Traffic disruptions - Canada Day weekend
Jonelle Sills, soprano

Summer’s Nostalgia

with the NAC Orchestra

2022-07-08 20:00 2022-07-09 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Summer’s Nostalgia

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/31295

In-person event

There’s something about the summer that conjures up memories of summers past. Take a sonic journey through the warm nostalgia of the season, with the NAC Orchestra led by Canadian conductor/composer Dinuk Wijeratne and featuring Canadian rising star soprano Jonelle Sills. Past and present collide in music by composers who were inspired by old tunes, old poems, old memories, old musical styles—to create something wholly new and distinctive of their own times.  A...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
July 8 - 9, 2022
Jonelle Sills, soprano
Dinuk Wijeratne, conductor/composer
NAC Orchestra © Fred Cattroll
Music Classical music Masterworks Vocal
  • DINUK WIJERATNE A Letter from the Afterlife
  • SAMUEL BARBER Knoxville: Summer of 1915 (Jonelle Sills, soprano)
  • Edvard Grieg Holberg Suite, Op. 40
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

There’s something about the summer that conjures up memories of summers past. Take a sonic journey through the warm nostalgia of the season, with the NAC Orchestra led by Canadian conductor/composer Dinuk Wijeratne and featuring Canadian rising star soprano Jonelle Sills. Past and present collide in music by composers who were inspired by old tunes, old poems, old memories, old musical styles—to create something wholly new and distinctive of their own times. 

A multi-award–winning composer known for his boundary-crossing works, the concert opens with Wijeratne’s own A Letter from the Afterlife, an orchestral version of the first of Two Pop Songs on Antique Poems, originally written for the Afiara Quartet in 2015. A musical setting without words to a poem from the Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám, Wijeratne says he sought to create “my own kind of ‘collision of old and new’, where the beauty and meaning of vintage poems might inspire the kind of loops, grooves, and catchy tunes heard in pop music.” 

One of CBC Music’s 2020 Classical ‘30 under 30’, Jonelle Sills brings to life Samuel Barber’s lyric rhapsody Knoxville: Summer of 1915, from 1947. Setting excerpts from an autobiographical text by American poet James Agee, Barber conveys through soprano voice a child’s experience of the sights, sounds, and sensations of summer—a poignant reflection of a gentler time backed by lush orchestral colour.

The strings of NACO take centre stage in Edvard Grieg’s lively Holberg Suite, a work he originally wrote for piano to commemorate the bicentenary of Dano-Norwegian writer and playwright Ludvig Holberg (1684–1754). An inventive twist on “the olden style” of the Baroque-era dance suite, it evokes the buoyant energy and refined elegance of “Holberg’s time.” 

Thank you to our partners: The Janice & Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LLD (hc).

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Jul 4
Jul 5
Jul 6
Jul 7
Jul 8
  • 8:00pm
Jul 9
  • 2:00pm
Jul 10
Jonelle Sills, soprano
Dinuk Wijeratne, conductor/composer
NAC Orchestra © Fred Cattroll
Menu

Jonelle Sills, soprano

Nostalgie de l’été

avec l’Orchestre du CNA

2022-07-08 20:00 2022-07-09 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Nostalgie de l’été

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/31295

Événement en personne

La saison estivale évoque irrésistiblement les souvenirs des étés passés. Plongez-vous en musique dans la brûlante nostalgie de la saison en compagnie de l’Orchestre du CNA, dirigé par le chef d’orchestre et compositeur canadien Dinuk Wijeratne, et de la soprano canadienne Jonelle Sills, étoile montante de la scène lyrique. Le passé et le présent s’entrechoquent dans la musique de compositeurs qui...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
8 - 9 juillet 2022
Jonelle Sills, soprano
Dinuk Wijeratne, chef d’orchestre et compositeur
Orchestre du CNA © Fred Cattroll
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Voix
  • DINUK WIJERATNE A Letter from the Afterlife
  • SAMUEL BARBER Knoxville: Summer of 1915 (Jonelle Sills, soprano)
  • Edvard Grieg Suite Holberg, op. 40
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

La saison estivale évoque irrésistiblement les souvenirs des étés passés. Plongez-vous en musique dans la brûlante nostalgie de la saison en compagnie de l’Orchestre du CNA, dirigé par le chef d’orchestre et compositeur canadien Dinuk Wijeratne, et de la soprano canadienne Jonelle Sills, étoile montante de la scène lyrique. Le passé et le présent s’entrechoquent dans la musique de compositeurs qui se sont inspirés d’airs, de poèmes, de souvenirs et de styles musicaux anciens pour créer quelque chose d’entièrement neuf et distinctif de leur époque.

Dinuk Wijeratne est un compositeur maintes fois primé, reconnu pour ses œuvres qui transcendent les limites. Le concert s’ouvre sur sa pièce A Letter from the Afterlife, version orchestrale de la première des Two Pop Songs on Antique Poems (« deux chansons pop sur des poèmes antiques »), initialement écrites pour le quatuor Afiara en 2015. Dans cette mise en musique sans paroles d’un poème tiré du Rubáiyát d’Omar Khayyám, le compositeur explique avoir cherché à créer « mon propre type de ‘collision de l’ancien et du nouveau’, où la beauté et la signification des poèmes anciens pourraient inspirer le genre de boucles, de grooves et d’airs entraînants entendus dans la musique pop. »

Au nombre des « Trente artistes classiques de moins de 30 ans les plus en vue » en 2020, selon CBC, Jonelle Sills donne vie à la rhapsodie lyrique de Samuel Barber, Knoxville: Summer of 1915, écrite en 1947. À partir d’extraits d’un texte autobiographique du poète américain James Agee, Barber évoque, par la voix de la soprano, l’expérience d’un enfant face aux images, aux sons et aux sensations de l’été – une poignante méditation sur un temps d’innocence prenant appui sur des couleurs orchestrales chatoyantes. 

Les cordes de l’OCNA sont à l’honneur dans l’entraînante Suite Holberg d’Edvard Grieg, une œuvre qu’il avait d’abord écrite pour le piano afin de commémorer le bicentenaire de l’écrivain et dramaturge dano-norvégien Ludvig Holberg (1684-1754). Cette variation inventive sur le « style ancien » de la suite de danse de l’ère baroque évoque l’énergie vive et l’élégance raffinée de « l’époque de Holberg ».

Merci à nos partenaires Le Fonds Janice et Earle O'Born pour l’excellence dans les arts de la scène Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LLD (hc).

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
jui 4
jui 5
jui 6
jui 7
jui 8
  • 20 h 00
jui 9
  • 14 h 00
jui 10
Jonelle Sills, soprano
Dinuk Wijeratne, chef d’orchestre et compositeur
Orchestre du CNA © Fred Cattroll
Menu