Chineke! Orchestra

Great Performers Series

Stewart Goodyear & Chineke! Orchestra

North American Tour

2023-03-16 20:00 2023-03-16 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Stewart Goodyear & Chineke! Orchestra

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31877

In-person event

When Chi-chi Nwanoku, double bass virtuoso and professor at the Royal Academy of Music, set out to assemble an orchestra celebrating diversity composed of highly trained classical musicians, she had no idea where to find them. But find them she did, and the result is the incomparable Chineke! Orchestra (CHIN-neck-ay), comprising young Black and minority ethnic (BME) classical musicians representing 35 nationalities. Since 2015, Chineke! has shone a light on the extraordinarily talented musicians...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
Thursday, March 16, 2023
8 PM EDT
Chineke! Orchestra
Pianist Stewart Goodyear © Anita Zvonar
Conductor Andrew Grams
Music Classical music Violin Cello Piano
  • SAMUEL COLERIDGE-TAYLOR Othello Suite
  • Stewart Goodyear Callaloo – A Caribbean Suite for Piano and Orchestra
  • Florence Price FLORENCE PRICE Symphonie no 1
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

When Chi-chi Nwanoku, double bass virtuoso and professor at the Royal Academy of Music, set out to assemble an orchestra celebrating diversity composed of highly trained classical musicians, she had no idea where to find them. But find them she did, and the result is the incomparable Chineke! Orchestra (CHIN-neck-ay), comprising young Black and minority ethnic (BME) classical musicians representing 35 nationalities. Since 2015, Chineke! has shone a light on the extraordinarily talented musicians who for too long laboured in the dark.  

In their highly anticipated Canadian debut, Chineke! Orchestra appears with Canada’s own Stewart Goodyear, composer and piano superstar, to perform Goodyear’s Callaloo – A Caribbean Suite for Piano and Orchestra. Callaloo is the fulfillment of Goodyear’s dream to compose a work that marries the music of the classical and Calypso worlds. Stewart Goodyear is a long-time friend of the NAC and NACO, having made his NAC debut at the tender age of 12.   

Under the baton of American conductor Andrew Grams, Chineke! also performs Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s beautifully ethereal Othello Suite. The evening closes with Florence Price’s rousing and lyrical Symphony No. 1. The premiere of Price’s symphony in Chicago in 1933 marked the first time a major American orchestra had performed a work written by a female African American composer. 

video:
Chineke! Orchestra
Pianist Stewart Goodyear © Anita Zvonar
Conductor Andrew Grams
Menu

L'Orchestre Chineke!

Série Grands Interprètes présentée par Le Fonds Janice et Earle O'Born pour l’excellence dans les arts de la scène

Stewart Goodyear & l'Orchestre Chineke!

Tournée en Amerique du Nord

2023-03-16 20:00 2023-03-16 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Stewart Goodyear & l'Orchestre Chineke!

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31877

Événement en personne

Lorsque Chi-chi Nwanoku, contrebassiste virtuose et professeure à la Royal Academy of Music, s’est décidée à mettre sur pied un orchestre célébrant la diversité et composé de musiciens classiques accomplis, elle ignorait où les trouver. Elle réussit pourtant son pari et donne naissance à l’incomparable Orchestre Chineke! (« tchi-ne-ké »), qui regroupe de jeunes musiciens classiques...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
jeudi 16 mars 2023
20 h HNE
L'Orchestre Chineke!
Le pianiste Stewart Goodyear © Anita Zvonar
Le chef d'Orchestre Andrew Grams
Musique Musique classique Violon Violoncelle Piano
  • SAMUEL COLERIDGE-TAYLOR Othello Suite
  • Stewart Goodyear Callaloo – Une suite caribéenne pour piano et orchestre
  • Florence Price FLORENCE PRICE Symphonie no 1
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Lorsque Chi-chi Nwanoku, contrebassiste virtuose et professeure à la Royal Academy of Music, s’est décidée à mettre sur pied un orchestre célébrant la diversité et composé de musiciens classiques accomplis, elle ignorait où les trouver. Elle réussit pourtant son pari et donne naissance à l’incomparable Orchestre Chineke! (« tchi-ne-ké »), qui regroupe de jeunes musiciens classiques appartenant à la communauté noire et à diverses minorités ethniques. Pas moins de 35 nationalités sont représentées! Depuis 2015, Chineke! permet à des musiciens longtemps restés dans l’ombre de faire briller leur talent extraordinaire.  

À l’occasion d’une première canadienne très attendue, Chineke! se produit avec Stewart Goodyear, le compositeur et pianiste canadien de renom, pour interpréter Callaloo – Une suite caribéenne pour piano et orchestre. Callaloo est la concrétisation d’un rêve pour Goodyear, celui de composer une œuvre mariant les sonorités de la musique classique et du calypso. Stewart Goodyear est un ami de longue date du CNA et de son orchestre : il n’avait que 12 ans lorsqu’il y a donné sa toute première représentation.  

Sous la direction du chef d’orchestre américain Andrew Grams, Chineke! jouera également Othello, la somptueuse suite aérienne de Samuel Coleridge-Taylor. Enfin, la soirée se conclura sur une note vibrante et lyrique avec la Symphonie no 1 de Florence Price. Interprétée pour la toute première fois en 1933 à Chicago, cette symphonie est aussi la première œuvre écrite par une compositrice afro-américaine à être jouée par un grand orchestre américain.  

video:
L'Orchestre Chineke!
Le pianiste Stewart Goodyear © Anita Zvonar
Le chef d'Orchestre Andrew Grams
Menu