Concertmaster, NAC Orchestra

Yosuke Kawasaki

Last updated: January 2, 2024

Yosuke Kawasaki currently serves as Concertmaster of the NAC Orchestra. His versatile musicianship allows him to pursue a career in orchestra, solo, and chamber music. His orchestral career began with the Montgomery Symphony Orchestra and soon led to the Mito Chamber Orchestra, Saito Kinen Orchestra, and Japan Century Orchestra, all of which he led as concertmaster. His solo and chamber music career spans five continents, collaborating with artists such as Seiji Ozawa, Pinchas Zukerman, and Yo-Yo Ma, and appearing in the world’s most prestigious halls such as Carnegie Hall, Suntory Hall, and the Royal Concertgebouw.

Kawasaki’s current regular ensembles are Trio Ink and the Mito String Quartet. His passion for chamber music led to his appointment as Music Director to the Affinis Music Festival in Japan. He is also an artistic advisor to a new chamber music festival, Off the Beaten Path, in Bulgaria.

As an educator Kawasaki has given masterclasses and performed side by side with students in schools across Canada. Well-versed in the string quartet literature he was entrusted by Seiji Ozawa as the youngest faculty member of the Ozawa International Chamber Music Academy at the age of 26. He was also an adjunct professor of violin at the University of Ottawa School of Music from 2013 to 2022 alongside the beloved pedagogue Yehonatan Berick.

Kawasaki began his violin studies at the age of six with his father Masao Kawasaki and Setsu Goto. He was subsequently accepted into The Juilliard School Pre-College Division and further continued his education and graduated from The Juilliard School in 1998 under the tutorship of Dorothy DeLay, Hyo Kang, Felix Galimir, and Joel Smirnoff.

Upcoming events

Projects & initiatives

  • Illustration of 3 composers, Clara and Robert Schumann, and Johannes Brahms. New album

    Romance and Counterpoint

    The NAC Orchestra’s final album in a four-part recording cycle that explores the closely intertwined personal and artistic connections between three musical giants: Clara Schumann, Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms.

  • Clara - Robert - Johannes, Atmosphere and Mastery © NAC Orchestra New album

    Atmosphere and Mastery

    The NAC Orchestra’s new album is part three in a recording cycle that explores the closely intertwined personal and artistic connections between three musical giants: Clara Schumann, Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms.

NAC media featuring Yosuke Kawasaki

Violon solo, Orchestre du CNA

Yosuke Kawasaki

Dernière mise à jour: 2 janvier 2024

Yosuke Kawasaki est violon solo de l’Orchestre du CNA. Sa polyvalence artistique lui a permis de faire carrière en musique symphonique, en musique de chambre et comme soliste. Comme musicien d’orchestre, il a fait ses débuts à l’Orchestre symphonique de Montgomery. Il a ensuite été violon solo à l’Orchestre de chambre Mito, à l’Orchestre Saito Kinen et au Japan Century Orchestra. Comme artiste solo et chambriste, il a fait carrière sur cinq continents. Il a collaboré avec des musiciens comme Seiji Ozawa, Pinchas Zukerman et Yo-Yo Ma, et s’est produit dans les plus prestigieuses salles du monde, dont le Carnegie Hall, le Suntory Hall et le Royal Concertgebouw.

Kawasaki est actuellement membre de deux ensembles de Kawasaki, Trio Ink et Mito String Quartet. Passionné de musique de chambre, il est directeur musical du Festival de musique Affinis au Japon. Il est aussi conseiller artistique d’un tout nouveau festival de musique de chambre bulgare appelé Off the Beaten Path.

En tant qu’enseignant, Kawasaki a œuvré partout au Canada, offrant des classes de maître et jouant avec des élèves dans leurs écoles. Spécialiste du répertoire pour quatuor à cordes, il est devenu à 26 ans le plus jeune enseignant de l’académie internationale de musique de chambre Ozawa, un poste qu’il s’est vu confier par Seiji Ozawa. Il a aussi été professeur adjoint de violon à l’Université d’Ottawa de 2013 à 2022, aux côtés du très aimé pédagogue Yehonatan Berick.

Kawasaki a commencé le violon à l’âge de six ans, d’abord sous la tutelle de son père Masao Kawasaki, puis sous celle de Setsu Goto. Il a par la suite été accepté dans la section précollégiale de l’école Juilliard, et a été diplômé de cette institution en 1998. Il y a étudié auprès de Dorothy DeLay, Hyo Kang, Felix Galimir et Joel Smirnoff.

Événements

Projets et initiatives

  • Illustration des 3 compositeurs, Clara et Robert Schumann et Johannes Brahms. Nouvel album

    Romance et contrepoint

    Cet nouvel album de l’Orchestre du CNA, le quatrième de quatre, fait partie d’un qui cycle explore les étroits liens personnels et artistiques qui unissaient ces trois géants de la musique : Clara Schumann, Robert Schumann et Johannes Brahms.

  • Clara - Robert - Johannes, Atmosphère et maestria © Orchestre du CNA Nouvel album

    Atmosphère et maestria

    Cet nouvel album de l’Orchestre du CNA, le troisième de quatre, fait partie d’un qui cycle explore les étroits liens personnels et artistiques qui unissaient ces trois géants de la musique : Clara Schumann, Robert Schumann et Johannes Brahms.

Médias du CNA avec Yosuke Kawasaki