November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Julie Charland
© Julie Charland

By the side of a road in northern Ontario stands La Queens, a motor inn owned by two sisters. The older sister wants to sell it as soon as possible, but the younger wants to keep it at all costs to preserve the family heritage. A story with echoes of identity, written by Jean Marc Dalpé.

In the depths of winter, the owner of La Queens breathes her last, leaving her remote northern Ontario motel to her two daughters. As much as Marie-Élizabeth, an internationally renowned concert pianist, has turned her back on her origins, Sophie, a cabaret singer, is deeply attached to them. She has only 48 hours to find the funds to buy out her sister, who has sent her daughter as her emissary. Their confrontation raises issues of transmission and identity, against a backdrop of sisterly rivalry.

Marie-Thérèse Fortin and Dominique Quesnel play the central pair in this new play by Jean Marc Dalpé. Years after Trick or Treat and Août, un repas à la campagne, the acclaimed Franco-Ontarian author, three-time winner of the Governor General’s Literary Award, returns to the stage with director Fernand Rainville, his close creative partner, and the Théâtre de La Manufacture.

Depending on public health guidelines, a staged reading of La Queens will be presented at the NAC.

The staged reading is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes with no intermission.

In addition to the staged reading, La Queens will also take the form of a free theatre podcast produced in collaboration with Scène Nationale du Son. This play will be divided into four twenty-minute episodes with original music by Larsen Lupin. Discover these original work every week starting November 27, 2020. 

This theatre podcast was produced in collaboration with La Fabrique culturelle and Théâtre de la Manufacture. 

_______

Learn more about La Queens

Partir ou rester | Ariane Brun del Re

C'est la faute de Jean Marc Dalpé | Stéphanie Nutting

Performance is approximately 1 hour with no intermission.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Nov 23
Nov 24
Nov 25
Nov 26
Nov 27
  • 1:30 PM
  • 7:30 PM
Nov 28
Nov 29
© Julie Charland
© Suzane O'Neill

Artists

View all artists ›
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de novembre 2020.
© Julie Charland
© Julie Charland

Au bord d’une route du nord de l’Ontario se dresse La Queens, un hôtel-motel appartenant à deux sœurs. L’aînée veut le vendre au plus vite, la cadette veut le conserver à tout prix pour préserver l’héritage familial. Un récit aux échos identitaires, signé Jean Marc Dalpé.

Au plus creux de l’hiver, la tenancière de La Queens pousse son dernier soupir, laissant son institution à ses deux filles. Autant Marie-Élizabeth, pianiste de concert à la renommée internationale, a tourné le dos à ses origines, autant Sophie, chanteuse de cabaret, y est profondément attachée. Cette dernière n’a que 48 heures pour trouver les fonds qu’il faut pour racheter la part de sa sœur, qui a envoyé sa fille en émissaire. L’affrontement soulève des questions de transmission et d’identité, sur fond de rivalité sororale.

Marie-Thérèse Fortin et Dominique Quesnel incarnent le duo central de ce nouveau texte de Jean Marc Dalpé. Des années après Trick or Treat et Août, un repas à la campagne, l’incontournable auteur franco-ontarien, trois fois lauréat du Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général du Canada, retrouve le metteur en scène Fernand Rainville, son grand complice de création, et le Théâtre de La Manufacture.

Une lecture-spectacle de La Queens sera présentée en salle, si les restrictions sanitaires le permettent.

Durée approximative de 1 h 30 sans entracte

La Queens sera également présentée sous la forme d’un balado théâtral gratuit en quatre épisodes  de vingt minutes sur la musique originale de Larsen Lupin. Une coproduction du Théâtre français du CNA et de la Scène nationale du son. À découvrir chaque semaine à partir du 27 novembre 2020.

Ce balado théâtre est produit en collaboration avec La Fabrique culturelle avec la participation du Théâtre de La Manufacture.

_______

Autour de La Queens

Partir ou rester | Ariane Brun del Re

C'est la faute de Jean Marc Dalpé | Stéphanie Nutting

Durée approximative de 1 heure sans entracte.

© Julie Charland
© Suzane O'Neill

Artistes

En savoir plus ›
Menu