Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

Shelley and Pepe Romero

Casual Fridays with the NAC Orchestra

Pepe Romero

World Premiere

  • Walton Symphony No. 1 (excerpts)
  • Nicole Lizée Zeiss After Dark: SESQUIE for Canada’s 150th
  • Walton Suite from Henry V
  • Rodrigo Concierto de Aranjuez for Guitar and Orchestra

It is with regret that Miloš has had to cancel his remaining concerts for the rest of the season on his doctor’s advice due to a physical condition that has affected the movement in his arm. The world premiere of the new guitar concerto written for him by esteemed composer Howard Shore will be rescheduled for February 2019 at the National Arts Centre. All the artists involved, including Howard Shore, conductor Alexander Shelley and the National Arts Centre Orchestra, wish Miloš a very steady recovery and a successful return to performing. 

---

Son of one of the greatest guitarists that ever lived, Celedonio Romero, legendary Pepe Romero performs the Concierto de Aranjuez by Joaquin Rodrigo with Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra. A special addition to the program is a short new work by Nicole Lizée, inspired by cinematography techniques.

*World premiere

Media Partner: Jewel 98.5
Proud Partner: Ottawa Citizen

Music. Wine. Friends. 
A Perfect Way to Enjoy it All.

Unwind at the end of your week with our wildly popular casual Fridays!

5PM    Pre-concert reception in Southam Hall Lobby, OPEN TO ALL whether or not you attend the concert. Enjoy cocktails, available for purchase, and live jazz.

7PM    90-minute NAC Orchestra concert without intermission. Each invited guest concert host connects with musicians to provide a deeper understanding of the music and lets you experience the orchestra in a directly personal way.    

8:30PM    Post-concert reception in the Main Lobby. Mix and mingle with fellow music lovers and NAC Orchestra musicians.

The building is really coming along!
Unfortunately due to construction limitations, we will no longer be able to sell Casual Fridays tapas like we have in the past. We apologize for this inconvenience but promise that the construction pains we feel now will be well worth it when we welcome you back into the newly expanded NAC.
_____________

The Bravo Series version of this performance will take place on February 23, 2017 and will begin at 8 p.m.

Credits

Artist Links

Learn More:
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant la Course de l’Armée du Canada

Shelley et Pepe Romero

Vendredis décontractés avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Cet événement est passé
Pepe Romero
  • Walton Symphonie no 1 (extraits)
  • Nicole Lizée Zeiss After Dark : projet SESQUIE pour le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération
  • Walton Suite from Henry V
  • Rodrigo Concerto d’Aranjuez pour guitare et orchestre

Première mondiale

C’est à regret que Miloš a dû, à la recommandation de son médecin, annuler ses concerts pour le reste de la saison en raison d’un problème qui affecte le mouvement de son bras. La première mondiale du nouveau concerto pour guitare composé pour lui par le renommé Howard Shore est remise au mois de février 2019 au Centre national des Arts. Tous les artistes qui contribuent à ce spectacle, y compris Howard Shore, le chef d’orchestre Alexander Shelley et les musiciens de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, souhaitent à Miloš un très prompt rétablissement et un bon retour sur scène.

---

Fils de Celedonio Romero, l’un des plus grands guitaristes de tous les temps, Pepe Romero interprète le Concerto d’Aranjuez de Joaquín Rodrigo, accompagné de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts sous la direction d’Alexander Shelley. S’ajoutera à ce programme une nouvelle création de Nicole Lizée, inspirée de techniques cinématographiques.

*Première mondiale

Média partenaire : Jewel 98.5
Fier partenaire : Ottawa Citizen

Musique. Vin. Amis. 
Tout est là pour une soirée réussie.

Finissez la semaine sur une belle note avec notre sensationnelle série de trois concerts.

17 h    Le Prélude culinaire est OUVERT À TOUS et vous sera servi au son d’une musique jazz live. Aucun billet de concert requis.

19 h    Concert de l’Orchestre du CNA, 90 minutes sans entracte. Chaque animateur invité sonde la musique avec les interprètes pour permettre au public de mieux comprendre les œuvres au programme et de s’immerger dans l’expérience.    

20 h 30    Réception d’après-concert dans le Foyer principal. Restez bavarder avec d’autres mélomanes et avec les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA.

La construction du nouveau CNA avance à grands pas!
En raison de contraintes liées aux rénovations, nous ne pourrons malheureusement pas offrir la même formule tapas pour notre Vendredi décontracté que d’habitude. Nous regrettons tout inconvénient que cette situation pourrait vous causer. Nous avons bien hâte de vous accueillir au nouveau CNA et espérons qu’il vous fera oublier les désagréments liés à la construction!
______________

La représentation de ce programme donnée dans le cadre de la Série Bravo aura lieu le 23 février 2017 à 20 h.

Pepe Romero

Artistes

Menu