Artworks

  • ronnie-dean-harris-cr-fara-nosh-500
    Featuring Ronnie Dean Harris

sasqets at sx̌ʷéyəməł, Ronnie Dean Harris, Stō:lo/St’át'imc/Lil’wat/N’laka'pamux 
 

Artist statement

In late 1951, Sḵwx̱wú7mesh leader Andy Paull wrote an article which would later serve as a eulogy for our Grandfather Chief Kwikwetlem William aka xem-tey-nem. In this article, Andy would recognize important events in our grandfather’s life. From his witness of the first settlers on the river to his attendance and witness to an important historical gathering at Sapperton for then Queen Victoria’s birthday with Governor Frederick Seymour to his assault by an inmate at the Colony Farm Forensic Psychiatric Hospital. 

Also in this article, was a mention of stories told by our Grandfather Kwikwetlem about how “sasquatches would uproot trees where the City of New Westminster now stands and were seen carrying as many as five salmon on each hand and bales of smoked salmon to their abodes in the forest.” Living in New Westminster, this caught my attention and I wanted to be able to tell this story and explore this memory in this space and time. 

While I often imagine what it would be like to sit with my grandfather, I now wonder what it would be like to hear his stories and memories through eyes of someone who was here “he witnessed the trees whose bows kissed the waters of the Fraser gradually being chopped down” and “lived to see the railroad span the continent”. 

  • ic-mary-longman-credit-cindy-moleski
    Featuring Mary Longman

Passage: Who We Are and Where We Come From, Mary Longman, AskiPiyewsiwiSkwew 


Artist Statement

Central Saskatchewan is the traditional territories of the Cree, Dene, Saulteaux, Metis and Sioux. 

The rivers of Fort Qu’Appelle and Saskatchewan have been significant passages for travel, trade and cultural exchange for Indigenous people. 

Today, the cultural exchange, immersion and blended families continues. In central Saskatchewan, the Saskatoon area is home to approximately 300,000 Indigenous and Metis people. 

Indigenous and Metis people make up 16% of the population in Saskatchewan and is the second largest ethnic group, with Germans being the majority. 

The work, Passages: Who We Are, Where We Come From,  honours several thousands of years of  history of Indigenous traditional lands and cultural exchange, long before the dark legacy of the relatively recent forced colonial treaties and oppression.  

To honour the history of Indigenous land, I call on the collective to decolonize semantics, delete colonial terms such as treaties, return to the words of traditional territories, to remind others and ourselves, of who we are and where we come from. 

Community, Jessica Hernandez, Bear Clan, Kahnawake, Quebec
 

Artist statement

Concerned for the well being of others and her community, the project was designed by Jessica during the winter lockdown of the pandemic in December 2020. It was meant to keep people home safe and provide them with an activity that was good for their mental health during that time. It was titled the Community Isolation Challenge. There were over 120 submissions that came in from all over Turtle Island. The piece shown is Jessica’s original piece. Her vision of the design was to use bright and vibrant colours, to represent the light at the end of the tunnel. The message that came with it: Beading is Medicine.

Jessica Hernandez is a Kanien’kéha beadwork artist, entrepreneur, and mother of two, from Kahnawà:ke, Qc.

  • Featuring Simon Brascoupé

Skywoman, Simon Brascoupé, Mohawk, Algonquin Anishinabeg

Thank you to our partners

Join our email list for the latest updates!

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa

Œuvres d’art

  • Avec Ronnie Dean Harris

sasqets at sx̌ʷéyəməł, Ronnie Dean Harris, Stō:lo/St’át'imc/Lil’wat/N’laka'pamux 
 

Déclaration de l’artiste

À la fin de 1951, le chef des Sḵwx̱wú7meshs Andy Paull a écrit un article qui a plus tard servi d’éloge funèbre pour notre grand-père, le chef Kwikwetlem William alias xem-tey-nem. Dans cet article, Andy reconnaît les événements importants de la vie de notre grand-père. De son témoignage des premiers colons sur la rivière, à sa présence et son témoignage lors d’un important rassemblement historique à Sapperton pour l’anniversaire de la reine Victoria avec le gouverneur Frederick Seymour, à son agression par un détenu de l’hôpital psychiatrique judiciaire de Colony Farm.

Cet article mentionnait également des histoires racontées par notre grand-père Kwikwetlem, selon lesquelles « les Sasquatchs déracinaient les arbres où se trouve aujourd’hui la ville de New Westminster et on les voyait transporter jusqu’à cinq saumons sur chaque main et des ballots de saumon fumé jusqu’à leurs demeures dans la forêt ». Vivant à New Westminster, cela a attiré mon attention et je voulais pouvoir raconter cette histoire et explorer ce souvenir dans cet espace et ce temps.

Alors que j’imagine souvent ce que ce serait de m’asseoir avec mon grand-père, je me demande maintenant ce que ce serait d’entendre ses récits et ses souvenirs à travers les yeux de quelqu’un qui était là : «  il a vu les arbres dont les cimes embrassaient les eaux du Fraser être progressivement abattus » et « il a vu le chemin de fer traverser le continent ».

  • Avec Mary Longman

Passage: Who We Are and Where We Come From, Mary Longman, AskiPiyewsiwiSkwew
 

Déclaration de l’artiste

Le centre de la Saskatchewan est le territoire traditionnel des Cris, des Dénés, des Saulteux, des Métis et des Sioux.

Les rivières de Fort Qu’Appelle et de la Saskatchewan ont été des passages importants pour les déplacements, le commerce et les échanges culturels des peuples autochtones.

Aujourd’hui, les échanges culturels, l’immersion et les familles reconstituées se poursuivent. Dans le centre de la Saskatchewan, la région de Saskatoon abrite environ 300 000 Autochtones et Métis.

Les Autochtones et les Métis représentent 16 % de la population de la Saskatchewan et constituent le deuxième groupe ethnique le plus important, après les Allemands.

L’œuvre, intitulée  Passage: Who We Are and Where We Come From  rend hommage à plusieurs milliers d’années d’histoire de terres traditionnelles autochtones et d’échanges culturels, bien avant le sombre héritage relativement récent des traités coloniaux forcés et de l’oppression.

Pour rendre hommage au passé des terres autochtones, j’appelle le collectif à décoloniser la sémantique, à supprimer les termes coloniaux tels que les traités, à revenir aux mots des territoires traditionnels, pour rappeler aux autres et à nous-mêmes qui nous sommes et d’où nous venons.

  • Avec Jessica Hernandez

Community, Jessica Hernandez, clan de l’Ours, Kahnawake, Québec 
 

Déclaration de l’artiste

Ce projet a vu le jour pendant le confinement imposé par la pandémie en décembre 2020. Soucieuse du bien-être d’autrui et des membres de sa communauté, Jessica Hernandez s’est donné pour mission de remonter le moral des gens confinés à la maison en leur offrant une activité pour briser l’isolement, le Community Isolation Challenge. Plus de 120 personnes des quatre coins de l’île de la Tortue ont répondu à l’appel. Pour réaliser cette œuvre originale, Jessica Hernandez a privilégié les couleurs lumineuses et éclatantes qui symbolisent la lumière au bout du tunnel. Son message est simple, le perlage peut être une source de guérison. 

Membre de la Nation Kanien’kehá:ka, Jessica Hernandez est une spécialiste du perlage, entrepreneure et mère de deux enfants vivant à Kahnawà:ke, au Québec.

  • Avec Simon Brascoupé

Skywoman, Simon Brascoupé, Mohawk, Algonquin Anishinabeg

Merci à nos partenaires

Inscrivez-vous à l'infolettre pour être les premiers informés!