NAC orchestra Canada 150 tour

Prairie Provinces

From October 19 –28, the National Arts Centre Orchestra will continue its Canada 150 Tour, beginning in Winnipeg, then travelling to Saskatoon, Calgary and Edmonton. The tour will celebrate the 150th anniversary of Confederation through music, by engaging with audiences, young audiences and young artists.

This is the first tour led by the NAC Orchestra’s highly acclaimed Music Director, Alexander Shelley, and will feature the Calgary-based pianist, Jan Lisiecki and NAC Orchestra violinist Jessica Linnebach.

In your classroom and in your community

The tour includes 150 education and community engagement activities in all western provinces and northern territories that will unite the musicians of the Orchestra with students, educators, community leaders and artists.

Learn more about our Prairie Provinces education activities

Featured events

Winnipeg, MB

Saskatoon, SK

Calgary, AB

Edmonton, AB

Education & outreach

Celebrating the artists, educators and youth who will shape our future. 

The NAC Orchestra’s Music Director, Alexander Shelley will work with community bands, youth orchestras, students and young artists. Cross-cultural engagement activities will focus on giving students the opportunity for understanding and exchange with a focus on creative expression through the arts.

Inspiring collaborations

  • Winnipeg, MB

    University of Manitoba Residency

    Alexander Shelley, Jan Lisiecki, John Estacio and NAC Orchestra musicians will be in residence at the Desautels Faculty of Music at the University of Manitoba from October 17-20.  The residency will include instrument specific masterclasses, sectional rehearsals, lectures, conducting and composition workshops and a special recital performance.

  • Calgary, AB

    Residency at the Mount Royal University Conservatory

    Alexander Shelley and NACO musicians will offer masterclasses to students including a two-day residency with the Mount Royal University Conservatory's internationally acclaimed ensemble and one of Canada’s leading community youth orchestras: the Calgary Youth Orchestra.

  • Winnipeg, MB

    Arts and Community: A Summit for Indigenous Musicians

    Ten outstanding Winnipeg artists representing diverse Indigenous cultures and musical genres will attend a Summit for Indigenous Musicians led by Winnipeg’s Leonard Sumner and Montreal’s Moe Clark, which will conclude with a community performance event at the iconic Thunderbird House.

  • Saskatoon, SK

    Building community with Zoey Roy

    The award-winning Indigenous youth leader and MAP Teaching Artist Zoey Roy will lead two events in Saskatoon, a talk and Q&A for young people interested in careers in the arts, and a hip-hop creation workshop at a local First Nations elementary school.

  • Edmonton, AB

    Métis celebration with Daniel Gervais

    Celebrated Métis Fiddler and MAP Teaching Artist Daniel Gervais will lead school and community events in Edmonton, sharing Métis culture with students and mentoring the next generation of fiddlers.

Music Alive Program


The NAC’s Music Alive Program has reached over 100,000 students, teachers, and community members in mostly rural and remote communities in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nunavut, and the Atlantic provinces. The program promotes musical and cultural diversity and will be featured throughout the tour as MAP teaching artists lead innovative education events with schools and community organizations.

Engaging musical education

  • Masterclasses & workshops

    Music Director Alexander Shelley, pianist Jan Lisiecki, concertmaster Yosuke Kawasaki, and guest artists offer masterclasses and workshops at the Universities of Manitoba, Regina, Saskatchewan, and Calgary, Mount Royal University Conservatory.

  • Musical encounters

    The tour will include student showcasing opportunities, masterclasses, workshops, coaching sessions and school performances. NAC Orchestra musicians will perform in-school concerts for Francophone elementary students in every city.

Menu

Tournée Canada 150 de l’orchestre du cna Canada 150

Provinces des Prairies

Du 19 au 28 octobre, l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts poursuit sa Tournée Canada 150 avec des concerts à Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Calgary et Edmonton. La Tournée, qui s’inscrit dans le cadre des célébrations du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération, s’adresse aux mélomanes de tous âges et aux jeunes artistes.

Il s’agit de la première tournée de l’Orchestre du CNA sous la conduite de son populaire directeur musical, Alexander Shelley. Elle mettra en vedette le pianiste canadien renommé Jan Lisiecki et la violoniste de l'orchestre du CNA Jessica Linnebach.

Dans votre classe et votre collectivité

La Tournée comprend 150 activités éducatives et culturelles qui mettront des musiciens de l’Orchestre en contact avec des élèves, enseignants, leaders communautaires et artistes des quatre provinces de l’Ouest canadien et des territoires du Nord.

Apprenez-en plus sur les activités éducatives offertes dans les provinces des Prairies.

Événements en vedette

Winnipeg (MB)

Saskatoon (SK)

Calgary (AB)

Edmonton (AB)

Éducation et rayonnement

Une célébration des artistes, éducateurs et jeunes espoirs qui façonneront l’avenir

Le directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA, Alexander Shelley, collaborera avec des groupes communautaires, des orchestres de jeunes, des étudiants et de jeunes artistes. Ces activités de rayonnement interculturelles seront axées sur la compréhension et l’échange en mettant l'accent sur l’expression créative à travers les arts.

Des collaborations inspirantes

  • Winnipeg, MB

    Résidence à l’Université du Manitoba

    Alexander Shelley, Jan Lisiecki, John Estacio et quelques musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA seront en résidence du 17 au 20 octobre à la Faculté de musique Desautels de l’Université du Manitoba. Il y aura des classes de maître par instrument, des répétitions par section, des exposés magistraux, des ateliers de direction d’orchestre et de composition, et un récital spécial.

  • Calgary, AB

    Résidence au conservatoire de l’Université Mount Royal

    Alexander Shelley et des musiciens de l’OCNA offriront des classes de maître aux étudiants, y compris une résidence de deux jours avec l’ensemble mondialement acclamé du conservatoire de l’Université Mount Royal et l’un des meilleurs orchestres communautaires de jeunes du pays, l’Orchestre des jeunes de Calgary.

  • Winnipeg, MB

    Arts et communauté : un sommet pour musiciens autochtones

    Dix remarquables artistes de Winnipeg représentant un large éventail de cultures autochtones et de genres musicaux seront du sommet pour musiciens autochtones encadrés par le Winnipegois Leonard Sumner et la Montréalaise Moe Clark, lequel se terminera par un spectacle communautaire à l’emblématique maison Thunderbird.

  • Saskatoon, SK

    Mise en valeur du potentiel de la collectivité avec Zoey Roy

    Leader primée œuvrant auprès des jeunes autochtones et artiste-enseignante du programme Vive la musique, Zoey Roy animera deux événements à Saskatoon : une causerie et séance de questions-réponses s’adressant aux jeunes qui aimeraient faire carrière dans le domaine des arts, et un atelier de création hip-hop dans une école primaire des Premières Nations de la région.

  • Edmonton, AB

    Célébration métisse avec Daniel Gervais

    Le très applaudi violoneux et artiste-enseignant métis du programme Vive la musique, Daniel Gervais, animera à Edmonton des activités scolaires et communautaires, transmettant aux élèves la culture métisse et jouant le rôle de mentor auprès de la prochaine génération de violoneux.

Programme Vive la musique

À ce jour, plus de 100 000 étudiants, enseignants et autres membres de communautés pour la plupart rurales et éloignées de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan, du Manitoba, du Nunavut et des provinces atlantiques ont participé au programme Vive la musique (PVM) du CNA. Ce programme, qui promeut la diversité musicale et culturelle, sera mis de l’avant tout au long de la Tournée par les artistes-enseignants du PVM, lesquels animeront des événements éducatifs novateurs auprès d’écoles et d’organismes communautaires.

La joie d’apprendre

  • Classes de maître et ateliers

    Le directeur musical Alexander Shelley, le pianiste Jan Lisiecki, le violon solo Yosuke Kawasaki et des artistes invités offrent des classes de maître et des ateliers aux universités du Manitoba, de Regina, de la Saskatchewan et de Calgary ainsi qu’au conservatoire de l’Université Mount Royal.

  • Rencontres musicales

    Possibilités des concerts offerts par les étudiants, classes de maître, ateliers, encadrement et concerts sont au programme de la tournée. Les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA se produiront dans des écoles primaires francophones de toutes les villes.

Menu