Support for a Safe Re-Opening of Canadian Performing Arts Sector

Engaging with stage hands and backstage employees

Maintaining ongoing dialogue with stagehands and backstage employees is an essential part of the successful re-opening of performing arts venues. Although each venue will develop their own external and internal communications strategy to address their particular situation and context, below is a checklist of potential communication elements to consider when engaging with backstage employees around re-opening.

This checklist should be considered in addition to the section regarding engagement with employees.

During the pre-production phase

  • Communicate the Health and Safety protocols in place at the venue and outline all of the modifications to access, procedures and policies in place at the venue to protect artists, audiences and employees in response to the pandemic. (See the Backstage tab in the audit forms for list of potential elements to be addressed).
  • Outline provincial and municipal health and safety jurisdiction of venue. Provide links to those websites. Include all information relative to legal compliance with health and safety regulations as well as travel restrictions. If organizing a tour, include information on health and safety regulations and travel restrictions of various cities and/or provinces.
  • Develop an expected code of conduct for all backstage employees during the pandemic. Indicate any disciplinary action should there be non-compliance of the code.
  • Maintain regular communications with employees regarding the organization's response status. 
  • Execute a safety audit of all backstage areas and elements specific to the production.
  • Develop a set of safe work protocols for each department taking into consideration scheduling, size of workforce, size of work area, and logistics between the departments or workforce.

On site and production phases

  • Provide an orientation to all permanent and casual employees of each backstage department prior to the beginning of each shift regarding health and safety procedures, protocol and expectations backstage and in the workshops. This is of extreme importance as the physical environment during mounting of a production constantly changes.
  • The individual(s) responsible for each department will be the health coordinator, they will monitor compliance with health and safety regulations and protocol, manage and distribute required PPE and monitor or issue reminders to self-monitor for illness.
  • Review the safe working practices developed on a daily basis particularly those specific to the requirements of the production being mounted. 

After the set-up or performance

  • Develop a strategy to follow up with employees following work calls or a performance.
  • Remind them to disclose any illness to their supervisor should they become ill in the days following their shift . Outline the public health authorities best practices for contact tracing being followed by venue and/or duty to disclose health incidents at venue.
Menu

Soutien à la réouverture sécuritaire du secteur canadien des arts de la scène

Machinistes et personnel des coulisses

Entretenir un dialogue permanent avec les machinistes et le personnel des coulisses est un incontournable pour rouvrir avec succès les lieux de diffusion. Même si chaque lieu de diffusion élaborera sa propre stratégie de communications externes et internes selon sa situation et son contexte particuliers, voici une liste d’éléments à prendre en considération quand le temps sera venu de communiquer avec les machinistes et le personnel des coulisses au sujet de la réouverture.

Les éléments ci-dessous viennent s’ajouter à ceux s’appliquant aux employés.

Pendant la phase de préproduction

  • Communiquez les mesures de santé et de sécurité mises en place sur le site et décrivez toutes les modifications qui ont été apportées aux modalités d’accès, procédures et politiques afin de protéger les artistes, les auditoires et les membres du personnel pendant la pandémie (consultez l’onglet portant sur le personnel des coulisses pour obtenir la liste des éléments potentiels à prendre en considération).
  • Nommez les autorités provinciales et municipales de santé et de sécurité dont relève votre lieu de diffusion et fournissez des liens vers leurs sites Web respectifs. Communiquez toute l’information relative au respect des règlements de santé et de sécurité et aux restrictions de voyage. Si vous organisez une tournée, incluez les mêmes informations qui s’appliquent aux villes et/ou provinces qui seront visitées.
  • Rédigez un code de conduite que tout le personnel des coulisses devra respecter durant la pandémie. Indiquez les sanctions disciplinaires prévues en cas de non-respect.
  • Communiquez régulièrement avec les membres du personnel pour leur faire part de l’état de vos interventions.
  • Effectuez un audit de sécurité des différentes parties des coulisses et des éléments propres à la production.
  • Élaborez des méthodes de travail sûres pour chaque département en tenant compte des horaires, de la taille des effectifs, de la taille des espaces de travail et de la logistique entre les départements ou les effectifs.

Pendant la phase de production sur place

  • Avant le début de chaque quart de travail, communiquez à tous les employés permanents et occasionnels travaillant en coulisse les procédures, processus et attentes en matière de santé et de sécurité dans les coulisses et les ateliers. Cet exercice est d’une extrême importance, car l’environnement physique change constamment pendant le montage d’une production artistique.
  • Pour chaque département, prévoyez d’avoir un coordonnateur sanitaire qui veillera au respect des règles et des procédures en matière de santé et de sécurité, gérera et distribuera l’équipement de protection individuelle requis et surveillera l’autodépistage ou effectuera des rappels à ce sujet.
  • Passez en revue quotidiennement les pratiques de travail sûres mises en place, en particulier celles qui sont propres aux exigences de la production en question. 

Après le montage ou la prestation

  • Élaborez une stratégie de suivi auprès des employés pour connaître leur expérience à la suite d’un appel au travail ou d’une prestation.
  • Rappelez-leur d’aviser leur superviseur s’ils tombent malades dans les jours qui suivent leur quart de travail. Indiquez-leur les meilleures pratiques des autorités de santé publique auxquelles vous vous conformez en ce qui concerne la recherche de contacts et/ou l’obligation de divulguer les incidents sanitaires survenus dans votre lieu de diffusion.
Menu