Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade
Sean Rice © Fred Cattroll

Panel Discussion: NAC Music Alive Program

NAC Orchestra 50th Anniversary Celebration

1:15 pm
Atelier Shenkman Smith
This event has passed
Sean Rice © Fred Cattroll
Music Classical music Talks

Host Sean Rice, the NAC Orchestra’s second clarinet, leads this exploration of the Orchestra’s Music Alive Program (MAP), created to empower Canada’s rural, Indigenous, and underserved communities through music and the arts. Since its creation in 2006, the program has opened musical doors and changed the lives of more than 125,000 students and music educators. Share the personal journeys and heart-warming memories of the extraordinary teaching artists who have brought their enthusiasm and artistic gifts to students, educators, and community members across Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nunavut, and Atlantic Canada.

Join us for this first in a series of three lively conversations exploring the National Arts Centre Orchestra’s illustrious 50-year history. This series of discussions will feature memories and highlights from some of its longest-serving players, its dedicated and talented educators, and the extraordinary young artists the Orchestra has mentored and inspired over the years.

The NAC’s 50th anniversary events and programs are made possible with support from Gail Asper, O.C., O.M., LL.D. and Michael Paterson, Bonnie and John Buhler, Alice and Grant Burton, Margaret Fountain, C.M., DFA (h) and David Fountain, C.M., Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LL.D. (hc). Janice and Earle O’Born, Gail O’Brien, LL.D. and David O’Brien, O.C., and Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM.

This talk pairs with the following event:

Menu

Sean Rice © Fred Cattroll

Tables rondes : Le programme Vive la musique du CNA

Célébration du 50e anniversaire de l'Orchestre du CNA

13 h 15
Atelier Shenkman Smith
Cet événement est passé
Sean Rice © Fred Cattroll
Musique Musique classique Causeries

Sean Rice, deuxième clarinette de l’Orchestre du CNA, animera cette exploration du programme Vive la musique de l’Orchestre, créé pour favoriser l’autonomie des collectivités rurales, autochtones et mal desservies du Canada à travers la musique et les arts. Depuis sa création en 2006, le programme a ouvert les horizons musicaux et transformé les vies de plus de 125 000 étudiants et enseignants de musique. Plongez au cœur des expériences personnelles et souvenirs attendrissants des incroyables artistes-enseignants qui ont partagé leur enthousiasme et leurs talents artistiques avec des étudiants, des enseignants et des membres de la communauté à travers l’Alberta, la Saskatchewan, le Manitoba, le Nunavut, et les Maritimes.

Soyez des nôtres pour cette première d'une série de trois discussions animées au sujet du riche passé de l’Orchestre du CNA, qui célèbre ses 50 ans. Cette série de discussions mettra en vedette les souvenirs et moments marquants de certains des membres de plus longue date de l’Orchestre, des éducateurs dévoués et talentueux, et des jeunes artistes exceptionnels que l’Orchestre a cultivés et inspirés au fil des ans.  

Les activités et la programmation du 50e anniversaire du CNA ont été rendues possibles grâce au soutien de Gail Asper, O.C., O.M., LL.D., et Michael Paterson; Bonnie et John Buhler; Alice et Grant Burton; Margaret Fountain, C.M., DFA (h), et David Fountain, C.M.; Elinor Gill Ratcliffe, C.M., O.N.L., LL.D. (hc); Janice et Earle O’Born; Gail O’Brien, LL.D., et David O’Brien, O.C.; et Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM.

Causerie en lien avec le programme suivant :

Menu