Street closures around NAC - Canada Day weekend

Shelley and Pepe Romero

Pepe Romero

World Premiere

  • Walton Symphony No. 1
  • Nicole Lizée Zeiss After Dark: SESQUIE for Canada’s 150th
  • Walton Suite from Henry V
  • Rodrigo Concierto de Aranjuez for Guitar and Orchestra

It is with regret that Miloš has had to cancel his remaining concerts for the rest of the season on his doctor’s advice due to a physical condition that has affected the movement in his arm. The world premiere of the new guitar concerto written for him by esteemed composer Howard Shore will be rescheduled for February 2019 at the National Arts Centre. All the artists involved, including Howard Shore, conductor Alexander Shelley and the National Arts Centre Orchestra, wish Miloš a very steady recovery and a successful return to performing. 

---

Living legend.  Melodic impressiveness. Raw emotions. 

Son of one of the greatest guitarists that ever lived, Celedonio Romero, legendary Pepe Romero performs the Concierto de Aranjuez by Joaquin Rodrigo with Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra. A special addition to the program is a short new work by Nicole Lizée, inspired by cinematography techniques.

Enjoy in the newly renovated Southam Hall. Better Seats. Better Sound. Better Access.

*World premiere

Media Partner: Jewel 98.5
Proud Partner: Ottawa Citizen

The Friends of the NAC Orchestra is pleased to hold a spectacular silent auction on Thursday, February 23 in the Southam Hall Foyer of the NAC in conjunction with this NAC Orchestra concert. Bid on outstanding and unique donated items from across Canada and from around the world. Proceeds benefit the Friends of the NAC Orchestra’s commitment to music education programs for young people. Help us build a fantastic future for music in Canada!
_______________

The Casual Fridays version of this performance will take place on February 24, 2017 and will begin at 7 p.m. 

Credits

Learn More:
Menu

Cet événement est passé
Pepe Romero
  • Walton Symphonie no 1
  • Nicole Lizée Zeiss After Dark : projet SESQUIE pour le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération
  • Walton Suite from Henry V
  • Rodrigo Concerto d’Aranjuez pour guitare et orchestre

Première mondiale

C’est à regret que Miloš a dû, à la recommandation de son médecin, annuler ses concerts pour le reste de la saison en raison d’un problème qui affecte le mouvement de son bras. La première mondiale du nouveau concerto pour guitare composé pour lui par le renommé Howard Shore est remise au mois de février 2019 au Centre national des Arts. Tous les artistes qui contribuent à ce spectacle, y compris Howard Shore, le chef d’orchestre Alexander Shelley et les musiciens de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, souhaitent à Miloš un très prompt rétablissement et un bon retour sur scène.

---

Légende vivante.  Épatantes mélodies. Émotions vives.

Fils de Celedonio Romero, l’un des plus grands guitaristes de tous les temps, Pepe Romero interprète le Concerto d’Aranjuez de Joaquín Rodrigo, accompagné de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts sous la direction d’Alexander Shelley. S’ajoutera à ce programme une nouvelle création de Nicole Lizée, inspirée de techniques cinématographiques.

Prenez place dans la salle Southam rénovée. Sièges plus confortables. Acoustique améliorée. Accessibilité accrue.

*Première mondiale

Média partenaire : Jewel 98.5
Fier partenaire : Ottawa Citizen

À l’occasion de ce concert de l’Orchestre du CNA, les Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA ont le plaisir d’organiser un encan silencieux spectaculaire dans le foyer de la salle Southam du CNA, le jeudi 23 février. Faites vos offres pour des articles hors pairs et uniques provenant de dons originaires du Canada et du monde entier. Les recettes serviront à financer les engagements que les Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA ont contractés envers les programmes d’éducation musicale pour les jeunes. Aidez-nous à bâtir un avenir rayonnant pour la musique au Canada.
________________

La représentation de ce programme donnée dans le cadre des Vendredis décontractés aura lieu le 24 février 2017 à 19 h.

Pepe Romero
Menu