Noon-hour Concerts: September 30

NAC Orchestra 50th Anniversary Celebration

Music Classical music
  • Vivaldi Concerto for Piccolo Trumpet in B flat, Mvt 1
  • WALTER MACDONALD WHITE BEAR Magpie’s Laughter
  • SHERRYL SEWEPAGAHAM Music Alive!/Vive la musique!
  • TRADITIONAL, Arr. SEWEPAGAHAM Sakihitowin
  • Plus additional songs in Cree and Michif

This exciting concert is the first in the four-part series of free noon-hour concerts commemorating the NAC Orchestra at 50. This series will celebrate musicians with connections to the NAC Orchestra’s outstanding local and national education programs. The NAC Music Alive Program (MAP) has empowered Canada’s rural, Indigenous and underserved communities through music and the arts since 2006. Three MAP teaching artists from Alberta, where MAP was born, will share the music, stories, and interactive activities that have made MAP such a powerful vehicle for growth and creativity.

Samantha Whelan is a trumpet player, storyteller, teaching artist, and producer. She’s been an immensely popular artist with the MAP since the program’s inception in 2006. Sherryl Sewepagaham performs and composes traditional and contemporary First Nations drum songs and is part of the JUNO-nominated group Asani. She is also an experienced music therapist and educator. Her song “Music Alive!” was composed especially for the MAP in Western Canada. Walter MacDonald White Bear is a Cree singer-songwriter from the Moose Factory First Nation as well as an educator and motivational speaker.

Repertoire for this presentation will showcase compositions by the artists themselves as well as traditional songs and classical staples, all of which have delighted and inspired thousands of children across Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba.

The NAC’s 50th anniversary events and programs are made possible with support from Gail Asper, O.C., O.M., LL.D. and Michael Paterson, Bonnie and John Buhler, Alice and Grant Burton, Margaret Fountain, C.M., DFA (h) and David Fountain, C.M., Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LL.D. (hc). Janice and Earle O’Born, Gail O’Brien, LL.D. and David O’Brien, O.C., and Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM.

Performance is approximately 1 hour with no intermission.

Menu

Concerts sur l’heure du midi : 30 septembre

Célébration du 50e anniversaire de l'Orchestre du CNA

Musique Musique classique
  • Vivaldi Concerto pour trompette piccolo en si bémol, Mvt 1
  • WALTER MACDONALD WHITE BEAR Le rire de la pie
  • SHERRYL SEWEPAGAHAM Music Alive!/Vive la musique!
  • TRADITIONNEL, Arr. SEWEPAGAHAM Sakihitowin
  • Et chansons additionnelles en cri et michif

Ce concert remarquable est le premier d’une série de quatre concerts gratuits offert sur l’heure du dîner pour souligner le 50e anniversaire de l’Orchestre du CNA. Cette série mettre en valeur des musiciens rattachés aux programmes éducatifs exceptionnels offerts sur le plan local et national par l’Orchestre du CNA. Le programme Vive la musique (VLM) favorise l’autonomie des collectivités rurales, autochtones et mal desservies du Canada à travers la musique et les arts depuis 2006. Trois artistes-enseignants VLM de l’Alberta, là où le programme est né, partageront la musique, les histoires et les activités interactives qui font de VLM un outil puissant de croissance et de créativité.  

Samantha Whelan est trompettiste, conteuse, artiste-enseignante et réalisatrice. Elle connaît une immense popularité au sein de VLM depuis les débuts du programme en 2006. Sherryl Sewepagaham compose et interprète des chansons de tambour traditionnelles et contemporaines issues des Premières Nations, et fait partie du groupe Asani, finaliste aux prix JUNO. Elle est également une éducatrice et musicothérapeute chevronnée. Sa chanson Vive la musique! a été composé expressément pour le programme dans l’ouest du pays. Walter MacDonald White Bear est un auteur-compositeur-interprète cri de de la Première Nation de Moose Factory First Nation, ainsi qu’un éducateur et conférencier.  

Le répertoire pour cette présentation comporte des compositions originales des artistes, ainsi que des chansons traditionnelles et des incontournables de la musique classique, qui ont fait le bonheur de milliers d’enfants à travers l’Alberta, la, Saskatchewan et le Manitoba.

Les activités et la programmation du 50e anniversaire du CNA ont été rendues possibles grâce au soutien de Gail Asper, O.C., O.M., LL.D., et Michael Paterson; Bonnie et John Buhler; Alice et Grant Burton; Margaret Fountain, C.M., DFA (h), et David Fountain, C.M.; Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LL.D. (hc); Janice et Earle O’Born; Gail O’Brien, LL.D., et David O’Brien, O.C.; et Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM.

Durée approximative de 1 heure sans entracte.

Menu