Sphere

September 22-25, 2022

Listening to the Earth

From September 22 to 25, join the NAC Orchestra for Sphere, a four-day festival launching a year-long exploration of listening as humankind navigates the climate crisis and biodiversity loss on planet Earth.

Welcome to Sphere

Sphere brings the Earth and the climate crisis to centre stage. Co-curators Alexander Shelley and Angela Rawlings share their vision about this exploration of our extraordinary environment through science, music, and art.

Learn more

A four-day festival of music, art, and science

In Sphere, the NAC Orchestra joins forces with Canadian, Indigenous, and Nordic composers, musicians, visual artists, writers, and scientists for a multidisciplinary conversation about the sphere we call home. Performances, talks, visual and audio arts, and sensory installations offer a response to the environmental crisis through the intersection of art, creativity, and science. 

Sphere is co-curated by Music Director Alexander Shelley and Canadian-Icelandic interdisciplinary artist Dr. Angela Rawlings. Taking place throughout the NAC stages and public spaces, at the Canadian Museum of Nature, and at Club SAW.

Explore events

Music is everywhere

An orchestra is a human ecosystem. We will explore Listening to the Earth through sound installations and meditative or explosive concerts. Discover Angela Rawlings’ and Alexander Shelley’s curatorial vision.

  • Arctic Imagination

    Co-hosted with the Royal Danish Library, Arctic Imagination will continue important and pressing discussions on the implications of climate change and a warming North. 

  • Calling all beekeepers!

    SPHERE is seeking beekeepers and pollinator-loving friends to join an interactive performance procession from the Canadian Museum of Nature to the National Arts Centre. 

Join our email list for the latest programming updates!

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Sphère

22 au 25 septembre 2022

La symphonie de la Terre 

Du 22 au 25 septembre, joignez-vous à l’Orchestre du CNA à l’occasion de Sphère, un festival de quatre jours qui sera le point de départ d’une exploration auditive d’un an, à l’heure où l’humanité est aux prises avec la crise climatique et la perte de biodiversité sur Terre.

Bienvenue à Sphère

Le festival met la Terre et la crise climatique au centre de la scène. Les co-curateurs Alexander Shelley et Angela Rawlings partagent leur vision concernant l’exploration de notre extraordinaire environnement via la science, la musique et les arts.

Découvrez en plus

Un festival de quatre jours autour de la musique, des arts et de la science 

Des compositeurs et compositrices, artistes invité·e·s, instrumentistes, écrivain·e·s, scientifiques et artistes en arts visuels Canadiens, autochtones et Scandinaves réagiront à la crise climatique par la jonction des arts, de la créativité et de la science, en proposant des concerts de chambre et d’orchestre aussi pertinents et provocants qu’engagés, des œuvres sonores et visuelles, conférences et des installations scientifiques sensorielles. 

Sphère is co-programmé par le Directeur musical Alexander Shelley et l’artiste multidisciplinaire Canado-Islandaise angela rawlings. L’événement a lieu au CNA, au Musée canadien de la nature et au Club SAW.

Découvrez les événements

La musique est partout

Un orchestre est en soi un écosystème. Nous explorerons la Terre à travers des installations artistiques et des concerts méditatifs... ou explosifs. Découvrez le programme sonore.

  • Arctic Imagination

    Co-programmé avec la Bibliothèque royale du Danemark, Arctic Imagination relancera des discussions urgentes et cruciales sur le réchauffement des pôles et les conséquences des changements climatiques. 

  • Appel aux apiculteurs!

    SPHÈRE est à la recherche de 100 apiculteurs et amis des polinisateurs dans la région d’Ottawa pour prendre part à une performance allant du Musée canadien de la Nature aux jardins sur le toit du CNA.

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre pour être les premiers informés!

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu