September 2020 Update on Live Performances and Events at the NAC.
© Patrick Boivin.

Black and Blue Matters – Track 1: No One Gives a F*ck About a Cop

Black Theatre Workshop (Montreal, QC)

© Patrick Boivin.
Theatre
  • Playwright, Lyricist Omari Newton
  • Director Diane Roberts

Black and Blue Matters - Track 1: No One Gives a F*ck About a Cop is a rap battle between Sammir Frederique, a Black teenager who was shot nine times by a police officer, and David Harrison, the white police officer who shot him.

This installation performance is an excerpt from Black and Blue Matters, a satirical, interactive Hip Hop musical written by Omari Newton and directed by Diane Roberts, that deconstructs the justice system, truth, white supremacy, and the nature of post/neo-colonial trauma. It will premiere in 2021-22 at Black Theatre Workshop, currently celebrating its 50th anniversary season.

Exact time and location of this event to be confirmed. Please check here for updates.


As the performing arts sector continues to face unprecedented challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the National Arts Centre has responded with Grand Acts of Theatre, an initiative to bring Canadian artists and audiences together. Eleven of Canada’s most innovative theatre companies have been engaged to create and perform large-scale, new works in response to these times, which will be performed outdoors in front of live audiences in various Canadian locations, filmed, and later shared online.

This event will be photographed and recorded, with excerpts being presented online at a later date, so we are advising all attendees that by attending the event, individuals are deemed to consent to the recording of their image and use of their image in connection with recordings and photographs of the event, which may be published. All video recordings and images of the event captured by the organizers shall be the sole property of organizers and all rights of personality, publicity, privacy, or other rights of participants in recordings or photographs shall be deemed to have been waived.

  • Strong language
© Patrick Boivin.

Artists

  • Playwright, Lyricist Omari Newton
  • Director Diane Roberts
  • Performers Nindy Banks, Justin Johnson, Troy Slocum, Tali Taliwa
  • Sound Designer, Composer Troy Slocum
  • Set and Costume Designer Nalo Soyini Bruce
  • Lighting Designer Tim Rodrigues
  • Choreographer Alexandra ‘Spicey’ Landé
  • Production Manager Hannah Kirby
  • Video George Allister (VideoCompany), Patrick Boivin (VideoCompany)
  • Assistant Director Lydie Dubuisson
  • Sound Engineer Rob Denton
  • Stage Manager Danielle Skene
  • Assistant Costume Designer Courtney Moses Orbin
  • Artistic Director Quincy Armorer
  • General Manager Adele Benoit
Menu

EN DIRECT : Calgary Folk Music Festival avec The Halluci Nation
© Patrick Boivin.

Black and Blue Matters – Track 1: No One Gives a F**k About a Cop

Black Theatre Workshop (Montreal, QC)

20 h 00

juillet 2021

  1. jui 28 2021
    mercredi

    20 h 00 - 22 h 00

  2. jui 29 2021
    jeudi

    20 h 00 - 22 h 00

    20 h 00 - 22 h 00

Fermer
© Patrick Boivin.
Théâtre

Black and Blue Matters - Track 1: No One Gives a F**k About a Cop est un combat de rap entre Sammir Frederique, un adolescent noir qui s’est fait tirer à neuf reprises par un policier, et David Harrison, le policier blanc qui l’a tiré.

Cette installation est un extrait de la production Black and Blue Matters, une comédie musicale hip-hop satirique et interactive écrite par Omari Newton et mise en scène par Diane Roberts, qui déconstruit le système judiciaire, la vérité, la suprématie blanche et la nature du traumatisme post-néocolonial. Elle sera présentée en première en 2021-2022 au Black Theatre Workshop, qui célèbre présentement son 50e anniversaire.


Tandis que le secteur des arts du spectacle continue de faire face à des défis sans précédent en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, le Centre national des Arts lance Envolées théâtrales, une initiative visant à réunir artistes et auditoires canadiens. Onze des compagnies de théâtre les plus novatrices du pays ont été recrutées pour concevoir et interpréter de nouvelles œuvres de grande envergure en réponse à cette période difficile, qui seront présentées à l’extérieur devant public, en direct, en différents endroits au Canada. Ces créations seront aussi filmées et diffusées en ligne. 

Ce spectacle sera photographié et filmé, et des extraits vidéo seront ultérieurement publiés en ligne. En y assistant, les membres de l’auditoire sont réputés consentir à ce que leur image soit filmée ou photographiée et utilisée dans le cadre des enregistrements et photographies du spectacle, qui peuvent être rendus publics. Tous les enregistrements vidéo et toutes les images du spectacle effectués par les organisateurs sont la propriété exclusive de ceux-ci. Les participants sont réputés renoncer à faire valoir tous droits relatifs à la personnalité, à la publicité, à la vie privée ou tout autre droit qu’ils sont susceptibles d’avoir en ce qui a trait aux enregistrements ou aux photos.

  • Langage grossier
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
jui 26
jui 27
jui 28
  • 20 h 00
jui 29
  • 20 h 00
  • 20 h 00
jui 30
jui 31
aoû 1
© Patrick Boivin.

Artistes

  • Texte, paroles Omari Newton
  • Mise-en-scène Diane Roberts
  • Interprètes Jaleesa Coligny, Justin Johnson, Troy Slocum, Tali Taliwa
  • Musique originale, conception sonore Troy Slocum
  • Décors, costumes Nalo Soyini Bruce
  • Éclairages Tim Rodrigues
  • Choréographie Alexandra ‘Spicey’ Landé
  • Gestionnaire de production Hannah Kirby
  • Vidéo George Allister (VideoCompany), Patrick Boivin (VideoCompany)
  • Assistante à la mise en scène Lydie Dubuisson
  • Ingénieur du son Rob Denton
  • Régie Danielle Skene
  • Assistante a à la conception des costumes Courtney Moses Orbin
  • Directeur artistique Quincy Armorer
  • Directrice général Adele Benoit
  • Production Godfather D
Menu