Hilary Hahn

Presented by Audi

Hilary Hahn Plays Dvořák

NACO Live

2023-01-18 20:00 2023-01-19 23:59 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Hilary Hahn Plays Dvořák

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/30524

In-person event

The NAC Orchestra is delighted to welcome violinist Hilary Hahn, one of her generation’s finest musicians, back to Southam Hall to perform Antonín Dvořák’s Violin Concerto, a work that has charmed performers and audiences around the world since its first performance. Hahn’s virtuosity is almost supernatural as she moves effortlessly between moments of tension and tenderness in this abidingly beautiful concerto.  Carlos Simon, composer-in-residence at...

Read more

Southam Hall,1 Elgin Street,Ottawa,Canada
January 18 - 19, 2023
8:00 pm
Hilary Hahn
Music Classical music Violin
  • CARLOS SIMON Fate Now Conquers 
  • DVOŘÁK Violin Concerto
  • Beethoven Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67
  • In-person event

The NAC Orchestra is delighted to welcome violinist Hilary Hahn, one of her generation’s finest musicians, back to Southam Hall to perform Antonín Dvořák’s Violin Concerto, a work that has charmed performers and audiences around the world since its first performance. Hahn’s virtuosity is almost supernatural as she moves effortlessly between moments of tension and tenderness in this abidingly beautiful concerto. 

Carlos Simon, composer-in-residence at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and the 2021 winner of the Sphinx Medal of Excellence, was inspired to compose his Fate Now Conquers by an entry in Beethoven’s journals written in 1815: But Fate now conquers; I am hers; and yet not shall she share in my renown; that life is left to every noble spirit; and that some great deed shall beget that all lives shall inherit. Using the harmonic structure of the second movement of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7, Simon has created musical gestures that depict the unpredictable workings of fate and the uncertainty of life.  

Everyone knows the famous dun dun dun DUN that opens the world’s most recognized symphony, so what can be said about Beethoven’s glorious Symphony No. 5 that hasn’t been said already? This is classical music that gets under your skin, still as fresh and inspiring as ever, more than two centuries after its first performance in 1808. 

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Jan 16
Jan 17
Jan 18
  • 8:00pm
Jan 19
  • 8:00pm
Jan 20
Jan 21
Jan 22
Hilary Hahn
Menu

Présenté par Audi

Hilary Hahn joue Dvořák

& Alexander Shelley dirige la 5e de Beethoven

2023-01-18 20:00 2023-01-19 23:59 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Hilary Hahn joue Dvořák

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/30524

Événement en personne

L’Orchestre du CNA accueille avec enthousiasme Hilary Hahn, l’une des grandes virtuoses de sa génération, dans la Salle Southam, où elle interprétera le Concerto pour violon d’Antonín Dvořák, une œuvre qui charme interprètes et publics depuis sa première. La virtuosité de Hahn, qui va sans effort de la tension à la tendresse dans ce concerto à la beauté indémodable,...

Read more

Salle Southam ,1 rue Elgin,Ottawa,Canada
18 - 19 janvier 2023
20 h 00 HAE
Musique Musique classique Violon
  • CARLOS SIMON Fate Now Conquers 
  • DVOŘÁK Concerto pour violon
  • Beethoven Symphonie No. 5
  • Événement en personne

L’Orchestre du CNA accueille avec enthousiasme Hilary Hahn, l’une des grandes virtuoses de sa génération, dans la Salle Southam, où elle interprétera le Concerto pour violon d’Antonín Dvořák, une œuvre qui charme interprètes et publics depuis sa première. La virtuosité de Hahn, qui va sans effort de la tension à la tendresse dans ce concerto à la beauté indémodable, dépasse presque l’entendement.

Carlos Simon, compositeur en résidence au Centre John F. Kennedy pour les arts du spectacle et récipiendaire d’une médaille d’excellence Sphinx en 2021, s’est inspiré pour sa pièce Fate Now Conquers d’un extrait des journaux intimes de Beethoven rédigé en 1815 : But Fate now conquers; I am hers; and yet not shall she share in my renown; that life is left to every noble spirit; and that some great deed shall beget that all lives shall inherit [Maintenant je subis l’atteinte de la Destinée. Du moins ne mourrai-je pas sans lutte ni sans gloire, Ni sans avoir accompli un de ces grands exploits qui passent à la postérité]. Utilisant la structure harmonique du deuxième mouvement de la Symphonie no 7 de Beethoven, Carlos Simon a créé une gestuelle musicale qui illustre le caractère imprévisible du destin et l’incertitude de l’existence.

Da da da DAAAAM… Tout le monde ou presque reconnaîtra instantanément les premières notes de la symphonie la plus connue au monde. Que pouvons-nous ajouter sur la glorieuse Symphonie no 5 de Beethoven qui n’a pas déjà été dit mille fois? C’est une œuvre pénétrante, qui inspire et enchante toujours, plus de deux siècles après sa première représentation en 1808.

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
jan 16
jan 17
jan 18
  • 20 h 00
jan 19
  • 20 h 00
jan 20
jan 21
jan 22
video: Dvořák: Violin Concerto in A Minor
Dvořák: Violin Concerto in A Minor
Menu