November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Video on demand

Grand Acts of Theatre

Marking This Moment

As the performing arts sector continues to face unprecedented challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the National Arts Centre has responded with Grand Acts of Theatre, an initiative to bring Canadian artists and audiences together.

This fall, twelve of Canada’s most innovative theatre companies were engaged to create and perform large-scale, new works in response to these times, performed outdoors in front of live audiences in various Canadian locations.

Through Grand Acts of Theatre, the NAC invested in the creation of ambitious new work by some of the country's most ingenious artists, reached out to theatre audiences who had been missing the live experience, and is now deepening engagement with a wider audience by sharing the performances online.

For this initiative, NAC English Theatre Artistic Director Jillian Keiley teamed up with Vancouver theatre maker Sherry Yoon, Artistic Director of Boca del Lupo, as the co-curator of Grand Acts of Theatre. The companies selected by Keiley and Yoon have created highly theatrical, large-scale outdoor work with great artistic impact and broad community reach.

The National Arts Centre now welcomes you to enjoy these performances from wherever you are, with the videos below.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de novembre 2020.
Vidéo sur demande

Envolées théâtrales

Marquons ce moment

Tandis que le secteur des arts du spectacle continue de faire face à des défis sans précédent en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, le Centre national des Arts lance Envolées théâtrales, une initiative visant à réunir artistes et auditoires canadiens.

Cet automne, douze des compagnies de théâtre les plus novatrices du pays ont été recrutées pour concevoir et interpréter de nouvelles œuvres de grande envergure en réponse à cette période difficile, qui seront présentées à l’extérieur devant public, en direct, en différents endroits au Canada.

Dans le cadre d’Envolées théâtrales, le CNA a financé la création de nouvelles œuvres ambitieuses, appuyé quelques-uns des artistes les plus ingénieux du pays, tissé des liens avec les auditoires qui n’ont pu récemment aller au théâtre, et mobilise aujourd’hui un vaste public grâce à la diffusion des représentations en ligne.

Pour cette initiative, Jillian Keiley, directrice artistique du Théâtre anglais du CNA, et l’artiste de théâtre vancouvéroise Sherry Yoon, directrice artistique de Boca del Lupo, sont cocommissaires d’Envolées théâtrales. Les compagnies sélectionnées par Keiley et Yoon ont conçu des spectacles divertissants de grande envergure destinés aux espaces extérieurs, ayant un impact artistique majeur et s’adressant à une large collectivité.

Le Centre national des Arts vous invite maintenant à profiter de ces prestations, peu importe où vous êtes, grâce aux vidéos ci-dessous.​

Menu