Emmanuel Ax

Presented by Audi

Emanuel Ax Plays Brahms

FOCUS: Clara, Robert, Johannes

2023-09-13 20:00 2023-09-13 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Emanuel Ax Plays Brahms

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33720

In-person event

Join us for a free pre-concert talk at Peter Herrndorf Place in the NAC, featuring Alexander Shelley and musicologist Hannah Chan-Hartley. For ticketholders, this concert will also be followed by a post-concert chat, onstage at Southam Hall, featuring Emanuel Ax and Alexander Shelley in conversation with journalist Paul Wells. *** Our season-opening festival FOCUS: Clara, Robert, Johannes​ celebrates the abiding friendship between Clara and Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Wednesday, September 13, 2023
8 PM EDT
This event has passed
Emmanuel Ax
Music Classical music Masterworks Vocal Piano Festival events
  • CLARA SCHUMANN Ich stand in dunkeln Träumen
  • ROBERT SCHUMANN Symphony No. 1 in B-flat major, Op. 38, “Spring”
  • JOHANNES BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15
  • In-person event

Join us for a free pre-concert talk at Peter Herrndorf Place in the NAC, featuring Alexander Shelley and musicologist Hannah Chan-Hartley.

For ticketholders, this concert will also be followed by a post-concert chat, onstage at Southam Hall, featuring Emanuel Ax and Alexander Shelley in conversation with journalist Paul Wells.

***

Our season-opening festival FOCUS: Clara, Robert, Johannes​ celebrates the abiding friendship between Clara and Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms who encouraged and inspired each other through lives of prolific creativity, troubling uncertainty, and perhaps even unrequited love.

Johannes Brahms came into Clara and Robert’s lives as an aspiring composer, and the couple’s recognition of Brahms’s genius made Johannes a sensation almost overnight. Brahms began work on his Piano Concerto No. 1 when Robert Schumann suffered a breakdown from which he never recovered, less than a year into their friendship. Renowned American pianist Emanuel Ax finds the beauty in tragedy and in the growing connection between Johannes and Clara in his masterful performance of Brahms’s first piano concerto.

Clara Wieck Schumann was a wildly successful concert pianist and an accomplished composer, particularly in the Lied (art song) repertoire. She composed and gave three Lieder to Robert on their first Christmas together as newlyweds.

Like many young men, Robert Schumann spent several years finding his way—studying law, struggling to be a concert pianist, and even dabbling in novel writing. When he turned to music composition, Clara’s tireless championing of her husband’s music transformed his initially unsuccessful musical reputation. The premiere of Robert’s Symphony No. 1, “Spring,” was conducted by their friend Felix Mendelssohn.

© Emmanuel Ax

Artists

  • dscf9130-curtis-perry-2-cropped
    conductor Alexander Shelley
  • emanuel-ax
    piano Emanuel Ax
  • Mezzo-Soprano Alex Hetherington
  • piano Liz Upchurch
  • bio-orchestra
    Featuring NAC Orchestra

Emmanuel Ax

présenté par Audi

Emanuel Ax joue Brahms

FOCUS : Clara, Robert, Johannes

2023-09-13 20:00 2023-09-13 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Emanuel Ax joue Brahms

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33720

Événement en personne

Rejoignez-nous pour une causerie d'avant-concert gratuite à la Place Peter Herrndorf du CNA, avec Alexander Shelley et la musicologue Hannah Chan-Hartley.

Pour les détenteurs de billets, ce concert sera suivi d'une discussion sur la scène de la Salle Southam entre Emanuel Ax et Alexander Shelley et le journaliste Paul Wells. *** Le festival FOCUS : Clara, Robert, Johannes célèbre la longue amitié qui a uni Clara Schumann,...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
mercredi 13 septembre 2023
20 h HAE
Cet événement est passé
Emmanuel Ax
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Voix Piano Festival
  • CLARA SCHUMANN Ich stand in dunkeln Träumen
  • ROBERT SCHUMANN Symphonie no 1 en si bémol majeur, op. 38, « Le Printemps »
  • JOHANNES BRAHMS Concerto pour piano no 1 en ré mineur, op. 15
  • Événement en personne

Rejoignez-nous pour une causerie d'avant-concert gratuite à la Place Peter Herrndorf du CNA, avec Alexander Shelley et la musicologue Hannah Chan-Hartley.

Pour les détenteurs de billets, ce concert sera suivi d'une discussion sur la scène de la Salle Southam entre Emanuel Ax et Alexander Shelley et le journaliste Paul Wells.

***

Le festival FOCUS : Clara, Robert, Johannes célèbre la longue amitié qui a uni Clara Schumann, Robert Schumann et Johannes Brahms. Ces trois artistes qui se sont encouragés et inspirés mutuellement ont vécu des existences où se mêlaient une créativité débordante, une incertitude troublante et, peut-être même, un amour à sens unique.

Quand Johannes Brahms entre dans la vie de Clara et Robert, il est un aspirant compositeur. L’enthousiasme du couple pour le génie de Brahms fait de lui une vedette pratiquement instantanée. Dans la première année de cette amitié, Brahms commence à écrire son Concerto pour piano no 1, alors même que Robert sombre dans une dépression dont il ne se remettra jamais. Dans son interprétation magistrale du premier concerto pour piano de Brahms, le célèbre pianiste américain Emanuel Ax fait ressortir la beauté qui se cache dans cette tragédie et dans le lien qui s’est tissé entre Clara et Johannes.

Clara Wieck Schumann est une pianiste de concert renommée ainsi qu’une compositrice accomplie, particulièrement en lieder (chansons d’art). Elle a composé trois lieder qu’elle a offerts à Robert lors de leur premier Noël en tant que nouveaux mariés.

Comme nombre de jeunes hommes, Robert Schumann a cherché sa voie pendant plusieurs années : il a étudié le droit, a galéré en tant que pianiste de concert et s’est même essayé à l’écriture de nouvelles. Quand il se tourne vers la composition, il acquiert d’abord une piètre réputation, mais cela vient à changer grâce à la promotion incessante que sa femme Clara fait de sa musique. La première de sa Symphonie no 1, « Le printemps », se fait sous la direction de l’ami du couple Felix Mendelssohn.

Emmanuel Ax

Artistes

  • chef d'orchestre Alexander Shelley
  • piano Emanuel Ax
  • Mezzo-soprano Alex Hetherington
  • piano Liz Upchurch
  • Avec Orchestre du CNA