Alexander Shelley

Two Orchestras, One Symphony (Ottawa)

2024 Tour: NACO & OSQ

2024-03-07 20:00 2024-03-08 23:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Two Orchestras, One Symphony (Ottawa)

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33734

In-person event

March 7 7:15PM : pre-concert music by OrKidstra (Canal Lobby Stage) March 8 7:00 PM : pre-concert talk with Alexander Shelley, Music Director of the NAC Orchestra, and Joël Brouillette, Director of Artistic Administration, Orchestre symphonique de Québec (Peter Herrndorf Place) 7:30PM: pre-concert music by OrKidstra (Canal Lobby Stage) -------

The National Arts Centre Orchestra joins forces with the Orchestre symphonique de Québec...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
March 7 - 8, 2024
This event has passed
Alexander Shelley
© Greggory Clarke
Music Classical music Masterworks Vocal Piano
  • Kelly-Marie Murphy Dark Nights, Bright Stars, Vast Universe (NACO commission)
  • CAMILLE SAINT-SAËNS Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22
  • Jacques Hétu Symphony No 5, Op. 81
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 2 hours · With intermission
© Greggory Clarke

March 7

  • 7:15PM : pre-concert music by OrKidstra (Canal Lobby Stage)

March 8

  • 7:00 PM : pre-concert talk with Alexander Shelley, Music Director of the NAC Orchestra, and Joël Brouillette, Director of Artistic Administration, Orchestre symphonique de Québec (Peter Herrndorf Place)
  • 7:30PM: pre-concert music by OrKidstra (Canal Lobby Stage)

-------

The National Arts Centre Orchestra joins forces with the Orchestre symphonique de Québec (OSQ), the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, and sensational guest pianist Kevin Chen for the final stop on a multi-city tour.

Canadian composer Jacques Hétu’s Symphony No. 5 was his last work and “a hymn to liberty” (theglobeandmail.com). It portrays Nazi-occupied Paris and concludes with a choral setting (a musical piece based on a poem or story) of Paul Éluard’s poem Liberté, celebrating the end of the German occupation of the French capital. Hétu died just three weeks shy of the world premiere of this epic work by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra in 2010. 

French composer Camille Saint-Saëns was a true student of life: he wrote poetry and plays, was interested in astronomy, archaeology, philosophy, and literature, spoke many languages, and was a world traveller. He composed prolifically in virtually every genre of music, “as an apple tree bears apples.” Saint-Saëns wrote his Piano Concerto No. 2 in just 17 days and premiered the work himself, almost before the ink was dry on the page. Canadian pianist Kevin Chen found a place on CBC’s Top 30 Hot Canadian Classical Musicians Under 30 by the time he was eight, and, at 17, he added First Prize in the 2022 Concours de Genève International Music Competition to his long list of awards and prizes. In the realm of musical pairings, Saint-Saëns’s Piano Concerto No. 2 and pianist Kevin Chen are a match made in classical heaven.

Artists

  • dscf9130-curtis-perry-2-cropped
    Conductor Alexander Shelley
  • mmexport1683343214308-cropped
    Piano Kevin Chen
  • Featuring NAC Orchestra
  • Featuring Orchestre symphonique de Québec
  • tmc
    Choir Toronto Mendelssohn Choir
  • jean-sebastienvallee-tamphotography-9-cropped
    Artistic Director Jean-Sébastien Vallée
  • Stage Manager Tobi Hunt McCoy

Alexander Shelley

Deux Orchestres, Une Symphonie (Ottawa)

Tournée 2024: L'Orchestre du CNA et l'Orchestre symphonique de Québec

2024-03-07 20:00 2024-03-08 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Deux Orchestres, Une Symphonie (Ottawa)

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33734

Événement en personne

L’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts s’allie à l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec (OSQ), le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir et le sensationnel pianiste invité Kevin Chen pour le dernier arrêt d’une tournée dans plusieurs villes.  La Symphonie no 5, chant du cygne du compositeur canadien Jacques Hétu et « hymne à la liberté » (theglobeandmail.com), raconte le Paris de l’occupation...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
7 - 8 mar 2024
20 h 00 HNE

mars 2024

  1. mar 7 2024
    jeudi

    20 h 00

  2. mar 8 2024
    vendredi

    20 h 00

Fermer
Alexander Shelley
Orchestre du CNA
Orchestre Symphonique de Québec
Toronto Mendelssohn Choir
Kevin Chen
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Voix Piano
  • Kelly-Marie Murphy Dark Nights, Bright Stars, Vast Universe (commande de l’OCNA)
  • Jacques Hétu Symphonie no5, op. 81
  • Événement en personne

L’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts s’allie à l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec (OSQ), le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir et le sensationnel pianiste invité Kevin Chen pour le dernier arrêt d’une tournée dans plusieurs villes. 

La Symphonie no 5, chant du cygne du compositeur canadien Jacques Hétu et « hymne à la liberté » (theglobeandmail.com), raconte le Paris de l’occupation nazie. L’œuvre se conclut par une adaptation musicale pour chœur (une œuvre musicale inspirée d’un poème ou d’un récit) du poème Liberté de Paul Éluard, une célébration de la fin de l’occupation allemande dans la capitale française. Hétu est décédé tout juste trois semaines avant que l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto interprète en première mondiale cette œuvre grandiose, en 2010. 

Le moins que l’on puisse dire, c’est que le compositeur français Camille Saint-Saëns était adepte de l’école de la vie : il a écrit des poèmes et des pièces de théâtre, s’est intéressé à l’astronomie, à l’archéologie, à la philosophie et à la littérature, a appris plusieurs langues et a parcouru le monde. Compositeur prolifique, il a touché à presque tous les genres musicaux, « car un pommier produit des pommes ». Saint-Saëns a composé son Concerto pour piano no 2 en seulement 17 jours et a joué lui-même la première de son œuvre avant même que l’encre n’ait eu le temps de sécher. De son côté, le pianiste canadien Kevin Chen s’est hissé au palmarès des 30 sensationnels interprètes de musique classique canadiens de moins de 30 ans de la CBC alors qu’il n’avait que huit ans. À ses 17 ans, il a ajouté le premier prix du Concours de Genève 2022 à sa longue liste de prix et de distinctions. Le Concerto pour piano no 2 de Saint-Saëns et le pianiste Kevin Chen forment un mariage classique de rêve.

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
mar 4
mar 5
mar 6
mar 7
  • 20 h 00
mar 8
  • 20 h 00
mar 9
mar 10
video:
Alexander Shelley
NAC Orchestra
Orchestre Symphonique de Québec
Toronto Mendelssohn Choir
Kevin Chen

Artistes

  • Avec Orchestre du CNA
  • Avec Orchestre symphonique de Québec
  • choeur Toronto Mendelssohn Choir
  • chef d'orchestre Alexander Shelley
  • piano Kevin Chen
  • directeur artistique Jean-Sébastien Vallée
  • Régisseuse Tobi Hunt McCoy