|
Artistic Director of Zones Théâtrales

Gilles Poulin-Denis

Originally from Saskatchewan, Gilles Poulin‑Denis is a writer, translator, director and actor. He is a graduate of the acting program at UQAM’s École supérieure de théâtre. His first play, Rearview, premiered in 2009 by La Troupe du Jour (Saskatoon), was a hit at Zones Théâtrales 2009 and on tour. It was published by Dramaturges Éditeurs, won the 2010 Governor General’s Literary Award for Drama, and was staged in English and French across Canada and in Belgium. His second play, Statu quo, was workshopped at Zones Théâtrales 2011 and presented by NAC French Theatre as part of its series for young audiences, and toured across Canada.

As NAC French Theatre’s playwright in residence from 2008 to 2011, under the artistic directorship of Wajdi Mouawad, Gilles developed his third play, Dehors, which was given staged readings at, among other events, the Festival du Jamais Lu (Montreal), the Carrefour international de Québec, Dramaturgie en Dialogue and most recently during Zones Théâtrales 2015. The production was part of the 2016-2017 programming of Théâtre Cercle Molière, Centre du Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui and NAC French Theatre. In 2015, he presented his fourth play, Straight Jacket Winter, a text written with Esther Duquette presented at the Carrefour international de theatre and NAC French French Theatre among others. Gilles participated in the development of Après la peur by Armel Roussel / (e)Utopia3 (Brussels), coproduced by the Centre du Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui (Montreal) and Les Tanneurs. He is a founding member of the theatre collective Les petites cellules chaudes, with which he cocreated the iShow, presented at Zones 2013.

Currently, he is one of nine playwrights with Jean Marc Dalpé, Alexis Martin and Yvette Nolan developing Gabriel Dumont’s Wild West Show, a NAC French Theatre coproduction about the Métis struggle in Western Canada, which will be presented at the NAC in October 2017. He is also working on a project called Ce qu’on attend de moi as part of a creative residency at Montreal’s Théâtre Aux Écuries.

Gilles is currently based in Vancouver, where he is the artistic director and cofounder of Productions 2PAR4. He is the new Artistic Director of Zones Théâtrales.

Menu

Nous sommes ouverts. Des bornes de recharge, du WiFi et du café sont offerts.
 |
Directeur artistique de la biennale Zones Théâtrales

Gilles Poulin-Denis

Gilles Poulin-Denis est comédien, auteur, traducteur et metteur en scène originaire de la Saskatchewan. Diplômé en jeu de l’École supérieure de théâtre de l’UQAM, sa première pièce, Rearview, créée en 2009 par La Troupe du Jour, est un coup de cœur aux Zones Théâtrales et en tournée. Publié chez Dramaturges Éditeurs, ce texte est sélectionné pour le prix du Gouverneur général en 2010 et monté en français et en anglais au Canada ainsi qu’en Belgique. Sa seconde pièce, Statu quo, est présentée en lecture aux Zones en 2011; la production est programmée dans la saison Enfance-jeunesse du Théâtre français du CNA et offerte en tournée pancanadienne.

De 2008 à 2011, Gilles est auteur associé au Théâtre français du CNA sous l’égide de Wajdi Mouawad. C’est lors de cette résidence qu’il développe le texte Dehors, qui est mis en lecture au Théâtre français du CNA, au Jamais Lu, au Carrefour international de théâtre, à Dramaturgies en Dialogue et aux Zones Théâtrales; la production fait partie des programmations 2016-2017 du Théâtre Cercle Molière, du Centre du Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui et du Théâtre français du CNA. En 2015, il présente un chantier de Straight Jacket Winter, texte qu’il coécrit avec Esther Duquette; le spectacle est créé au Carrefour international de théâtre en mai 2016 et présenté, entre autres, au Théâtre français du CNA. Il participe à la création d’Après la peur, une œuvre d’Armel Roussel / (e)utopia3 (Bruxelles) coproduite par le Théâtre Les Tanneurs et le Centre du Théâtre d’Aujourd’hui. Comme membre fondateur du collectif Les petites cellules chaudes, il est un des créateurs et interprètes du iShow, présenté en 2013 aux Zones.

Il collabore actuellement au Wild West Show de Gabriel Dumont avec neuf autres auteurs, dont Jean Marc Dalpé, Alexis Martin et Yvette Nolan; cette fresque théâtrale sur la lutte des Métis de l’Ouest canadien sera créée au Théâtre français du CNA en octobre 2017. Il travaille également sur un projet intitulé Ce qu’on attend de moi dans le cadre d’une résidence au Théâtre Aux Écuries.

Gilles habite présentement à Vancouver. Il est directeur artistique des Productions 2PAR4, dont il est cofondateur, et signera la programmation des Zones Théâtrales.

Menu