February 12, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Grand Acts of Theatre

Tauvigjuaq (The Great Darkness)

Artcirq (Igloolik, NU)
Video 10 / 12
Subtitles available in English and French

Artcirq performs in the streets of Igloolik, on the day that marks the departure of the sun for the next eight weeks. Traditionally, the great darkness period, Tauvigjuaq, was associated with taboos. String games (very popular in every igloo) were forbidden, and old strings had to be cut, until the return of the sun in January for a new cycle of life. Artcirq keeps this tradition alive with ten artists and a large rope representing the ten fingers and a string, until it finally gets cut. The audience watch from their windows, while the music for this act plays on Uqallagvik, the local radio station. With Tauvigjuaq, Artcirq offers a much needed and meaningful live performance while teaching and revitalizing traditional Inuit string games.

Tauvigjuak (The Great Darkness) was performed for a live audience on Tuesday, November 17, 2020 in Igloolik, NU. This live performance adheres to the health and safety guidelines of the region in which it was recorded.

- - -

Project Leader / Director: Jacky Qrunnut

Co-Director: Guillaume Ittukssarjuat Saladin

Assistant Directors: Alex Artnatsiaq, Jimmy Awa Qamukaq

Production Assistant: Florence Cardinal

Camera: Mark Jr Malliki

Editor: Carol Kunnuk

Assistant Editor: Mark Jr Malliki

NITV Executive Director: Lucy Tulugarjuk

Performers: Ashley Akittirq, Neil Akittirq, Charlotte Angugatiaq, Alex Arnatsiaq, Edith Auksaq, Maya Cook, Alexa Ivalu, Dylan Kayotak, Sebastian Jr Natar, Jimmy Qamukaq, Jane Tapatsiak, Bernadette Uttak

Music: Day and Night (Unikkaaqtuat)

Composed and performed by: Felix Boisvert, Rita Clair Mike Murphy, Joshua Qaumariaq, Christine Tootoo, Terry Uyarak

Driver: Wayne Ungalaaq

Special Thanks: Commmunity of Igloolik, Uqallagvik (radio station), National Arts Centre, Canadian North, Fonds Hamelys, Taqqut Productions, Les 7 doigts de la main

Administration: Florence Cardinal, Daisy Qamukaq

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 2 septembre 2021.
Envolées théâtrales

Tauvigjuaq (La grande noirceur)

Artcirq (Igloolik, NU)
Avec sous-titres en anglais et français

Artcirq joue dans les rues d’Igloolik lors du jour qui marque le départ du soleil pour les huit prochaines semaines. Traditionnellement, la période de grande noirceur, Tauvigjuaq, est associée aux tabous. Les jeux de ficelle (très populaires dans chaque igloo) étaient interdits, et les vieilles ficelles devaient être coupées jusqu’au retour du soleil en janvier pour un nouveau cycle de vie. Artcirq insuffle une nouvelle vie à cette tradition avec dix artistes et une grande corde qui représentent les dix doigts et une ficelle, jusqu’à ce que cette dernière soit coupée. Le public épie l’action par la fenêtre, tandis que la musique d’accompagnement est diffusée sur la station de radio locale, Uqallagvik. Avec Tauvigjuaq, Artcirq offre une prestation importante et nécessaire tout en enseignant et redynamisant les jeux de ficelles inuits traditionnels.  ​

Tauvigjuak (La grande noirceur) a été interprété en direct devant public le mardi 17 novembre 2020 à Igloolik (NU). Ce spectacle en direct respecte les directives de santé et de sécurité de la région dans laquelle il a été enregistré.

- - -

Direction du projet et mise en scène : Jacky Qrunnut

Co-mise en scène : Guillaume Ittukssarjuat Saladin

Assistance à la mise en scène : Alex Artnatsiaq, Jimmy Awa Qamukaq

Assistance à la production : Florence Cardinal

Caméra : Mark Jr Malliki

Édition : Carol Kunnuk

Assistance à l'édition: Mark Jr Malliki

Direction générale, NITV: Lucy Tulugarjuk

Interprétation : Ashley Akittirq, Neil Akittirq, Charlotte Angugatiaq, Alex Arnatsiaq, Edith Auksaq, Maya Cook, Alexa Ivalu, Dylan Kayotak, Sebastian Jr Natar, Jimmy Qamukaq, Jane Tapatsiak, Bernadette Uttak

Musique originale : Jour et nuit (Unikkaaqtuat)

Composition et interprétation : Felix Boisvert, Rita Clair Mike Murphy, Joshua Qaumariaq, Christine Tootoo, Terry Uyarak

Service de transport : Wayne Ungalaak

Merci : Commmunauté d'Igloolik, Uqallagvik (station de radio), Centre nationale des Arts, Canadian North, Fonds Hamelys, Taqqut Productions, Les 7 doigts de la main

Administration : Florence Cardinal, Daisy Qamukaq

Menu