Peter and the Wolf in Hollywood © Giants Are Small

Peter And The Wolf In Hollywood

By Giants Are Small

Peter and the Wolf in Hollywood © Giants Are Small
Family programming Music Classical music Masterworks Storytelling
  • Saint-Saëns Danse macabre
  • Debussy (arr. Caplet) Clair de lune
  • PROKOFIEV Peter and the Wolf

Start to finish, this evening’s program is filled with fun and flights of fancy.

Camille Saint-Saëns calls the dead from their graves to dance a jig for one night of the year with his delightful Danse macabre, a rambunctious work that continues to be celebrated in popular culture today. Close your eyes and dream of moonlight when the NAC Orchestra performs Claude Debussy’s Clair de lune, a sublime and enchanting work whose beauty never fades.

The main attraction features Brooklyn-based, out-of-the-box production company Giants are Small presenting Peter and the Wolf in Hollywood, a magical, funny, and touching reimagining of Prokofiev’s 1936 masterpiece, complete with a “prequel” set in modern day Hollywood. Originally conceived in the heart of Stalinist Russia, the story is nonetheless filled with timeless lessons about family, friendship, bravery, and heroism. Featuring the music of Prokofiev, Elgar, Mahler, Wagner, and more, Peter and the Wolf in Hollywood pushes into the future of the live art form, combining puppetry, symphonic music, animation, and a live Foley artist, to craft a classic modern masterpiece.

Music. Food. Wine. Friends. 
A Perfect Way to Enjoy it All.

Unwind at the end of your week with our wildly popular Casual Fridays!

5:30 PM    Pre-concert 5 à 7 with music in the Southam Hall Lobby, OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attend the concert. Enjoy cocktails and tapas, available for purchase. All tapas are prepared by the NAC culinary team drawing inspiration from individual Casual Fridays concerts for an original and authentic flair. You can purchase tapas tickets onsite the night of the concert.

7 PM    90-minute NAC Orchestra concert without intermission. Each invited, guest concert host connects with the artists on stage to discover more about them and the music. Side screens give the audience a chance to get up close and personal with the evenings performers.

8:30 PM    Post-concert party in the Main Foyer, OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attended the concert. Mix and mingle with fellow music lovers and NAC Orchestra musicians!

Performance is approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes with no intermission.

Peter and the Wolf in Hollywood © Giants Are Small
Peter and the Wolf in Hollywood © Giants Are Small
Peter and the Wolf in Hollywood © Giants Are Small

Artists

Menu

Pierre et le loup à Hollywood © Giants Are Small

Pierre et le loup à Hollywood

Par Giants Are Small

Pierre et le loup à Hollywood © Giants Are Small
Famille Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Conte
  • Saint-Saëns Danse macabre
  • Debussy (arr. Caplet) Clair de lune
  • PROKOFIEV Pierre et le loup

Du début à la fin, le programme de la soirée est rempli d’euphorie et d’onirisme.

Les morts se réveillent pour leur gigue nocturne annuelle dans la réjouissante Danse macabre de Camille Saint-Saëns, une œuvre plus grande que nature qui continue d’être célébrée dans la culture populaire d’aujourd’hui. Et quand l’Orchestre du CNA joue Clair de lune de Claude Debussy, opus sublime et enchanteur dont la beauté est éternelle, il suffit de fermer les yeux pour plonger dans un doux songe nocturne.

Mais la pièce de résistance de la soirée est servie par Giants Are Small, une compagnie de production de Brooklyn qui sort des sentiers battus. Il s'agit de Pierre et le loup à Hollywood, une relecture magique, amusante et touchante du chef-d’œuvre de 1936 de Prokofiev. Initialement conçue au cœur de la Russie stalinienne, l’histoire de Pierre et le loup n’en est pas moins remplie de leçons intemporelles sur la famille, l’amitié, la bravoure et l’héroïsme. Sur des musiques de Prokofiev, Elgar, Mahler, Wagner et autres, Pierre et le loup à Hollywood propose une incursion dans l’avenir de l’art vivant, associant théâtre de marionnettes, musique symphonique, animation et un bruiteur en direct, pour façonner un chef-d’œuvre classique moderne.

Musique. Bouchées. Vin. Amis. 
Tout est là pour une soirée réussie.

Finissez la semaine sur une belle note avec notre sensationnelle série de trois concerts!

17 h 30   Le Prélude culinaire dans le Foyer de la Salle Southam est OUVERT À TOUS, aucun billet de concert requis. Des cocktails et des tapas seront en vente. Le menu original et authentique, préparé par l’équipe culinaire du CNA, est inspiré des œuvres au programme. Vous pouvez vous procurer des billets tapas sur place le soir du concert.

19 h    Concert de l’Orchestre du CNA, 90 minutes sans entracte. Chaque animateur invité reçoit les artistes sur scène afin d’en apprendre plus sur eux et sur la musique. Des écrans latéraux permettent au public d’assister à une rencontre intime avec les interprètes de la soirée.   

20 h 30    Réception d’après-concert dans le Foyer principal - OUVERT À TOUS, aucun billet de concert requis. Restez bavarder avec d’autres mélomanes et avec les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA!

Durée approximative de 1 heure et 30 minutes sans entracte.

Pierre et le loup à Hollywood © Giants Are Small
Pierre et le loup à Hollywood © Giants Are Small
Pierre et le loup à Hollywood © Giants Are Small
Menu