Music For A Sunday Afternoon

Music Classical music Chamber music
  • Rossini Duetto for Cello and Double Bass
  • Stewart Goodyear Piano Quartet
  • Rachmaninoff Cello Sonata, Op. 19

Let yourself fall in love all over again with the warmth and spirit of the cello at today’s concert, curated by and featuring NAC Orchestra principal cellist Rachel Mercer.

If you’re a lover of nineteenth-century chamber music, you’ll fall hard for Rossini’s Duetto for cello and double bass. From its infectious first movement through its soulful second movement to the melodic back-and-forth of its instruments in the third movement, this captivating duet will lift you to new emotional heights.

You probably know Stewart Goodyear as one of the world’s great pianists, but you might not know he is also an exceptionally talented composer. His enigmatic and spirited Piano Quartet was commissioned by the Kingston Chamber Music Festival and premiered by the Clarosa Quartet.

Rachmaninoff’s Cello Sonata was the composer’s last chamber piece, written for his friend and best man. Full of the emotion that was characteristic of the Russian Romantic Era, the Sonata showcases piano and cello equally, traversing the full range of human emotion with sensitivity and power.

Menu

Musique pour un dimanche après-midi

14 h 00
Musée des beaux-arts du Canada 380, promenade Sussex Ottawa
Musique Musique classique Musique de chambre
  • Rossini Duo pour violoncelle et contrebasse
  • Stewart Goodyear Quatuor de piano
  • Rachmaninov Sonate pour violoncelle, opus 19

Laissez-vous une fois de plus charmer par la chaleur et l’âme du violoncelle à la faveur de ce concert, organisé par la violoncelle solo de l’Orchestre du CNA, Rachel Mercer, et la mettant en vedette.

Si vous affectionnez la musique de chambre du XIXe siècle, vous allez adorer le Duetto pour violoncelle et contrebasse de Rossini. De l’envoûtant premier mouvement au dialogue échevelé du troisième, en passant par un second mouvement expressif, ce captivant duo vous fera atteindre des sommets d’émotion.

Vous connaissez sans doute Stewart Goodyear comme l’un des plus grands pianistes de notre temps, mais peut-être ne savez-vous pas que c’est aussi un compositeur exceptionnel. Son énigmatique et fougueux Quatuor pour piano lui a été commandé par le Festival de musique de chambre de Kingston et a été créé par le Quatuor Clarosa.

La Sonate pour violoncelle et piano est la dernière œuvre de musique de chambre composée par Rachmaninov, dédiée à son ami le violoncelliste Brandukov. Fertile en émotions, dans la pure tradition du romantisme russe, la sonate met le piano et le violoncelle de l’avant à parts égales, parcourant toute la gamme des émotions humaines avec force et sensibilité.

Menu