Yeol Eum Son, Carneiro & Assiginaak

& NACO performs Firebird Suite

2024-06-12 20:00 2024-06-13 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Yeol Eum Son, Carneiro & Assiginaak

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/33719

In-person event

In her NAC Orchestra debut, Korean pianist Yeol Eum Son demonstrates why she is one of the most sought-after concert pianists at work in the world today. Son’s power to project bold dramatic contrasts make her the perfect messenger for Sergei Prokofiev’s formidable Piano Concerto No. 2, a blockbuster film score without the film, conjuring the marching of giants, “cinematic chase scenes”, and exquisite tenderness. Yeol Eum Son is reunited on stage with Portuguese...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
June 12 - 13, 2024
8:00 pm EDT

June 2024

  1. Jun 12 2024
    Wednesday

    8:00pm

  2. Jun 13 2024
    Thursday

    8:00pm

Close schedule
Joana Carneiro © Dave Weiland
Music Classical music Piano
  • BARBARA ASSIGINAAK OKWIINOWAK: Concerto grosso (world premiere, NACO commission)
  • Sergei Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2
  • IGOR STRAVINSKY Firebird Suite (1945)
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual
  • ≈ 2 hours · With intermission

In her NAC Orchestra debut, Korean pianist Yeol Eum Son demonstrates why she is one of the most sought-after concert pianists at work in the world today.

Son’s power to project bold dramatic contrasts make her the perfect messenger for Sergei Prokofiev’s formidable Piano Concerto No. 2, a blockbuster film score without the film, conjuring the marching of giants, “cinematic chase scenes”, and exquisite tenderness. Yeol Eum Son is reunited on stage with Portuguese conductor Joana Carneiro, who, in addition to having led many of the world’s finest orchestras on stages throughout the UK, Europe, Canada, the United States, Asia, and South America, makes her return to Southam Hall. 

Of her new OKWIINOWAK, Indigenous composer and NACO Creative Partner Barbara Assiginaak says, “To my own ears, the orchestras of the world emerged from the nature all around us. Without the nature within which we dwell, we, as humans, have no inspiration, no voice, and no joy. We are all part of nature, and so is the orchestra….” Hear the NACO winds featured in this world premiere performance.

Igor Stravinsky composed his iridescent ballet The Firebird for the Russian impresario Serge Diaghilev’s Ballet Russes, but the music has endured over the years and achieved even greater recognition as an orchestral suite. The 1945 version is the result of a re-write that allowed the work to be copyrighted in the United States, shortly before Stravinsky became an American citizen. 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Jun 10
Jun 11
Jun 12
  • 8:00 pm
Jun 13
  • 8:00 pm
Jun 14
Jun 15
Jun 16
video:
© Joana Carneiro

Artists

  • joana-carneiro-pc-gulbenkian-fcg-rodrigo-souza
    Conductor Joana Carneiro
  • Piano Yeol Eum Son
  • barbara-croall-headshot
    Composer Barbara Assiginaak
  • Flute Joanna G’froerer
  • Piccolo Stephanie Morin
  • anna-petersen-2
    English horn Anna Petersen
  • sean-rice-2
    Bass clarinet Sean Rice
  • bio-orchestra
    Featuring NAC Orchestra

Yeol Eum Son, Carneiro & Assiginaak

et l'OCNA joue l'Oiseau de feu

2024-06-12 20:00 2024-06-13 23:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Yeol Eum Son, Carneiro & Assiginaak

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/33719

Événement en personne

Jouant pour la première fois avec l’Orchestre du CNA, la pianiste coréenne Yeol Eum Son nous montre pourquoi elle est l’une des concertistes de piano les plus recherchées d’aujourd’hui. La puissance de Son pour interpréter les contrastes dramatiques audacieux fait d’elle la parfaite messagère pour le Concerto pour piano no2 de Sergei Prokofiev. Malgré l’absence du film, elle évoque la marche...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
12 - 13 jun 2024
20 h 00 HAE

juin 2024

  1. jun 12 2024
    mercredi

    20 h 00

  2. jun 13 2024
    jeudi

    20 h 00

Fermer
Joana Carneiro © Dave Weiland
Musique Musique classique Piano
  • BARBARA ASSIGINAAK OKWIINOWAK: Concerto grosso (première mondiale, commission de l'OCNA)
  • SERGUEÏ PROKOFIEV Concerto pour piano no 2
  • IGOR STRAVINSKY L’Oiseau de feu : suite (1945)
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue
  • ≈ 2 heures · Avec entracte

Jouant pour la première fois avec l’Orchestre du CNA, la pianiste coréenne Yeol Eum Son nous montre pourquoi elle est l’une des concertistes de piano les plus recherchées d’aujourd’hui.

La puissance de Son pour interpréter les contrastes dramatiques audacieux fait d’elle la parfaite messagère pour le Concerto pour piano no2 de Sergei Prokofiev. Malgré l’absence du film, elle évoque la marche des géants de cette partition de superproduction, des « scènes de poursuites cinématographiques »  et une tendresse exquise. Yeol Eum Son retrouve sur scène la cheffe d’orchestre portugaise Joana Carneiro qui, en plus d’avoir tenu la baguette pour les meilleurs orchestres partout au Royaume-Uni, en Europe, au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Asie et en Amérique du Sud, fait son retour à la Salle Southam.

À propose de sa nouvelle œuvre OKWIINOWAK , la compositrice autochtone et partenaire créative de l’Orchestre du CNA Barbara Assiginaak explique ceci : « À mes oreilles, les orchestres du monde nous viennent de la nature qui nous entoure. Sans cette nature que nous habitons, nous, humains, n’avons ni inspiration, ni voix, ni joie. Nous faisons partie d’elle, tout comme l’orchestre… » Venez écouter les instruments à vent de l’Orchestre du CNA lors de cette première mondiale.

Igor Stravinsky a composé son ballet iridescent L’Oiseau de feu pour l’impresario des Ballets russes Serge Diaghilev. La musique a survécu aux années et s’est même fait une plus grande réputation encore en tant que suite orchestrale. La version de 1945 est le résultat d’une réécriture qui a permis à l’œuvre d’être soumise à des droits d’auteur aux États-Unis, un peu avant que Stravinsky ne devienne citoyen américain.

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
jun 10
jun 11
jun 12
  • 20 h 00
jun 13
  • 20 h 00
jun 14
jun 15
jun 16
video:
Joana Carneiro © Dave Weiland

Artistes

  • Chef d'orchestre Joana Carneiro
  • Piano Yeol Eum Son
  • Compositrice Barbara Assiginaak
  • Flute Joanna G’froerer
  • Piccolo Stephanie Morin
  • Cor anglais Anna Petersen
  • Clarinette basse Sean Rice
  • Avec Orchestre du CNA