Stewart Goodyear © Andrew Garn

Summer’s Brilliance

with the NAC Orchestra

2022-07-06 20:00 2022-07-07 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Summer’s Brilliance

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30952

In-person event

Revel in the magnificent sounds of the National Arts Centre Orchestra in this vibrant summer concert! Known for his exuberantly creative compositions, Dinuk Wijeratne makes his NACO conducting debut in this program of brilliant music spotlighting the Orchestra’s talented musicians and the remarkable Canadian pianist Stewart Goodyear.  The Sinfonietta by distinguished Canadian composer Violet Archer opens the concert with boldness and energy. Her orchestral piece, written in 1968,...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
July 6 - 7, 2022
Stewart Goodyear © Andrew Garn
Stewart Goodyear © Anita Zvonar
NAC Orchestra © Fred Cattroll
Music Classical music Masterworks Piano
  • VIOLET ARCHER Sinfonietta
  • Mozart Symphony No. 31, “Paris”
  • Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1
  • In-person event
  • Bilingual

Revel in the magnificent sounds of the National Arts Centre Orchestra in this vibrant summer concert! Known for his exuberantly creative compositions, Dinuk Wijeratne makes his NACO conducting debut in this program of brilliant music spotlighting the Orchestra’s talented musicians and the remarkable Canadian pianist Stewart Goodyear. 

The Sinfonietta by distinguished Canadian composer Violet Archer opens the concert with boldness and energy. Her orchestral piece, written in 1968, puts Archer’s deft skill on full display. In a potent fusion of traditional and modern techniques, the Sinfonietta is confident, full of lightness and vivacity. 

Considered innovative for its time, Symphony No. 31 is one of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s most boisterous creations. Composed for the largest orchestral ensemble he had ever written for—it was also the first time he included clarinets in any symphony. Along with grand ceremony and dramatic effects, there’s also grace and subtlety, making this work a splendid showcase for the artistry of NACO’s musicians. 

Opening with thundering chords and a soaring melody, Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto is a gripping masterpiece for piano and orchestra. Stewart Goodyear undertakes the role of daring virtuoso, in this beloved work of beauty, passion, and sparkling verve. Tchaikovsky credited Mozart, his musical idol, for his life in music, saying that “he gave the first impulse to my musical powers and made me love music more than anything else in the world.”

Thank you to our partners: The Janice & Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LLD (hc).

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Jul 4
Jul 5
Jul 6
  • 8:00pm
Jul 7
  • 4:00pm
Jul 8
Jul 9
Jul 10
Stewart Goodyear © Andrew Garn
Stewart Goodyear © Anita Zvonar
NAC Orchestra © Fred Cattroll
Menu

Stewart Goodyear © Andrew Garn

Flamboiement de l’été

avec l’Orchestre du CNA

2022-07-06 20:00 2022-07-07 21:30 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Flamboiement de l’été

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30952

Événement en personne

Laissez-vous transporter par les sublimes sonorités de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts à l’occasion de ce vibrant concert estival! Connu pour ses compositions d’une créativité exubérante, Dinuk Wijeratne fait ses débuts sur le podium de l’OCNA dans ce programme étincelant, qui met en vedette les talentueux musiciens de l’Orchestre et le remarquable pianiste canadien Stewart Goodyear. La Sinfonietta de...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
6 - 7 juillet 2022
Stewart Goodyear © Andrew Garn
Stewart Goodyear © Anita Zvonar
Orchestre du CNA © Fred Cattroll
Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre Piano
  • VIOLET ARCHER Sinfonietta
  • Mozart Symphonie nº 31, « Paris »
  • Tchaïkovsky Concerto pour piano no 1
  • Événement en personne
  • Bilingue

Laissez-vous transporter par les sublimes sonorités de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts à l’occasion de ce vibrant concert estival! Connu pour ses compositions d’une créativité exubérante, Dinuk Wijeratne fait ses débuts sur le podium de l’OCNA dans ce programme étincelant, qui met en vedette les talentueux musiciens de l’Orchestre et le remarquable pianiste canadien Stewart Goodyear.

La Sinfonietta de l’éminente compositrice canadienne Violet Archer amorce le concert avec audace et énergie. Dans cette pièce orchestrale, écrite en 1968, la compositrice déploie toute l’étendue de son talent. Puissante fusion de techniques traditionnelles et modernes, la Sinfonietta est une œuvre remplie d’assurance, de légèreté et de vivacité.

Considérée comme novatrice pour son époque, la Symphonie n° 31 est l’une des créations les plus endiablées de Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Destinée au plus grand ensemble orchestral pour lequel il ait écrit jusqu’alors, c’était aussi la première symphonie dans laquelle il incluait des clarinettes. Outre son caractère cérémonieux et grandiose et ses effets dramatiques, l’œuvre est empreinte de grâce et de sérénité, ce qui en fait une superbe vitrine pour les talents musicaux des membres de l’OCNA.

S’ouvrant sur des accords retentissants et une mélodie enlevée, le Premier concerto pour piano de Tchaïkovski est un envoûtant chef-d’œuvre pour piano et orchestre. Stewart Goodyear endosse le rôle du virtuose intrépide dans cette œuvre bien-aimée, empreinte de beauté, de passion et de verve pétillante. Tchaïkovsky attribuait à Mozart, son idole en musique, le mérite de sa propre vocation musicale, affirmant : « Il a donné la première impulsion à mes dons musicaux, et m’a fait aimer la musique plus que tout au monde. »

Merci à nos partenaires Le Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence dans les arts de la scène Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LLD (hc).

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
jui 4
jui 5
jui 6
  • 20 h 00
jui 7
  • 16 h 00
jui 8
jui 9
jui 10
Stewart Goodyear © Andrew Garn
Stewart Goodyear © Anita Zvonar
Orchestre du CNA © Fred Cattroll
Menu