Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade

Le Wild West Show de Gabriel Dumont

“My people will sleep for one hundred years, but when they awake, it will be the artists who give them back their spirit.”​Louis Riel

World Premiere | NAC Co-production

A flamboyant epic, constructed as a series of tableaux, about the struggles of the Métis in the Canadian West. A multilayered and entertaining saga with a rodeo vibe, loosely based on Buffalo Bill’s legendary outdoor travelling show.

In 1885, following the hanging of his friend Louis Riel, bison hunter Gabriel Dumont fled to the United States. There he was recruited by the legendary Buffalo Bill, founder of Buffalo Bill’s Wild West, a gigantic outdoor travelling show that re-enacted life in the American West. It made a huge impression on Dumont, and he dreamed of putting together a similar show to tell the story of the struggle of Canada’s Métis to reclaim their rights. The creative team behind Gabriel Dumont’s Wild West Show brings Dumont’s dream to live in a captivating, joyously anachronistic saga.

  • Written by Jean Marc Dalpé, David Granger, Laura Lussier, Alexis Martin, Andrea Menard, Yvette Nolan, Gilles Poulin-Denis, Paula-Jean Prudat, Mansel Robinson and Kenneth T. Williams
  • Directed by Mani Soleymanlou
  • With Charles Bender, Jean Marc Dalpé, Katrine Deniset, Gabriel Gosselin, Alexis Martin, Émilie Monnet, Krystle Pederson, Chancz Perry, Dominique Pétin, Andrina Turenne and a special guest appearance of Josée Bourgeois
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA pendant le défilé du père Noël

Le Wild West Show de Gabriel Dumont

« Les miens dormiront pendant cent ans, et quand ils se réveilleront, ce seront les artistes qui leur rendront leur esprit.​ »​Louis Riel

Première mondiale | Coproduction du cna

Une flamboyante épopée, fragmentée en tableaux, sur la lutte des Métis de l’Ouest canadien. Une saga hybride et divertissante, pleine de fantaisie et de fulgurances, librement inspirée des spectacles à grand déploiement de Buffalo Bill.

Au lendemain de la pendaison de son ami Louis Riel en 1885, le chasseur de bisons Gabriel Dumont prend la fuite et se réfugie aux États-Unis. Il y est recruté par Buffalo Bill, figure mythique bien connue dans le monde pour représenter la vie du Far West dans des spectacles itinérants de grande ampleur. Marqué à vie, Dumont rêve de reprendre le procédé pour raconter cette fois la lutte des Métis canadiens pour la reconnaissance de leurs droits. L’impressionnante équipe réunie autour du Wild West Show de Gabriel Dumont réalise aujourd’hui son désir à travers une saga populaire et joyeusement anachronique.

  • Texte Jean Marc Dalpé, David Granger, Laura Lussier, Alexis Martin, Andrea Menard, Yvette Nolan, Gilles Poulin-Denis, Paula-Jean Prudat, Mansel Robinson et Kenneth T. Williams
  • Mise en scène Mani Soleymanlou
  • Avec Charles Bender, Jean Marc Dalpé, Katrine Deniset, Gabriel Gosselin, Alexis Martin, Émilie Monnet, Krystle Pederson, Chancz Perry, Dominique Pétin, Andrina Turenne et la participation spéciale de Josée Bourgeois
Menu