50 Years of Music with the NAC Orchestra

Conducted by Alexander Shelley

This event has passed
Music Classical music Masterworks
  • Kevin Lau Dark Angels Suite
  • SALIERI Concerto for Flute and Oboe in C major
  • Bartók Concerto for Orchestra

The NAC Orchestra is celebrating 50 years with free activities all week long. See the full list here.

View the Monday, September 30 concert details here

This spectacular evening of music celebrates the prowess of the NAC Orchestra after 50 remarkable years by shining a light on the singular virtuosity of its members. With a program chosen specifically to showcase the phenomenal agility of the National Arts Centre Orchestra at 50 years young, we honour the organization and the individuals who have championed creativity and excellence in music at all levels – from the classroom to the concert hall.

As one of Canada’s busiest young composers, Kevin Lau has had works commissioned and performed by orchestras and ensembles around the world. The NAC commissioned his Dark Angels, a taut and lyrical work that celebrates the orchestra’s extraordinary musicality and skill, for its 2017 Encount3rs dance project to wide critical acclaim.

Rightly or wrongly, Antonio Salieri’s musical reputation has often been impugned, especially vis-à-vis his relationship with Mozart, but he dominated the Italian-language opera scene for decades. His purely instrumental works are less well known, and his Concerto for Flute and Oboe remained unpublished for 188 years after it was written. Tonight this lovely work comes to life in the hands of the NAC Orchestra’s principal flutist Joanna G’froerer and principal oboist Charles “Chip” Hamann. Friends since the days of summer music camp, G’froerer and Hamann joined the NAC Orchestra at nearly the same time and have cemented their musical camaraderie in the years since.

Béla Bartók began work on his curiously named Concerto for Orchestra from his sickbed in hospital where he suffered from undiagnosed leukemia. The request for a commission from the Boston Symphony Orchestra re-energized Bartók, though, and the result is this delightfully contradictory concerto that treats entire sections of instruments as soloists, to brilliant effect.

Concert made possible in part through the Friends of the NAC Orchestra Kilpatrick Fund.

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

video: Shelley Notes: 50 Years of Music
Shelley Notes: 50 Years of Music
video: Oboe Concerto (Arr. for Oboe & Piano) : II. Calla Lilies
Oboe Concerto (Arr. for Oboe & Piano) : II. Calla Lilies
NAC Orchestra on tour © NAC Archives
Joanna G’froerer © Rémi Thériault
NAC Orchestra © Dwayne Brown Studio
Menu

50 ans de musique avec l’Orchestre du CNA

Chef d’orchestre : Alexander Shelley

Musique Musique classique Chefs-d’œuvre
  • Kevin Lau Dark Angels, suite pour orchestre
  • SALIERI Concerto pour flûte et hautbois
  • Bartók Concerto pour orchestre

L’Orchestre du CNA vous invite à célébrer leurs 50 ans en prenant part des évènements gratuits offerts toute la semaine. Visionnez la liste complète.

Cette spectaculaire soirée musicale célèbre 50 ans de remarquable savoir-faire de l’Orchestre du CNA en mettant en lumière l’exceptionnelle virtuosité de ses musiciens. Avec un programme spécialement conçu pour faire briller le talent phénoménal de l’Orchestre, nous rendons hommage à cette organisation jeune de cœur ainsi qu’aux personnes qui ont fait – et qui continuent de faire – la promotion de la créativité et de l’excellence en musique, de la salle de classe à la salle de concert.

Les œuvres de Kevin Lau, l’un des jeunes compositeurs les plus en demande au Canada, sont commandées et jouées par des orchestres et des ensembles du monde entier. La Suite pour orchestre de Dark Angels, une œuvre lyrique intense qui met en valeur la musicalité et le talent extraordinaires de l’Orchestre, a été commandée par le CNA en 2017 pour son projet de danse RENCONTR3S et a été vivement saluée par la critique.

La réputation musicale d’Antonio Salieri a souvent été mise à mal – à tort ou à raison –, surtout en ce qui a trait à sa relation avec Mozart; le fait demeure toutefois qu’il fut le maître des opéras en italien pendant plusieurs décennies. Ses œuvres instrumentales sont moins connues, et son Concerto pour flûte et hautbois n’a été publié que 188 ans après avoir été écrit. Ce soir, cette charmante pièce prend vie sous les doigts de Joanna G’froerer et Charles « Chip » Hamann, respectivement flûte solo et hautbois solo de l’Orchestre du CNA. Amis depuis leurs étés au camp musical, les deux solistes se sont joints à l’Orchestre à la même époque et ont su développer une belle camaraderie artistique.

Béla Bartók a commencé à écrire son Concerto pour orchestre, œuvre dont le titre étonne certes, alors qu’il était hospitalisé en raison d’une leucémie non diagnostiquée. Cette commande de l’Orchestre symphonique de Boston lui redonna toutefois des forces, et c’est ainsi que Bartók écrivit ce concerto aux exquises contradictions, où des sections entières d’instruments sont traitées comme des solistes pour un résultat des plus brillants.

Concert rendu possible en partie grâce au Fonds Kilpatrick des Amis du l’Orchestre du CNA.

Durée approximative de 2 heures avec entracte

video: Oboe Concerto (Arr. for Oboe & Piano) : II. Calla Lilies
Oboe Concerto (Arr. for Oboe & Piano) : II. Calla Lilies
L'orchestre du CNA en tournée © Archives du CNA
Joanna G’froerer © Rémi Thériault
Orchestre du CNA © Dwayne Brown Studio
Menu