October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Support for a Safe Re-Opening of Canadian Performing Arts Sector

Overview of Canada’s COVID-19 Health and Safety Legislation

Performing arts centres and venues need to adopt a flexible, phased planning approach that reflects the current public health situation in different parts of the country. Those plans should be informed by resources from all levels of government, particularly by the re-opening plans of their provincial governments and public health authorities.

Recognizing that health and safety information and directives are issued at every level of government, we have gathered the following links to assist in your planning.

Government of Canada

COVID-19 Legislation
The Department of Justice website provides an up-to-date summary of federal legislation, charter statements, orders and regulations, and draft legislative proposals related to COVID-19. 

Government roles and responsibilities
The Federal/Provincial/Territorial Public Health Network Council (PHNC) website outlines the roles and responsibilities of federal, provincial and territorial governments in a public health event, such as COVID-19.

Overview of the federal COVID-19 update
The Government of Canada website provides an overall update of the pandemic.

Economic Support
Canada’s COVID-19 Economic Response Plan provides information on the federal government’s support of Canadians and businesses facing hardship as a result of the pandemic.

Public Health Agency of Canada
The Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) leads the coordination of public health emergencies in Canada. As a federal agency, they liaise domestically and internationally (with the World Health Organization, among others) to coordinate Canada’s response. 

The PHAC website contains many useful tools and resources, as well as updates on the current situation, financial and economic support, health assessments, travel and immigration, safety and security, and on the number of COVID-19 cases in Canada.

Risk assessment tool for workplaces and businesses
This risk assessment tool assists workplaces and businesses in considering risks to employees, customers and clients during the pandemic, and provides examples of measures that may be implemented to mitigate potential risks.

Apps and interactive tools
The federal government also lists COVID-19 apps and interactive tools to help you stay informed.

Provincial governments

In Canada, provincial governments are responsible for delivering health care. While they work closely with the federal government, provinces have developed their own unique re-opening plans with a phased approach based on evolving health guidelines specific to their region. For that reason, performing arts centres and venues must ensure that their re-opening plans align with those of their provincial governments.

The Public Health Agency of Canada has provided links to all provincial government websites for COVID-19, as well as provincial and territorial re-opening plans.

Municipal governments

Major cities and regions also have public health authorities that provide advice and guidance at a local level. In many cases, performing arts centres and venues will need to validate their re-opening plans with these local public health authorities. Please consult the websites of your municipality for this information.

Environmental considerations

It is important to maintain the best environmental practices when developing a re-opening strategy. 

Many venues will be employing various alcohol-based sanitizers and chemical cleaners to ensure a safe space for our audiences. It is important to keep in mind the proper usage and storage of these cleaners, as well as being mindful of people who may have sensitivities to perfumes and the chemicals themselves. The audience should be aware of what cleaners are used so that they can best prepare themselves and take their personal comfort into consideration when deciding to attend a performance once venues are operating again. 

Proper waste disposal is another consideration when developing re-opening plans, as many sanitization products and equipment are designed to be one-use. Some products can be recycled and it’s important to do so when possible. In this time, a single-use product that is properly disposed of is more environmentally responsible than using a reusable product that must be constantly washed or sanitized. Please use products that are made of recycled materials or are biodegradables.  

Audience and staff safety is the priority when considering re-opening venues and the nature of the pandemic has not been environmentally-centered, but keeping mindful of the impact and how to best reduce the harmful effects is important to sustain our environment during and after the pandemic.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 21 septembre 2021.

Soutien à la réouverture sécuritaire du secteur canadien des arts de la scène

Ressources et outils gouvernementaux sur la COVID-19 au Canada

Les centres d’arts de la scène et autres lieux de diffusion se doivent d’adopter une approche de planification souple et progressive qui tient compte de la situation des différentes régions du pays en matière de santé publique. Leurs plans de réouverture devraient s’appuyer sur des sources d’information de tous les ordres de gouvernement, notamment sur les plans de reprise de leurs autorités de santé publique et gouvernements provinciaux.

Sachant que tous les ordres de gouvernement diffusent de l’information et des directives en matière de santé et de sécurité, nous avons regroupé ci-après plusieurs liens pour vous aider dans votre planification.

Gouvernement du Canada

Mesures législatives
Ministère de la Justice - Prenez connaissance des mesures législatives, des énoncés concernant la Charte, des décrets et règlements ainsi que du projet de propositions législatives ayant trait à la COVID-19 via cette page Web, mise à jour régulièrement.

Rôles et responsabilités des gouvernements
Le Plan d'intervention fédéral-provincial-territorial en matière de santé publique dans les cas d'incidents biologiques - Sont énumérés sur cette page Web les rôles et responsabilités des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux en cas d’incidents de santé publique tels que la pandémie de COVID-19.

Mise à jour sur l’éclosion de COVID-19
Le gouvernement du Canada fait le point sur la pandémie de COVID-19.

Soutien économique
Le Plan d'intervention économique du Canada pour répondre à la COVID-19 - 
Vous trouverez ici de l’information sur le soutien offert par le gouvernement du Canada aux particuliers et aux entreprises qui sont aux prises avec des difficultés en raison de la pandémie.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
L’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) dirige les efforts de coordination en cas d’urgence de santé publique au pays. En tant qu’organisme fédéral, elle assure la liaison à l’intérieur de nos frontières ainsi qu’à l’échelle internationale (avec l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, entre autres) afin de coordonner l’intervention du Canada. 

Le site Web de l’ASPC contient de nombreux outils et sources d’information utiles, ainsi que des mises à jour sur la situation actuelle, le soutien financier et économique, les questions de santé, les voyages, l’immigration, la sécurité et le nombre de cas de COVID-19 au Canada. 

Outil d’évaluation des risques
Cet outil aide les lieux de travail et les entreprises à réfléchir aux risques qui guettent leurs employés et leurs clients pendant la pandémie, et fournit des exemples de mesures qui peuvent être mises en œuvre pour les atténuer.

Applications et outils interactifs
Le gouvernement fédéral propose également des applications et outils numériques interactifs pour vous aider à rester informés au sujet de la COVID-19.

Gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux

Au Canada, la prestation des soins de santé relève de la compétence des provinces. Bien que celles-ci travaillent en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral, chacune a un plan de reprise graduelle des activités qui suit l’évolution de ses propres directives sanitaires. Pour cette raison, les centres d’arts de la scène et autres lieux de diffusion doivent veiller à ce que leurs plans de réouverture s’harmonisent avec ceux de leurs gouvernements provinciaux.

L’Agence de la santé publique du Canada nous dirige vers les sites Web de tous les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux concernant la COVID-19 et la reprise graduelle des activités.

Administrations municipales

Les grandes villes et agglomérations ont également leurs propres autorités de santé publique, lesquelles fournissent des conseils et des orientations à l’échelle régionale. Dans bien des cas, les centres d’arts de la scène et autres lieux de diffusion devront faire valider leurs plans de réouverture par leur autorité locale de santé publique. Veuillez consulter le site Web de votre municipalité à ce sujet.

Considérations environnementales

Au moment d’élaborer une stratégie de réouverture, il est important de respecter les meilleures pratiques environnementales. 

De nombreux lieux de diffusion utiliseront divers désinfectants à base d’alcool et nettoyants chimiques pour pouvoir continuer d’offrir à leurs auditoires des espaces sains. Il importe de se rappeler que ces nettoyants doivent être utilisés et entreposés adéquatement et que certaines personnes sont sensibles aux parfums ou aux produits chimiques. Quand les lieux de diffusion seront rouverts au public, il faudra que les personnes souhaitant assister à un spectacle puissent savoir quels nettoyants sont utilisés, afin d’être en mesure de se préparer en conséquence pour assurer leur confort personnel. 

Un autre élément à prendre en considération au moment d’élaborer son plan de réouverture est la gestion appropriée des déchets, car de nombreux produits et articles de nettoyage sont destinés à un usage unique. Certains sont recyclables et il est important de les recycler lorsque cela est possible. Éliminés comme il se doit, les produits à usage unique sont moins dommageables pour l’environnement que les produits réutilisables devant être constamment nettoyés ou désinfectés. Ainsi, veuillez utiliser des produits biodégradables ou fabriqués à partir de matières recyclées.  

La grande priorité lorsqu’on songe à rouvrir les lieux de diffusion est la sécurité des auditoires et du personnel, la nature de la pandémie ayant relégué au second plan les préoccupations environnementales. Il importe toutefois de rester conscient de notre empreinte et des meilleures façons de la réduire afin de préserver notre environnement pendant et après la pandémie.

Menu