50% OFF subscriptions - 2 days only - Don't miss it! (Starting in:
)

Indigenous Theatre

Changing the face of Canadian theatre

Part 1: The Summit

APRIL 2014 | THE BANFF CENTRE

In April 2014 NAC English Theatre gathered together 12 Indigenous artists/leaders from across the country for The Summit at the Banff Centre. This was a three-day conversation about the breadth and scope of Indigenous work created across this vast land. Co-curated by Associate Artistic Director of English Theatre Sarah Garton Stanley and playwright Yvette Nolan, 10 cultural institutions participated in The Summit as “Listeners.”

The NAC’s goal is that The Study should impact broadly on the programming choices being made by theatres across the country, and make it part of vital and necessary steps towards bringing Indigenous approaches and stories closer to the centre of our national expression. Summit Co-Curator Sarah Garton Stanley

The English Theatre at Canada’s National Arts Centre went to The Summit for knowledge, and we travelled there with a desire to engage cultural powerhouses in the work of accessing this knowledge. Sarah Garton Stanley, in her capacity as Associate Artistic Director was charged by Artistic Director Jillian Keiley to construct an engaged and investigative space for questions of Indigenous Theatre in Canada. English Theatre has, since its inception in 1969, had a relationship to the First Nations People of this country. But as with many institutions, our capacity to access and understand the breadth and volume of work being created on this land needed a new look.


Menu

Théâtre autochtone

Changer la face du théâtre canadien

Partie 1 : The Summit

AVRIL 2014 | BANFF CENTRE

En avril 2014, le Théâtre anglais du CNA a réuni 12 artistes et leaders autochtones de tout le pays pour participer à The Summit au Banff Centre. Il s’agissait d’une conversation, répartie sur trois jours, sur l’étendue et la portée des œuvres dramatiques autochtones créés au Canada. Sous l’impilsion des coorganisatrices Sarah Garton Stanley, directrice artistique associée du Théâtre anglais, et d’Yvette Nolan, dramaturge, 10 institutions culturelles ont pris part à The Summit comme « auditeurs ». 

« L’objectif visé par le CNA est que The Study ait une profonde influence sur les choix de programmation des théâtres de tout le pays; nous voulons en faire une étape cruciale et essentielle en vue de recentrer notre expression nationale sur des approches et des récits autochtones. »  Sarah Garton Stanley, coorganisatrice de The Summit

Le Théâtre anglais du CNA s’est rendu à l’événement The Summit pour apprendre, et avec le désir d’arrimer des locomotives culturelles aux wagons de ce savoir pour le rendre accessible au plus grand nombre. Sarah Garton Stanley, en sa qualité de directrice artistique associée du Théâtre anglais, a été chargée par la directrice artistique, Jillian Keiley, de mettre en place un espace propice à l’engagement et à la recherche sur les questions liées au théâtre autochtone au Canada. Depuis sa création en 1969, le Théâtre anglais a toujours entretenu des liens avec les Premières nations du Canada. Mais comme beaucoup d’institutions, notre capacité d’accéder aux œuvres créées à travers le pays, et d’en mesurer la portée et l’ampleur, exigeait une nouvelle optique – dont acte.


Menu