Support for a Safe Re-Opening of Canadian Performing Arts Sector

Engaging with artists and external clients 

Maintaining ongoing dialogue with audiences, artists and employees is an essential part of the successful re-opening of performing arts venues. Although each venue will develop their own external and internal communications strategy to address their particular situation and context, below is a checklist of potential communication elements to consider when engaging with artists and external clients around re-opening.

This checklist should be considered in addition to the elements outlined for Audiences.

During the contract & booking phase

  • Communicate the Health and Safety protocols in place at the venue and outline all of the modifications to access, procedures and policies in place at the venue to protect artists, audiences and employees in response to the pandemic. (See audiences tab for list of potential elements to be addressed).
  • Outline provincial and municipal health and safety jurisdiction of venue. Provide links to those websites. Include all information relative to legal compliance with health and safety regulations as well as travel restrictions. If organizing a tour, include information on health and safety regulations and travel restrictions of various cities and/or provinces.
  • Develop an expected code of conduct for artists and external clients during the pandemic. Include review and agreement of compliance with code of conduct as a contractual clause for performance and/or event rental. Indicate conditions and penalties in place for non-compliance.
  • Maintain regular communications with artists and external clients regarding the organization's response status. 

On site

  • Provide an orientation to artists and external clients regarding health and safety procedures, protocol and expectations backstage and in rental spaces.
  • Consider appointing or assigning one or more health coordinators per production to monitor compliance with health and safety regulations and protocol, manage and distribute required PPE and monitor or issue reminders to self-monitor for illness.
  • Integrate health & safety procedure information in the rehearsal, event or performance schedule, communicating reminders and announcements at regular intervals. 

After the event or performance

  • Develop a strategy to follow up with artists and external clients regarding their experience following a performance.
  • Remind them to disclose any illness to the venue should they become ill in the days following their visit. Outline public health authority best practices for contact tracing being followed by venue and/or duty to disclose health incidents at venue.
Menu

Soutien à la réouverture sécuritaire du secteur canadien des arts de la scène

Artistes et clients externes

Entretenir un dialogue permanent avec les auditoires, les artistes et les employés est un incontournable pour rouvrir avec succès les lieux de diffusion. Même si chaque lieu de diffusion élaborera sa propre stratégie de communications externes et internes selon sa situation et son contexte particuliers, voici une liste d’éléments à prendre en considération quand le temps sera venu de communiquer avec les artistes et les clients externes au sujet de la réouverture.

Les éléments ci-dessous viennent s’ajouter à ceux s’appliquant aux auditoires.

À l’étape du contrat d’engagement

  • Communiquez les mesures de santé et de sécurité mises en place sur le site et décrivez toutes les modifications qui ont été apportées aux modalités d’accès, procédures et politiques afin de protéger les artistes, les auditoires et les membres du personnel pendant la pandémie (consultez l’onglet portant sur les auditoires pour obtenir la liste des éléments potentiels à prendre en considération).
  • Nommez les autorités provinciales et municipales de santé et de sécurité dont relève votre lieu de diffusion et fournissez des liens vers leurs sites Web respectifs. Communiquez toute l’information relative au respect des règlements de santé et de sécurité et aux restrictions de voyage. Si vous organisez une tournée, incluez les mêmes informations qui s’appliquent aux villes et/ou provinces qui seront visitées.
  • Rédigez un code de conduite que les artistes et les clients externes devront respecter durant la pandémie. Ajoutez au contrat une clause selon laquelle ils doivent lire le code de conduite et s’engager à le respecter. Indiquez les modalités et les sanctions prévues en cas de non-respect.
  • Communiquez régulièrement avec les artistes et les clients externes pour leur faire part de l’état de vos interventions.

Sur place

  • Communiquez aux artistes et clients externes les procédures, processus et attentes en matière de santé et de sécurité dans les coulisses et les espaces de location.
  • Envisagez de nommer ou d’affecter au moins un (1) coordonnateur sanitaire par production pour veiller au respect des règles et des procédures en matière de santé et de sécurité, gérer et distribuer l’équipement de protection individuelle requis et surveiller l’autodépistage ou effectuer des rappels à ce sujet.
  • Insérez dans le programme des répétitions, des événements ou des spectacles de l’information sur les procédures de santé et de sécurité et diffusez régulièrement des rappels et des annonces sur le sujet.

Après l’événement ou la prestation

  • Élaborez une stratégie de suivi auprès des artistes et des clients externes pour connaître leur expérience à la suite d’une prestation.
  • Rappelez-leur de vous aviser s’ils tombent malades dans les jours qui suivent leur visite. Indiquez-leur les meilleures pratiques des autorités de santé publique auxquelles vous vous conformez en ce qui concerne la recherche de contacts et/ou l’obligation de divulguer les incidents sanitaires survenus dans votre lieu de diffusion.
Menu