Special Events Music Classical music Masterworks Vocal Holidays
  • Handel Messiah, HWV 56

Among the great choral works in Western music, George Frideric Handel’s Messiah is arguably the best and most cherished, exuding humanity and joy from start to finish and celebrating our relationship to the divine.

Handel composed Messiah in just 24 days to safeguard his livelihood at a time when expensive operas were becoming less popular and more difficult to produce. Without a dramatic narrative to guide him, Handel instead relied on scripture to create his musical masterpiece. Handel was a great philanthropist who chose to support charitable causes for Messiah’s first three performances in Dublin, and each was a runaway success.

Under the baton of distinguished Québec conductor Bernard Labadie, one of the world’s leading experts in Baroque and classical repertoire, the NAC Orchestra is thrilled to perform this holiday masterpiece. La Chapelle de Québec, founded by Labadie in 1985, has taken its place among North America’s premiere voice ensembles. Comprising professional singers recruited from all over Canada, La Chapelle de Québec is second to none in its transcendental balance and purity of sound.

This holiday season, experience the irresistible joy and mystery of Messiah and feel the wonder and hope few other sacred works can express.

Performance is approximately 2 hours and 20 minutes including intermission

Bernard Labadie © Dario Acosta
Marie-Sophie Pollak © Shirley Suarez
Matthew Brook © Richard Shymansky
Menu

La Chapelle chante Le Messie

19 h 00

décembre 2019

  1. déc. 18 2019
    mercredi

    19 h 00

  2. déc. 19 2019
    jeudi

    19 h 00

Fermer
Bernard Labadie © Dario Acosta
Musique Musique classique Voix Fêtes
  • Haendel Le Messie, HWV 56
  • chef d’orchestre Bernard Labadie
  • Soprano Marie-Sophie Pollak
  • Alto Avery Amereau
  • Ténor Aaron Sheehan
  • Basse Matthew Brook
  • Chœur La Chapelle de Québec

Parmi les grandes œuvres chorales de la musique occidentale, Le Messie de Georg Friedrich Haendel est certainement la plus aimée et acclamée de toutes. Profondément humaine et respirant la joie du début à la fin, elle célèbre notre lien avec le divin.

Haendel a composé son Messie en 24 jours à peine, pour assurer sa survie à une époque où les opéras, très coûteux, perdaient de leur popularité et devenaient plus difficiles à produire. Sans trame dramatique pour le guider, le compositeur s’est plutôt fié aux Écritures pour créer son chef-d’œuvre. Grand philanthrope, Haendel choisit de mettre les trois premières représentations du Messie, à Dublin, au service de causes caritatives, et chacun des concerts fut un vif succès.

L’Orchestre du CNA est fier de présenter ce classique du temps des Fêtes avec, au podium, Bernard Labadie, distingué chef d'orchestre de Québec comptant parmi les plus grands experts du répertoire baroque et classique au monde. Fondée par M. Labadie en 1985, La Chapelle de Québec s’est taillé une place parmi les meilleurs chœurs en Amérique du Nord. Cet ensemble, formé de chanteurs professionnels venant des quatre coins du pays, se distingue par sa pureté sonore inégalée et l’extraordinaire harmonie de ses voix.

Cette année pendant les Fêtes, laissez-vous envoûter par la joie et le mystère irrésistibles du Messie, une œuvre qui inspire l’espoir et l’émerveillement comme la musique sacrée sait rarement le faire.

Durée approximative de 2 heures sans entracte.

Lun Mar Mer Jeu Ven Sam Dim
déc. 16
déc. 17
déc. 18
  • 19 h 00
déc. 19
  • 19 h 00
déc. 20
déc. 21
déc. 22
video: Bernard Labadie conducts Haydn and Handel – Lydia Teuscher, Allyson McHardy
Bernard Labadie conducts Haydn and Handel – Lydia Teuscher, Allyson McHardy
Bernard Labadie © Dario Acosta
Marie-Sophie Pollak © Shirley Suarez
Matthew Brook © Richard Shymansky

Artistes

  • chef d’orchestre Bernard Labadie
  • Soprano Marie-Sophie Pollak
  • Alto Avery Amereau
  • Ténor Aaron Sheehan
  • Basse Matthew Brook
  • Chœur La Chapelle de Québec
Menu