NACO Principal Guest Conductor John Storgårds © Marco Borggreve

Storgårds conducts Tchaikovsky

NACO Live

2022-10-05 20:00 2022-10-06 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Storgårds conducts Tchaikovsky

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30529

In-person event

The NAC Orchestra is pleased to present an evening of contemporary and classical beauties under the baton of our cherished Principal Guest Conductor, John Storgårds.  Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s hauntingly beautiful Symphony No. 5 confirms his reputation as one of the finest composers of the Romantic era. Remarkably, initial audience and critical response to this lovely work was muted, but the eyes of the world soon opened to Tchaikovsky’s ability to evoke the longings of...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
October 5 - 6, 2022
8:00 pm
NACO Principal Guest Conductor John Storgårds © Marco Borggreve
Music Classical music
  • BETSY JOLAS Onze lieder for trumpet and orchestra
  • Haydn Trumpet Concerto
  • Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5
  • In-person event

Canadian Premiere

The NAC Orchestra is pleased to present an evening of contemporary and classical beauties under the baton of our cherished Principal Guest Conductor, John Storgårds. 

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s hauntingly beautiful Symphony No. 5 confirms his reputation as one of the finest composers of the Romantic era. Remarkably, initial audience and critical response to this lovely work was muted, but the eyes of the world soon opened to Tchaikovsky’s ability to evoke the longings of life and love. Listen in the second movement for the eloquent horn solo that inspired an innocently romantic love song by pop crooner John Denver. 

Swedish trumpeter Håkan Hardenberger has few equals for musicality and breadth of delivery. Renowned as a pioneer of significant and virtuosic new trumpet works, Hardenberger joins forces with the National Arts Centre Orchestra for the first time in more than 25 years to perform both a contemporary tour de force by Franco-American composer Betsy Jolas and a classical masterpiece by Joseph Haydn. 

Franco-American composer Betsy Jolas’s Onze lieder (Eleven Songs) for Trumpet and Orchestra are filled with flirtatious melodies that nod to the jazzy, the tender, and the playful, layered above the moving parts of the orchestra to create a “sophisticated and subtle piece” (nytimes.com). At 95 years old, Jolas remains a formidable and esteemed force in the world of contemporary classical music. The NAC Orchestra is proud to perform the Canadian debut of this work. 

Joseph Haydn’s thrilling Trumpet Concerto was a landmark work written in 1796 for his friend Anton Weidinger, who had invented a new kind of trumpet with five keys that was able to produce more notes in a scale than its predecessors. Always wildly popular, Haydn’s trumpet concerto has recently found even more popularity as the “wake up” theme in the runaway hit series Squid Game.  

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Oct 3
Oct 4
Oct 5
  • 8:00pm
Oct 6
  • 8:00pm
Oct 7
Oct 8
Oct 9
NACO Principal Guest Conductor John Storgårds © Marco Borggreve
Menu

Le chef invité principal de l'OCNA, John Storgårds © Marco Borggreve

Présenté par Audi

Storgårds dirige Tchaïkovsky

L'OCNA en direct

2022-10-05 20:00 2022-10-06 22:00 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Storgårds dirige Tchaïkovsky

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30529

Événement en personne

L’Orchestre du CNA est ravi de vous présenter une soirée remplie de superbes airs contemporains et classiques, sous la baguette de notre bien-aimé premier chef invité, John Storgårds. D’une beauté envoûtante, la Symphonie no 5 est la preuve que Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovsky est l’un des compositeurs les plus brillants de l’époque romantique. Étonnamment, l’accueil initial du public et des critiques a...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
5 - 6 octobre 2022
Le chef invité principal de l'OCNA, John Storgårds © Marco Borggreve
Le chef invité principal de l'OCNA, John Storgårds © Marco Borggreve
Musique Musique classique
  • Haydn Concerto pour trompette en mi bémol majeur, Hob. VIIE:I
  • BETSY JOLAS Onze lieder for trumpet and orchestra
  • Tchaïkovsky Symphonie no 5 en mi mineur, opus 64
  • Événement en personne
  • ≈ 2 heures · Avec entracte

Première canadienne

L’Orchestre du CNA est ravi de vous présenter une soirée remplie de superbes airs contemporains et classiques, sous la baguette de notre bien-aimé premier chef invité, John Storgårds.

D’une beauté envoûtante, la Symphonie no 5 est la preuve que Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovsky est l’un des compositeurs les plus brillants de l’époque romantique. Étonnamment, l’accueil initial du public et des critiques a été tiède, mais le monde a vite compris que Tchaïkovsky avait un talent pour évoquer le tumulte de la vie et de l’amour. Tendez l’oreille lors du deuxième mouvement et vous reconnaîtrez sûrement le remarquable solo de cor qui a inspiré une mélodie, toute innocente et romantique, du chanteur de charme pop John Denver.

Peu de musiciens sont capables d’égaler la musicalité et la richesse des prestations du trompettiste suédois Håkan Hardenberger. Illustre pionnier de nouvelles œuvres pour trompette remarquables exigeant une grande virtuosité, Hardenberger s’unit à l’Orchestre du CNA pour la première fois en plus de 25 ans afin d’interpréter un tour de force contemporain de la compositrice franco-américaine Betsy Jolas ainsi qu’un chef-d’œuvre classique de Joseph Haydn.

Les Onze lieder (onze chansons) pour trompette et orchestre de Betsy Jolas renferment des mélodies aguicheuses aux notes jazzées et au caractère tendre et ludique, qui se superposent aux parties orchestrales pour créer « une œuvre sophistiquée et subtile » (nytimes.com). À 95 ans, Jolas demeure une force illustre et formidable du monde de la musique classique contemporaine. L’Orchestre du CNA est fier de présenter la première canadienne de cette œuvre.

Joseph Haydn a composé l’exaltant et marquant Concerto pour trompette en 1796 pour son ami Anton Weidinger, qui avait inventé une nouvelle sorte de trompette à cinq clés permettant de jouer davantage de notes de la gamme que les modèles existants. Toujours très populaire, ce concerto est devenu encore plus connu après avoir été utilisé comme thème de « réveil » dans la série à succès Squid Game

Le chef invité principal de l'OCNA, John Storgårds © Marco Borggreve
Le chef invité principal de l'OCNA, John Storgårds © Marco Borggreve
Menu