Photo hommage à Philippe Halsman © Jean-François Gratton
This event has passed
Photo hommage à Philippe Halsman © Jean-François Gratton
It’s Lepage’s examination of the human heart, his ability to turn heartbreak into a visual and aural metaphors that resonate that is most affecting. Kelly Nestruck, The Globe and Mail
  • Written and directed by: Robert Lepage

NAC Co-presentation

“Strange memories haunt us… whenever they come into contact, they take other directions.” (Jean Cocteau)

For over twenty years, the Théâtre français has been involved in co-producing works and participating in the adventure. This 2013 version, without betraying the power of past presentations, redraws the contours of the needles and rearranges the rings of opium smoke with the complicity of actor Marc Labrèche.

. . . .

A night in 1949. Above the Atlantic Ocean, two comets cross paths in the sky: Jean Cocteau flies to New York while Miles Davis is about to land in Paris. That surprising propeller-driven coincidence stimulated Lepage’s imagination near the beginning of a new two-headed century – driven by audacity, foiled by its own relics. The result, Les aiguilles et l’opium, was a solo piece created in 1991 in the wake of Vinci and Elseneur.

How does one sublimate pain when one has neither the genius of Cocteau nor that of Davis?

First there is Robert, a young Quebecer who, on a trip to Paris, desperately tries to forget the pretty boy let behind in la Belle Province. His emotional dependence awakens the monsters of the deep that only the poet seems able to tame. Thus quite naturally Cocteau appears with his famous A Letter to Americans, murmuring that night for some is day for others. Miles Davis, also under le ciel de Paris, sings I am what I am, liberated for the length of a festival from the racial segregation rampant in his home country.

Swept along in the choral form is a spiral-like tide of dreams that the set designer evokes to wondrous effect. A spinning cube that tests the character’s physical and emotional balance gives rise to rich, improbable exchanges destined to thwart inertia. Acrobatics, jazz and visual magic reveal a universe in waves and knots, all mutually dependant.

Lepage at his best. Américains, bonsoir.

Photo hommage à Philippe Halsman © Jean-François Gratton
© Nicola-Frank Vachon
© Nicola-Frank Vachon
© Nicola-Frank Vachon
Wellesley Robertson III © Nicola-Frank Vachon
© Nicola-Frank Vachon
© Nicola-Frank Vachon

Artists

  • Written and directed by: Robert Lepage
Menu

Photo hommage à Philippe Halsman © Jean-François Gratton
Cet événement est passé
Photo hommage à Philippe Halsman © Jean-François Gratton
It’s Lepage’s examination of the human heart, his ability to turn heartbreak into a visual and aural metaphors that resonate that is most affecting. Kelly Nestruck, The Globe and Mail
  • Texte et mise en scène: Robert Lepage

Coprésentation du CNA

« Étranges souvenirs qui nous habitent … chaque fois qu’ils se touchent, il prennent d’autres directions » (Jean Cocteau)

Il y a plus de vingt ans déjà, le Théâtre français, associé à la création du spectacle, participait à l’aventure. Cette mouture 2013, sans jamais trahir la fulgurance des premiers traits, redessine les contours des aiguilles et recroque les volutes de l’opium avec la complicité du comédien Marc Labrèche.

. . . .

Une nuit de 1949. Au-dessus de l’Atlantique, deux comètes se croisent : Jean Cocteau vole vers New York, et Miles Davis parcourt les derniers kilomètres qui le séparent de Paris. Cette surprenante coïncidence à hélices propulse l’imaginaire lepagien au tournant d’un siècle à deux têtes – agité par l’audace, freiné par ses propres reliques. En résulte Les aiguilles et l’opium, forme solo créée en 1991 dans la foulée de Vinci et d’Elseneur.

Comment sublimer sa douleur lorsqu’on n’a ni le génie de Cocteau ni celui de Davis ?           

D’abord, il y a Robert. Un jeune Québécois qui, en voyage à Paris, tente désespérément d’oublier le joli môme qu’il a laissé dans la Belle Province. Sa dépendance affective réveille les monstres des zones profondes que seul le poète semble pouvoir dompter. Alors, tout naturellement, Cocteau apparaît avec sa fameuse lettre aux Américains : la nuit des uns est le jour des autres, murmure-t-il. Miles Davis, lui aussi sous le ciel de Paris, chante à sa manière Je suis ce que je suis, libéré, le temps d’un festival, de la ségrégation raciale qui sévit outre-Atlantique.

La forme chorale entraîne une marée de songes, spiralique, que la scénographie du spectacle épouse à merveille. Sur un cube en déséquilibre naissent les échanges improbables et féconds destinés à contrecarrer l’inertie. Acrobaties, notes de jazz et magie visuelle déploient un univers en ondes et en nœuds, tout en interdépendances.

Du grand Lepage. Américains, bonsoir.

Photo hommage à Philippe Halsman © Jean-François Gratton
© Nicola-Frank Vachon
© Nicola-Frank Vachon
© Nicola-Frank Vachon
Wellesley Robertson III © Nicola-Frank Vachon
© Nicola-Frank Vachon
© Nicola-Frank Vachon

Artistes

  • Texte et mise en scène: Robert Lepage
Menu