créée en octobre 2022.

Le compositeur décrit son Trio en ces termes :

Le trio pour cor, violoncelle et piano, surnommé « Pathétique », se caractérise par un langage inspiré des compositeurs de la première moitié du XXe siècle. La polytonalité, les dissonances assumées, les rythmes syncopés et saccadés, les changements de caractère subits; autant de techniques d’écriture que j’affectionne particulièrement et qui me donnent accès à un esthétisme que j’aime qualifier de machiavélique. Étant d’abord musicien de profession, j’aspire plutôt spontanément à développer une écriture instrumentale aussi idiomatique qu’efficace. Il m’importe d’ailleurs que chaque partie puisse être jouée avec une aisance naturelle.

Le premier mouvement, Élégie, dont la forme variable est caractérisée par un ton plaintif, est sous forme sonate. Le thème lyrique de l’exposition est présenté par le violoncelle et ensuite réintroduit par le cor à la réexposition. Le développement demeure plus mystérieux et incertain avec un thème plus léger. La fin de ce mouvement présente le soupçon d’un motif plutôt rêveur que l’on retrouvera dans le troisième ainsi que le quatrième mouvement de ce trio.

Le deuxième mouvement, Toccata, est un mouvement de forme libre. Il est caractérisé par des figures brillantes, sa virtuosité et son énergie rythmique. Le thème, qui revient assez souvent, devient de plus en plus impétueux, avec une puissance sonore croissante due particulièrement à la nature du cor.

Menu