October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Music For A Sunday Afternoon

Chamber music with the NAC Orchestra
Rossini

Duetto for Cello and Double Bass

Born in Pesaro, February 29, 1792
Died in Paris, November 13, 1868

The repertoire of solo and chamber works incorporating a double bass is relatively small. When you restrict that repertoire to works for the duo combination of double bass and cello, the list of works becomes positively minuscule. And when you further limit the list to famous composers, the result is a single work: Rossini’s Duetto (or Duo). Other contributions to this scant repertoire include Edgar Meyer’s Two Movements for Cello and Bass, Harald Genzmer’s Bagatelles, John Harbison’s Deep Dances and Bottesini’s Duo Concertante on Themes from Bellini’s I Puritani (with orchestra).

Rossini, whose name is known throughout the civilized world as a synonym for opera, actually composed a fair amount of chamber music, some of it for highly unusual combinations of instruments. His earliest such works, composed in just three days when he was all of twelve, are six Sonate a quattro. Rossini avoided calling them “string quartets,” even though technically they are, since they were written for two violins, cello and double bass instead of the traditional two violins, viola and cello. Then there is an Andante con variazioni for harp and viola; a Serenata for string quartet, flute, oboe and English horn; and so on.

The Duetto was written in 1824 for a wealthy amateur cellist, Sir David Salomons, who wanted a piece for himself and the famous double bassist and composer Domenico Dragonetti (1763–1846) to play. The only known performance until modern times was a private one, at Salomons’ home in London on July 21, 1824.

The Duetto remained virtually unknown until the manuscript was sold by the Salomons family at a Sotheby’s auction in 1968. Since then it has impressed those listeners fortunate enough to hear a rare performance with its melodic invention (the final polacca movement is a real charmer!), richness of texture, absolute equality of the partnership, and the bass’s surprising agility and singing quality.

Program notes by Robert Markow

Stewart Goodyear

Piano Quartet

Born in Toronto, February 25, 1978
Now living in Toronto

Stewart Goodyear has been performing at the National Arts Centre since the age of 12. By then he had already been playing the piano for almost a decade, having discovered the instrument at the age of three. It was his father’s collection of LPs, which included much Beethoven, that sparked his keen mind and sent him in the direction of a musical career. By four, he was playing by ear on a toy piano. At 11, he won the Canadian Music Competition, at thirteen he performed his first concerto (Shostakovich No. 1) with the Manitoba Chamber Orchestra. At 15, Goodyear graduated from the Glenn Gould School at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto, where he studied with James Anagnoson. Subsequent study took him to the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia where he studied with Leon Fleisher, Gary Graffman and Claude Frank, and to The Juilliard School in New York, where he studied with Oxana Yablonskaya and earned his Master’s degree in piano performance.

Goodyear is renowned for his signature marathon event: performing all 32 Beethoven piano sonatas in a single day. This he has done at several venues, including Toronto’s Koerner Hall. His recording of the complete cycle received a JUNO nomination for Best Classical Solo Recording in 2014. Goodyear is also known as an improviser, arranger and composer. He invents his own cadenzas on the spot when performing concertos of the classical period, just as all pianists did in that age, every one different. As an arranger, he has transcribed Tchaikovsky’s complete Nutcracker ballet for solo piano. Goodyear has been composing since the age of eight and has more than a dozen works to his credit, including those with such intriguing titles as Baby Shark Fugue, Count Up, Dogged by Hell Hounds and Callaloo (his orchestral tribute to Trinidad, where half his family grew up); and others with traditional titles like Piano Sonata (first performed at his graduation recital at Curtis), Piano Concerto and Cello Concerto (to be premiered by the NAC Orchestra’s principal cellist, Rachel Mercer, on February 14, 2020).

Goodyear’s discography includes his Nutcracker arrangement as well as his Piano Sonata and Callaloo, Beethoven’s Diabelli Variations, a Ravel program, American works (including both of Gershwin’s Rhapsodies), concertos by Grieg, Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff, and, most recently, For Glenn Gould, which recreates Gould’s 1955 U.S. debut program.

Goodyear wrote his Piano Quartet for the Kingston Chamber Music Festival in Rhode Island, where it was premiered by the Clarosa Piano Quartet on July 27, 2016. The composer writes: “The compact, one-movement work is divided into four sections without breaks. The first section is relentless in its drive, the strings at first accompanying the piano’s dissonant, syncopated theme before exploding in its own energy. The second is calmer, a dance in ternary form and hypnotic in its 5/8 rhythm. The next section is slow, lyrical, and sombre, the tension building with chromatic harmony and finally relaxing in the key of D major. The finale is a toccata consisting of a medley of themes from the preceding sections. The quartet closes with all the instruments quoting the theme of the first section.”

Program note by Robert Markow

Rachmaninoff

Cello Sonata in G minor, Op. 19

Born at Oneg (an estate near Novgorod), April 1, 1873
Died in Beverly Hills, March 28, 1943

Rachmaninoff contributed little to the chamber music repertoire, but his Cello Sonata remains one of most important of its kind, and frequently turns up on cello recitals. Like those of Beethoven, which were the first of their kind by an important composer, Rachmaninoff’s is the first major cello sonata by a Russian composer to remain in the standard repertoire.

This sonata was written in the summer of 1901, immediately after the Second Piano Concerto. The concerto was the work that broke the long spell of artistic paralysis and profound melancholia brought on by the utter failure of the composer’s First Symphony. The optimism, self-assurance and exuberance that mark this concerto are found in the Cello Sonata as well. At 35 minutes, it is one of the most expansive and broadly conceived sonatas ever written for the instrument, almost symphonic in its scope and richly textured writing. It was dedicated to the composer’s friend, the cellist Anatoly Brandukov, who gave the premiere in Moscow on December 2, 1901 with Rachmaninoff at the piano.

Rachmaninoff claimed that the work was “not for cello with piano accompaniment, but for two instruments in equal balance.” Nevertheless, the dense piano writing at times threatens to overwhelm the cello. As a single indication of the measure of importance the piano assumes in this work, it is only necessary to point out that the first movement’s development section focuses entirely on the piano, with the cello clearly in a subordinate role, and the cadenza leading into the recapitulation is for piano.

The sonata opens with a dark-hued slow introduction built mainly from a two-note melodic cell. The allegro section is ushered in with a long-breathed, yearning theme for the cello. The piano introduces the second theme, in D major, this one more relaxed and songful than the first. The importance of the slow introduction’s two-note cell is heard throughout the development section, where it is played almost constantly by one or both of the instruments.

The second movement is laid out in the standard Scherzo and Trio format (ABA-C-ABA). The two instruments share the Scherzo’s rhythmically urgent and restless opening theme in C minor, but it is the cello that claims the impassioned second theme as well as that of the central Trio section. This is idiomatic cello writing at its best – lyrical, deeply soulful, soaring melodies written in the instrument’s most sonorous range.

The sonata’s finest movement is undoubtedly its Andante, a seamless arc of lyrical outpouring, midnight poetry and glowing rapture. The quintessential Rachmaninoff is heard in this musical dialogue, which rises twice to an intense climax and then subsides to close in quiet repose.

The high-spirited Finale features one of Rachmaninoff’s most inspired melodies. Its second theme, announced by the cello, fairly exudes lyric warmth, sensuous beauty and nobility of purpose.

Program note by Robert Markow

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Musique pour un dimanche après-midi

Musique de chambre avec l'Orchestre du CNA
rossini

Duetto en ré majeur pour violoncelle et contrebasse

Pesaro, 29 février 1792
Paris, 13 novembre 1868

Le répertoire pour contrebasse seule ou en formation de chambre est assez limité, et davantage celui des duos de contrebasse et violoncelle. La liste des œuvres de ce type nées d’un compositeur célèbre se résume à un seul titre : le Duetto (ou Duo) de Rossini. Les Deux mouvements pour violoncelle et contrebasse d’Edgar Meyer, les Bagatelles d’Harald Genzmer, les Deep Dances de John Harbison et le Duo concertante sur des thèmes d’I Puritani de Bellini (avec orchestre) de Bottesini constituent d’autres apports à ce maigre répertoire.

Synonyme d’opéra dans l’ensemble du monde civilisé, Rossini a pourtant composé de nombreuses œuvres de musique de chambre, dont certaines pour des combinaisons d’instruments fort inusitées. Il avait tout juste 12 ans quand il a écrit, en l’espace de trois jours, ses premières œuvres du genre, les six Sonate a quattro. Rossini se refusait à parler de « quatuors à cordes », bien que ce soit techniquement le terme qui convient, puisque la contrebasse remplace ici l’alto dans la combinaison classique d’instruments (deux violons, un alto et un violoncelle). Parmi ses compositions singulières, on trouve aussi un Andante con variazioni pour harpe et alto ainsi qu’une Serenata pour quatuor à cordes, flûte, hautbois et cor anglais.

Le Duetto a été composé en 1824 pour sir David Salomons, riche violoncelliste amateur qui cherchait alors une pièce à jouer en duo avec le célèbre contrebassiste et compositeur Domenico Dragonetti (1763–1846). La seule exécution connue de l’œuvre avant le XXe siècle a eu lieu lors d’un concert privé à la résidence londonienne de Salomons, le 21 juillet 1824.

Le Duetto est demeuré presque inconnu jusqu’à ce que la famille Salomons en mette aux enchères le manuscrit chez Sotheby’s, en 1968. Depuis, elle a vivement impressionné les auditeurs qui ont eu la chance d’assister à l’une de ses rares interprétations; son invention mélodique (le mouvement final à la polonaise est tout à fait délicieux), ses sonorités richement étoffées, l’égalité absolue des partenaires ainsi que la souplesse et les qualités mélodiques étonnantes de la contrebasse en font une œuvre remarquable.

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Stewart Goodyear

Quatuor de piano

Toronto, 25 février 1978
Vit actuellement à Toronto

Stewart Goodyear se produit régulièrement au Centre national des Arts depuis l’âge de 12 ans. Il comptait alors déjà près de dix ans de piano à son actif, ayant découvert l’instrument à 3 ans et jouant d’oreille, à 4 ans, sur un piano jouet. La discothèque de son père, riche en enregistrements d’œuvres de Beethoven, a éveillé sa fibre musicale et orienté sa carrière. Après avoir remporté le Concours de musique du Canada à 11 ans et interprété son premier concerto en public (le Concerto no 1 de Chostakovitch) avec l’Orchestre de chambre du Manitoba deux ans plus tard, il a obtenu à 15 ans son diplôme du Conservatoire royal de musique de Toronto (École Glenn-Gould), où il a été l’élève de James Anagnoson. Il a poursuivi ses études à l’Institut de musique Curtis de Philadelphie, où il a eu pour maîtres Leon Fleisher, Gary Graffman et Claude Frank, puis à l’École Juilliard de New York, où il a étudié auprès d’Oxana Yablonskaya et obtenu une maîtrise en interprétation au piano.

Son marathon emblématique, l’intégrale des 32 sonates pour piano de Beethoven interprétée en une seule journée, a fait sa renommée; il a notamment accompli cet exploit au Koerner Hall de Toronto. Son coffret de ces œuvres a été cité pour le prix Juno du meilleur enregistrement solo de musique classique (2014). Goodyear est aussi reconnu comme improvisateur, arrangeur et compositeur. Quand il interprète les concertos de la période classique, il invente ses propres cadences sur le vif, différentes chaque fois, à l’exemple des pianistes de l’époque. Comme arrangeur, il a transcrit l’intégrale du ballet Casse-Noisette de Tchaïkovsky pour piano seul. Composant depuis l’âge de 8 ans, il est l’auteur d’une douzaine d’œuvres; certaines portent des titres aussi énigmatiques que Baby Shark Fugue (« Fugue du bébé requin »), Count Up (« Dénombrement »), Dogged by Hell Hounds (« Poursuivi par les chiens de l’Enfer ») ou Callaloo (nom d’un plat antillais typique; la pièce est un hommage symphonique à Trinidad, d’où une partie de sa famille est originaire), tandis que d’autres ont des titres plus conventionnels, telles la Sonate pour piano (créée lors de son récital de fin d’études à l’Institut Curtis), le Concerto pour piano et le Concerto pour violoncelle (qui sera créé par Rachel Mercer, violoncelle solo de l’Orchestre du CNA, le 14 février 2020).

La discographie de Stewart Goodyear comporte en particulier sa transcription pour piano de Casse-Noisette, sa Sonate pour piano et Callaloo; les Variations Diabelli de Beethoven; un programme consacré à Ravel; des œuvres américaines (dont les deux rhapsodies de Gershwin); des concertos de Grieg, Tchaïkovsky et Rachmaninov; et, plus récemment, For Glenn Gould, un album réinventant le premier récital de Gould donné aux États-Unis, en 1955.

Le Quatuor pour piano a été écrit pour le festival de musique de chambre de Kingston (Rhode Island), où il a été créé par le quatuor Clarosa le 27 juillet 2016. Le compositeur le décrit ainsi :

« Cette œuvre condensée en un seul mouvement s’articule en quatre sections enchaînées sans pauses. La première est fort dynamique, les cordes accompagnant d’abord un sujet dissonant énoncé par le piano sur un rythme syncopé, avant de donner libre cours à leur propre énergie explosive. Plus calme, la deuxième section forme une danse ternaire sur une mesure hypnotique 5/8. La section suivante est lente, lyrique et sombre, l’harmonie chromatique faisant monter la tension jusqu’à sa résolution finale dans la tonalité de  majeur. Le finale est une toccata qui consiste en un pot-pourri des sujets précédents. Le quatuor se conclut sur la reprise, par tous les instruments, du sujet de la première section. »

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Rachmaninov

Sonate pour violoncelle en sol mineur, op. 19

Onega, district de Novgorod, 1er avril 1873
Beverly Hills, 28 mars 1943

L’apport de Rachmaninov au répertoire de la musique de chambre est assez limité, mais sa Sonate pour violoncelle reste l’un des sommets du genre, et figure régulièrement au programme des récitals de violoncelle. Faisant suite aux sonates de Beethoven (les premières écrites par un compositeur de premier plan), elle est la plus ancienne sonate pour violoncelle d’un compositeur russe toujours inscrite au répertoire courant de l’instrument.

Cette sonate a vu le jour à l’été 1901, tout de suite après le Concerto pour piano no 2, lequel signalait la fin d’une longue panne d’inspiration et d’une profonde dépression suivant l’échec cuisant de la première symphonie du compositeur. L’optimisme, la confiance en soi et l’exubérance qui marquent ce concerto teintent également la Sonate pour violoncelle. D’une envergure quasi symphonique et remarquable par son écriture richement étoffée, c’est l’une des sonates les plus amples et monumentales jamais écrites pour l’instrument (son exécution dure 35 minutes). Elle est dédiée au violoncelliste Anatoly Brandukov, ami du compositeur, qui l’a créée à Moscou le 2 décembre 1901 avec Rachmaninov lui-même au piano.

Rachmaninov affirmait que cette œuvre avait été écrite « non pour le violoncelle avec un accompagnement de piano, mais pour les deux instruments à égalité ». Néanmoins, la partie de piano est si dense qu’elle menace par moments d’enterrer le violoncelle. Si l’on veut une idée du rôle du piano dans cette œuvre, il suffit de mettre en relief la section de développement du premier mouvement, entièrement centrée sur cet instrument, dans laquelle le violoncelle joue incontestablement un rôle secondaire, tandis que la cadence menant à la reprise est confiée au piano.

La sonate s’amorce sur une ténébreuse introduction lente, essentiellement construite à partir d’un motif formé de deux notes. La section allegro s’ouvre sur un long sujet plaintif du violoncelle. Le piano expose le deuxième sujet, en  majeur, plus détendu et mélodieux que le premier. L’importance du motif de deux notes de l’introduction lente est manifeste dans toute la section de développement, où il est joué presque continuellement par l’un ou l’autre instrument, ou les deux à la fois.

Le deuxième mouvement est construit sur le modèle courant de la formule scherzo-trio (ABA-C-ABA). Les deux instruments se partagent le sujet initial en do mineur du scherzo, sur un rythme impérieux et haletant, mais c’est le violoncelle qui expose le deuxième sujet passionné, de même que celui du trio central. L’écriture est ici en parfaite adéquation avec l’instrument – lyrique, profondément expressive, avec d’irrésistibles mélodies écrites dans le registre le plus sonore du violoncelle.

Le mouvement le plus remarquable de la sonate est incontestablement son andante, une progression harmonieuse empreinte d’épanchement lyrique, de poésie nocturne et de béatitude. On trouve la quintessence de l’art de Rachmaninov dans ce dialogue musical, qui atteint un intense point culminant à deux occasions, avant de se résoudre dans une conclusion apaisée.

L’exubérant finale comporte l’une des mélodies les plus inspirées de Rachmaninov. Son second sujet, annoncé par le violoncelle, exhale une bonne dose de chaleur lyrique, de beauté sensuelle et de noblesse véritable.

Traduit d’après Robert Markow

Menu